We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge in the Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge in the Vale
Ranked #1 of 2 Thirlmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back from a last min booking for New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. Myself and my two children really enjoyed our stay. I was lucky to get booked in at such short notice so didn't expect anything as nice as the lodge in the vale !! Staff very helpful and happy to assist in anyway( especially the lady with blond hair) so sorry I didn't catch your name. Any thing I asked was promptly seen to. The room was good size and my daughter loved the shower. Great design and although not a large selection of food, what we did have was nice. I don't understand some previous negative comments. My room was next to the road and noise wasn't an issue. Temperature of rooms was fine also. The lodge is situated in a great location very handy for the pub or keswick. I can't complain and will definitely be back. My children say thanks for having us !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scriblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's lovely to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    97
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
49
158
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the lodge and I can safely say we all had a lovely stay. It was a very last minute booking and our options were limited, but we are very pleased where we ended up.
We had a family room for us and our 2 year old - the room was spacious, very clean, well maintained and perfect for our needs. The shower was fabulous!
The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite.
The only thing we weren't sure of was the continental breakfast - as we usually go for the full English when away - but I have to say we were really pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts. We had so much choice and it was all fresh and delicious.
We visited the café yesterday afternoon for scones and coffee - gorgeous!
I will mention that we had intermittent wifi connection in the room - but if we just went out on to the landing, or to the cafe them our phones worked fine. Not a problem at all for us as we generally like to be out of touch when we're away anyway, but might be worth requesting a room nearer the reception if you must have wifi.

Overall a lovely couple of days here. Would definitely recommend the lodge, and would definitely stay again.


Thank you and happy new year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Lodge. Please visit again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived late afternoon to be checked in very quickly - the receptionist was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean, a decent size and well equipped (ours being on the ground floor) - king size bed, tea and coffee making, large TV, hairdryer, safe, and the usual complimentary toiletries. There was a booklet in the room that gave you info about the Lodge as well as a magazine for the local area. The beds were comfortable (although it did get a bit warm at times - room temp seemed to be centrally controlled) and the shower in the bathroom was amazing (so powerful).
There is no restaurant on site, but a coffee shop that is open until 9.30pm (which serves drinks and snacks). Breakfast was served in the coffee shop and included a great selection of food (yoghurt, fruit, ham, eggs, cheese, cereals, pastries, breads etc...) as well as an endless supply of tea and coffee.
All in all, I really enjoyed my stay - would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review,
It makes us very happy to hear that you thought the Lodge was comfortable and that you liked the breakfast, the staff and your room.
We hope that you will visit again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel with very friendly staff. A good base to visit many of the local attractions and walks. The rooms have ample space with all the necessities to hand including tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer, wall mounted television and a guide to the local area.

The coffee shop on site provides a great continental breakfast and a full cooked breakfast can be obtained at the pub that is less than a two minute drive away; however we really didn't see the need to get a cooked breakfast when there was so much variety at the coffee shop.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Greg
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and the continental breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location. Views magnificent! We stayed for 2 Nights in family room we our pet dog. Room was very clean. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice for continental breakfast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge, especially the views and location.
Make sure you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottertail, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were just glad to find a place in the lake district and also very lucky that we came in on A591, or we may have had a difficult time finding it. Having made a guick stop at a service location on M6 and making a hurried online reservation, I hadn't taken time to check for "directions" but had gotten a very good rate. Our std double seemed small but doable. After dinner we found our TV didn't work; to our surprise we were given a family size room with a working TV at no extra cost. We were pleased with the substantial continental breakfast. All staff were very helpful. If you don't mind being out of town a few miles the Lodge is a good option.

Room Tip: A standard double is a bit tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottergirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments,
We are really pleased that you enjoyed everything about the Lodge in the Vale and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recommend you look at a few pictures of the place and note its location. If you are still wanting to stay here after that then do. Staff were extremely accomodating and polite during our stay. Continental breakfast was impressive. Walls are a tad thin but on a whole the standards are high.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy-actor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Andy
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be helpful and the standards high. We hope to welcome you back in the future. You are welcome to book with us directly at the same rate as you see online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
1.1 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge in the Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Property: The Lodge in the Vale
Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thirlmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing