We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aspley Guise
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    206
    105
    63
    43
See reviews for
92
211
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from 2 nights in the Moore Place Hotel. The hotel is an attractive building in the heart of a pretty Bedfordshire village within a short drive of lovely Woburn with its Abbey and animal safari.
Lovely courtyard garden with pond , ducks and water feature.
The room was smaller than other Best Western hotels we have stayed in but nicely decorated good mattress and nice en-suite. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the communal areas were attractive and comfortable - we saw no signs of the reported 'wear and tear' of furnishings etc.
The problem we had with this hotel was that they were hosting 2 weddings, one on the Friday and one on the Saturday. And we very much felt as though we were 'gate crashers' at the wedding. We went for a drink in the hotel bar on the Friday evening but didn't stay long as it was full of the wedding guests. To walk in and out of Reception you had to walk through the courtyard where the wedding guests congregated and were having their photos taken. And as we had a room overlooking the courtyard (which was lovely) both nights the music from the weddings kept us awake until after midnight. I feel that the hotel shouldn't really try to cater for both a wedding and normal guests.
Breakfast was a little bit dis-organised as they ran out of orange juice and eggs and we had to ask for them to be topped up. Otherwise the breakfast was nice.
Having said all this we really enjoyed our weekend. BTW the little tot of whisky in our room was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Room 40 was overlooking the courtyard and had french windows and a small balcony. Not our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Booked this hotel for a romantic night away for myself and partner. A wedding party was taking place at same time and the hotel just couldn't cater for any other paying guests. We weren't able to eat in restaurant, though that was one of the reasons I chose the hotel, we had to eat in an upstairs room normally used for business meetings. The food was nice, but luke warm due to the trek the staff had to make to get it to us. Menus were incorrect and changed at the dessert choosing time. There was absolutely no atmosphere in the room and the staff did try and put a CD on, but stole the bride and grooms wedding CD music. It was a joke to be honest. The wedding party totally took over the whole bar so there was nowhere to go after our meal, so had to retire to our room. I had booked a double room, but the 'double' bed was so small we only just fitted in it. The bathroom door stuck on the tiled floor and only opened/shut with a big shove. At breakfast this morning we were told we could choose were we sat and that was it, no explanation of the facilities. We were not even offered tea or coffee until we asked for it.
On checking out they'd charged me for an evening meal even though Id booked on the dinner bed and breakfast option. It was just like fawlty towers to be honest. Absolute disgrace and not what I expected from Best Western place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed here for work twice - it's just an average hotel. Bedrooms are tiny - and in need of redecoration. Very old tv on both occasions. Bar staff weren't available and it took 15 minutes for someone to be located. Room very hot with no aircon - noisy with windows open though

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieC587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Room away from the hotel in the car park had old CRT tv on a stand, on moving the stand to be able to see the tv discovered the tv was not fixed and it fell off on to the floor, should have seen that the tv was dented so a regular occurrence I suspect. Remote for tv had flat batteries and reception said they didn't have any replacements, my wife suggested they may want to go to tesco express up the road and buy some!
Bedrooms and public rooms all in need of a refurb , tired looking.
Staff generally helpful.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frames329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aspley Guise
1.8 mi away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
573 reviews
1.6 mi away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
225 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Flitwick Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
3.2 mi away
Hilton Milton Keynes
Hilton Milton Keynes
#16 of 34 in Milton Keynes
1,471 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel & Inn
The Bell Hotel & Inn
#3 of 3 in Woburn
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Moore Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Moore Place Hotel

Property: Best Western Moore Place Hotel
Address: The Square | Aspley Guise Village, Aspley Guise MK17 8DW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moore Place Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Aspley Guise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aspley Guise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Moore Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Moore Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aspley Guise
Aspley Guise Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing