We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Lodge in the Vale
Ranked #1 of 2 Thirlmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building set in beautiful country. Giving amazing views. Clean and modern design. Good rooms. Refreshing continental breakfast. Only downsides were bed was too firm for my liking and option for a full english breakfast would of been nice. Would defernetly recommend though and would defernetly think about staying again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_Barker_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    109
    49
    11
    6
See reviews for
53
172
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed twice this year (2014) at the Lodge in the vale and have just booked a third stay next month (June) and bringing three friends with me from Iceland. Fantastic staff, sooo helpful and friendly. I wish more hotels had their lovely attitude. Nice modern, clean rooms and all you can eat for breakfast. On top of this great architecture so your senses are glad all round. Terrific location that is close to many parts of the lakes.

Room Tip: All good in every respect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landscapephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Clean and modern hotel located conveniently between Keswick and Grasmere. Room was modern, although a little small, with a clean bathroom. Breakfast was more than adequate with a range of cereals, pastries, bread, fruit and yogurts to choose from - just as good as you would get elsewhere in the Lakes (there was an option to have a cooked breakfast at the Kings Head Arms a short drive away if wanted, although not necessary with what is already offered!)
All in all a really nice, comfortable stay - would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDean592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stopped here for a little break and found the Lodge very comfortable, clean and with some great views. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but that was no problem. We were told we could leave our bags and return later to check in if we preferred. We were made very welcome by excellent staff.

Great base for a stop though there is no onsite restaurant but as mainly walkers stay here there is a pub approx 1 mile that can be reached without too much trouble by foot. The lodge has a cafe where you can have sandwiches, cakes, hot or cold drinks etc which were all of good quality. Cakes might even have been “home made”. In the same cafe you can have a glass of wine or beer of an evening if you prefer. Really felt friendly and comfortable. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon_ArcticFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very Good...Loved it...Rooms are bit tiny but neat and clean...View is Fantastic...Planing to go again with my friends...Breakfast was also very good...Their White Soft Bread is really good..just loved the place...some people may not get a better view from their room but at the end of the day, you can just go out and enjoy the view...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahid079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here cos we got a late deal through Trivago. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was fine, although we would have prefered a cooked one. The room was very small but clean and had everything you would expect. The biggest drawback was the view, we were hoping for a lovely view being in the Lakes, but all we got was a skylight, no proper window, with a lovely view of the sky, made it feel we were in a prison cell.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you weren't entirely happy with your room. You booked last minute and our last double room (with sky light) was allocated. Unfortunately we couldn't upgrade your room as we were fully booked.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff pleasant. I'll be happy to arrange a room without a sky light for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I like these sort of places. Someone has gone to a great deal of trouble and been extremely painstaking in their research when designing them.

The Lodge in the Vale is an uber cool clean, stylish, modern lodge blended into a valley near the pretty Thirlmere lake. If you are looking for somewhere stylish and some peace and tranquility, then this is your place, and amazing value.

OK, they only do B&continentalB and there is no 'restaurant; as such. There is a licensed coffee shop that is open until about 9 and serves Paninis and cakes and things, I found that to be ideal. If you want something a bit more substantial then they have a sister hotel just a few minutes scenic drive away.

Acid test, would I stay again/ Definitely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomtiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, General Manager at The Lodge in the Vale, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the architecture as it did take us a long time to perfect it. We hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thirlmere
5.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
701 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,071 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge in the Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge in the Vale

Property: The Lodge in the Vale
Address: | St John’s in the Vale, Thirlmere, Keswick CA12 4TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Thirlmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thirlmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge in the Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge in the Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge In The Vale Hotel Thirlmere
The Lodge In The Vale Thirlmere, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing