We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge in the Vale
Ranked #1 of 2 Thirlmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Before I start, there is the odd negative review on here, that needs to be entirely ignored. I've never read such rubbish. The Lodge In The Vale, really is a lovely place to stay. A hidden gem, we've driven passed on many occasions, and been non of the wiser! It's very clean, warm, in a great central location, with wonderful friendly staff. You will do very well to beat this for the price. Breakfast was superb, fresh, and at a sensible time. 08:15 - 09:30, which to me, is pretty much the norm, at most places we've stayed. Turn left or right, and you are within a realistic driving distance, from both sides of the lake district. This in itself, makes life easier, to plan your days ahead. The staff also recommend, the The Kings Head, literally 60 seconds drive towards Grasmere. And the meals were A1! So on this note, perfect, and no reason why staff, or management, should ever be in a situation to justify theirselves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. It means a great deal to us knowing that we're doing a good job! We hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge in the Vale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice hotel.clean and tidy.maybe a bit to hot but just ha to open the windows. Service was ok but seemed a bit put out sometimes by reception having to come through to bar area which put us off using it

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaequi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We're pleased you found The Lodge to be clean and tidy with a good location. During the winter season we don't have as much trade as in the summer, therefore there might be less staff on duty at certain times. I can assure you we are always happy to help and not put out when it comes to serving our customers. We hope to see you on a future visit to the Lake District...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed at the Lodge in the Vale last weekend and we were very impressed. The lodge is located out in the sticks but only 5 miles drive the Keswick. It looks fantastic and the standard of the rooms and lodge throughout were excellent. The people on reception are very nice and the continental breakfast included in the price was amazing! If you are looking for a quiet getaway in the Lake District but want a modern place to stay....this place is fantastic! The only slight downfall was the size of the room...it was on the slightly small side but everything fit it the room well, including the HUGE wall mounted TV and You can't seem to set the room temperature, it may be centrally controlled. Other than those two minor points, we were very impressed and will definitely be back on our next trip to the lakes!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay. Great to hear that you enjoyed your Lake District getaway at The Lodge in the Vale. Our rooms do vary in size, on your next visit please request a large double and we will be happy to upgrade you. The temperature is set to 21C in all the rooms, if more heat is needed you can turn it on via a "boost" button in your room. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for one night, the location is fantastic and the breakfast was continental but was nice. The room was awfully small, it felt extremely claustrophobic. The bathroom was tiny with a very noisy extractor fan.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. Our rooms vary in size. We have two doubles which are slightly smaller than the other rooms, which are sold last minute most of the time. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, in particular the location and continental breakfast. Please contact us regarding any future stays and we can allocate a larger room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just got back from a last min booking for New Year's Eve and New Year's Day. Myself and my two children really enjoyed our stay. I was lucky to get booked in at such short notice so didn't expect anything as nice as the lodge in the vale !! Staff very helpful and happy to assist in anyway( especially the lady with blond hair) so sorry I didn't catch your name. Any thing I asked was promptly seen to. The room was good size and my daughter loved the shower. Great design and although not a large selection of food, what we did have was nice. I don't understand some previous negative comments. My room was next to the road and noise wasn't an issue. Temperature of rooms was fine also. The lodge is situated in a great location very handy for the pub or keswick. I can't complain and will definitely be back. My children say thanks for having us !!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scriblins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's lovely to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the lodge and I can safely say we all had a lovely stay. It was a very last minute booking and our options were limited, but we are very pleased where we ended up.
We had a family room for us and our 2 year old - the room was spacious, very clean, well maintained and perfect for our needs. The shower was fabulous!
The staff were very helpful, friendly and polite.
The only thing we weren't sure of was the continental breakfast - as we usually go for the full English when away - but I have to say we were really pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts. We had so much choice and it was all fresh and delicious.
We visited the café yesterday afternoon for scones and coffee - gorgeous!
I will mention that we had intermittent wifi connection in the room - but if we just went out on to the landing, or to the cafe them our phones worked fine. Not a problem at all for us as we generally like to be out of touch when we're away anyway, but might be worth requesting a room nearer the reception if you must have wifi.

Overall a lovely couple of days here. Would definitely recommend the lodge, and would definitely stay again.


Thank you and happy new year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Lodge. Please visit again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived late afternoon to be checked in very quickly - the receptionist was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean, a decent size and well equipped (ours being on the ground floor) - king size bed, tea and coffee making, large TV, hairdryer, safe, and the usual complimentary toiletries. There was a booklet in the room that gave you info about the Lodge as well as a magazine for the local area. The beds were comfortable (although it did get a bit warm at times - room temp seemed to be centrally controlled) and the shower in the bathroom was amazing (so powerful).
There is no restaurant on site, but a coffee shop that is open until 9.30pm (which serves drinks and snacks). Breakfast was served in the coffee shop and included a great selection of food (yoghurt, fruit, ham, eggs, cheese, cereals, pastries, breads etc...) as well as an endless supply of tea and coffee.
All in all, I really enjoyed my stay - would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review,
It makes us very happy to hear that you thought the Lodge was comfortable and that you liked the breakfast, the staff and your room.
We hope that you will visit again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
5.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#4 of 17 in Keswick
545 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#16 of 17 in Keswick
185 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge in the Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thirlmere
Price Range: £68 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing