We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!”
Review of Hotel Malligi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Malligi
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hospet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After reading all positive reviews, we reserved 2 rooms, 1 night for our New Year eve in Mallligi, Unfortunately, it was the worst experience of our 15 days' trip in India.

The hotel was clean, the restaurant looked very modern, food was good, however the bathroom were very basic with poor lighting, some rooms were very smelly.

It was very noisy! We could hear traffic in most rooms due to the poor quality of non-sound-prof windows made of thin PVC.

Staff was nice, trying to accommodate our needs of a quiet room, however they failed to tell us that the room facing parking and restaurant would be very noisy during the night of the New Year Party which lasted until 2:00am. After the party, some drunken people were still shouting, taking pictures and laughing until almost 3:00am. Then at 6:00am the parking area became alive again.
We spent a white and tormented New Year eve night!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Life-traval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.

Regret that your stay with us was not to your entire satisfaction. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns with regards to the same.

31st December is the day where people party all over the world. People shouting in the streets is out of our control nevertheless we usually request the local police in this regards to avoid such nuisance. But since there are many such cases across the city on that day it becomes difficult for them to restore peace and calm.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were in Hospet primarily to do some sight seeing in Hampi and knowing that it is a small town we were prepared for some hardship. I am glad to say that in this respect the hotel rose well above our expectations. As we were walking for miles in the dust and heat (of January!) we could only think of the welcoming room that we had back in Hospet! We had a problem with the hot water that night but the staff response was immediate. We had to check out of the room before noon owing to the 24 hour check in system, but the hotel accomodated us by giving us a small room to freshen up in for an hour. It is the small things that make the difference!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmchairTraveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Greetings from Hotel Malligi!!!


We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.


We are very glad to note that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodation and services were up to your expectations. And We really appreciate you taking the time to let people know we're doing something right.


Thank you again for your compliment.


With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Hotel Maligi is the nicest accommodation I have stayed in during my three years of travelling in Asia. It’s very reasonably priced and the rooms are really lovely. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the executive suite which was amazing! It was like a mini apartment with a dining table and chairs, a sofa, armchairs and lots of space. The room service is okay, but you should go to the hotel’s restaurant, Temptations for meals (I highly recommend the sizzling brownie for desert!). The breakfast buffet included in the cost is plentiful and very nice. The swimming pool is really nice also and has sun chairs so you can relax if you have been visiting temples during the day (note that the pool is closed for maintenance on Mondays). The hotel is also situated close to the bus station so you can easily walk there and jump on a bus to Hampi. On the downside, the wifi connection is poor and cuts out frequently, as did the electricity on occasion. Also, the staff at reception and the travel desk were mediocre at best and not overly helpful (though they were polite). I highly recommend this as a very nice, relaxing place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharonwinters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Greetings from Hotel Malligi!!!


We thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.


We always want our customers to leave happy and satisfied, thank you for letting us know how we did.


We look forward to serving you again and delighting you again.


With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel during my school days about 18 years ago, had a great experience then and stayed recently with family and had a great experience now. It was surprizing to see how the hotel has transformed and kept up its pace with changing times and changing customer demands. One cannot expect anything better for the money they charge. Good hotel, good food, good location, nice ambience, hygienic rooms, right tariff and great people. I recommend this hotel for anyone who is travelling to visit hampi and near by places whether it is family, friends, couples, business or a solo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balaji_Huskur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Balaji,


Greetings from Hotel Malligi!!!


We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet.


“Best Hotel in Hospet (Hampi)” is such a wonderful compliment to get and we thank you taking the time to let everyone know we're doing it right.


We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.


With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wonderful stay in Hospet at Malligi. The communication with the hotel was very prompt from the get go. We had booked two adjoining rooms in the last week in Dec. Hotel was reasonably priced, very clean, with good amenities, comfortable beds, hot water, an okay breakfast and good service. We had a good (quiet) restful sleep both nights we stayed. They helped us arrange a guide to do the Hampi ruins. Would recommend a stay here if you are looking for a decent restful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smallwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Guest,


Greetings from Hotel Malligi!!!


We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet.


We are very glad to note that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodation and services were up to your expectations.


We look forward to serving you again and we assure you the best of services as always.


With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent 2 nights (from 6 to 8 January 2014) in room 571. We had no warm water in the room during the stay. After complaining nothing happened. The bed stank of socks that have been worn for 4 days. The personnel, specially in both the restaurants, was very unfriendly. The hotel is quite old and completely run down and our room stank. As soon as we left the room, people from housekeeping entered the room for no apparent reason. I would highly recommend to leave all possible valuables in the safe. Using Wi-Fi from the room was not possible even if the staff assured us that it worked. I have been many times to India and this is by far the worst hotel I have ever been. Unfortunately there is not much choice in the area if you want to visit Hampi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malligi-Hampi, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for spending your holiday here with us at Hotel Malligi.

We regret that your experience with Malligi was not to your satisfaction.

At Malligi every room is serviced every day to make sure every guest has a pleasant stay, and that's the reason House Keeping Staff enter the room. Hot water is always available, it would have been a case where our staff would have not explained how to us the mixers properly thinking that the guest would know of it. Your feedback in this regards is appreciated as we are always looking for ways to better the quality of our services.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

With warm personal regards,
Sundeep

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Pickings are slim in Hospet, and this may be the best the town has to offer. My room was clean but drab. The easy chairs were anything but; I cannot imagine a more uncomfortable design. The AC had two settings: on and off, so you may need to get up in the night to make a manual adjustment (i.e.. on or off). The food in the eerily lit Blue Mist restaurant is average at best but clean enough. I was disappointed that after a long, hot day exploring Hampi, I was unable to swim because the pool is closed on Monday. And the internet did not work, which was the capper for me.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank muggletx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pmsundeep, Owner at Hotel Malligi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Sir,

We thank you for choosing Malligi during your recent visit to Hospet. Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns.

We regret that your experience with Malligi was not to your satisfaction. Your feedback is appreciated as we are always looking for ways to better the quality of our service.

We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future to allow you to experience our commitment to quality and service.

Sincerely,

Sundeep (Director)
Hotel Malligi - Best of everything
stay@malligihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hospet
0.8 mi away
Royal Orchid Central Kireeti
6.1 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
753 reviews
6.1 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
18.6 mi away
Hotel Rock Regency
Hotel Rock Regency
#2 of 9 in Bellary
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malligi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malligi

Address: 10/90 J.N. Road | Hampi, Hospet 583201, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hospet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hospet
Price Range: £17 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malligi 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Malligi" is the first & the finest star hotel set amid 5 acres in the heart of Hospet town. Hotel Malligi is a perfect gateway to Hampi, the world's largest living heritage site and to explore Badami, Aihole, Pattadakal the splendors of North Karnataka. With more than 40 years in the trade of hospitality, Malligi offers the best of everything and Guests are pampered with exemplary personal services. Malligi has been awarded "The Certificate of Excellence " for the years 2012, 2013 and 2014 by Trip Advisor for providing great customer experiences and we have been Ranked No.1 on Tripadvisor & Holiday IQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Malligi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malligi Hotel Hospet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing