We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, clean, stylish, uber cool and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge in the Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge in the Vale
Ranked #1 of 2 Thirlmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, stylish, uber cool and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I like these sort of places. Someone has gone to a great deal of trouble and been extremely painstaking in their research when designing them.

The Lodge in the Vale is an uber cool clean, stylish, modern lodge blended into a valley near the pretty Thirlmere lake. If you are looking for somewhere stylish and some peace and tranquility, then this is your place, and amazing value.

OK, they only do B&continentalB and there is no 'restaurant; as such. There is a licensed coffee shop that is open until about 9 and serves Paninis and cakes and things, I found that to be ideal. If you want something a bit more substantial then they have a sister hotel just a few minutes scenic drive away.

Acid test, would I stay again/ Definitely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the architecture as it did take us a long time to perfect it. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    97
    46
    11
    5
See reviews for
49
158
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for night in March. Beautiful luxury accommodation, room was small but not cramped. Beautiful views from front and back and walking from the doorstep.

We ate at the sister pub down the road & got a 10% discount on food as we were staying here.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again, my only tiny bug bear was that every staff member we met, in the lodge and on the pub, although lovely, were all foreign, shame for the locals who might want jobs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lodge in the Vale. I'm pleased you enjoyed walks from the door and the food at our sister property, The King's Head Inn.
We are happy with our current staff and find them friendly as well as hard working as you mentioned. We advertise all job vacancies locally as well as on-line and get a varied response. Local students usually work for us during their summer break.
We hope you visit Lake District Inns again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a Brilliant modern hotel which we just hadn't noticed before. Amazing value with an excellent breakfast (and lunch if you're cheeky). Double room was small but really nicely equipped and perfect for a couple of nights sleep after big walks on the fells and good grub from associate pub, the kings head, up the road. We also love the travellers rest further towards Grasmere. Sweeney's really seem to have a knack at getting hospitality right. Not least by recruiting really excellent staff from overseas. And everywhere they have is dog friendly - very well done!

Room Tip: Go for family room if poss for the extra space even if you don't need the extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillaxWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge and visiting our other properties too. We'll be happy to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Comfortable stay, room was a bit small & would have been nice to have a bath not a very small shower. Breakfast would have been better if they had a cooked one on. Overall a nice stay & would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissE186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We offer B&B accommodation in 14 shower en-suite rooms, with continental breakfast, which we advertise as such. We hope you weren't expecting something different on arrival. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for recommending us. We hope to see you on a future visit to The Lakes....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a weekend at reasonable B&B rates. It's a nicely located, presented and appointed small hotel: modern, clean and friendly. The staff were friendly and helpful, continental breakfast varied and plentiful, and we had no problems. Be aware that the rooms are adequately sized but not spacious. A very minor complaint was that the boiler room, with the outer door left open, was not an adequate drying room - something to think about if you enjoy walks in the mountains surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hall_stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found the Lodge to be good value, friendly and well presented. We offer a drying room which does get used during the day for deliveries etc., however it is closed in the evening and during the night and is very affective for drying walking clothes and boots. We hope you will pop in to see us when next in the area...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our experience was brilliant! The hotel is clean and modern. The rooms are a good size with free view tv and plenty of wardrobe space. The view was brilliant. The staff were polite and didn't bother us with small talk which really puts me off places. The breakfast was great, lots of food. However only one plate of ham, wasn't a problem for me however as I don't eat it.

Clean, simple and modern with no fuss!!!

I would recommend this highly, especially for young couples that don't want to be annoyed by nosey b&b owners.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lsphaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your comments, they made us chuckle! :) We're very pleased that you enjoyed your "no fuss" visit and hope that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Before I start, there is the odd negative review on here, that needs to be entirely ignored. I've never read such rubbish. The Lodge In The Vale, really is a lovely place to stay. A hidden gem, we've driven passed on many occasions, and been non of the wiser! It's very clean, warm, in a great central location, with wonderful friendly staff. You will do very well to beat this for the price. Breakfast was superb, fresh, and at a sensible time. 08:15 - 09:30, which to me, is pretty much the norm, at most places we've stayed. Turn left or right, and you are within a realistic driving distance, from both sides of the lake district. This in itself, makes life easier, to plan your days ahead. The staff also recommend, the The Kings Head, literally 60 seconds drive towards Grasmere. And the meals were A1! So on this note, perfect, and no reason why staff, or management, should ever be in a situation to justify theirselves.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. It means a great deal to us knowing that we're doing a good job! We hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
1.1 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge in the Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Property: The Lodge in the Vale
Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thirlmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing