We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai food”
Review of Blue Orchid

Blue Orchid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The building is an attractive traditional Grade II listed brick built property built 1837, and lies within a conservation area. The property is divided into areas with distinct characteristics to provide luxurious and intimate areas, as well as more open areas for larger functions. All rooms have been dressed with traditional Thai furnishings, exotic foliage, and have retained some of the properties original period features such as high ceilings and covings. The restaurant also has a large garden which has been enhanced with palms.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a lovely restaurant with delicious food, and you have a choice, either Indian or Thai! A different rooms available for dinner in private or together, a really special find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank R0bbie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    86
    20
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exquisite ”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We spent three weeks in Thailand in 2012 and we adore Thai food. We were not disappointed on our third visit to blue orchid. The service is excellent and the food is exquisite. Can't wait for our next visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The portions were a little the small side but the food and service was excellent, and typically Thai in its quality. I particularly like the smiling and cheerful serv.ice. Great value for money

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Looking out at the garden area with potted palms, one could be in Thailand. The dining room is immaculate and everything is precisely and faultlessly positioned The staff are friendly, polite and efficient. Then the food arrives, and it is perfect. This time, I merely had a simple gaeng keow wan keung (Thai green curry with giant prawns) and khao suay (steamed rice), but it was just as it would have been in Thailand, full of flavour, not overcooked, not too spicy and not too sweet. Top marks! I settled on a traditional Thai dessert of banana in warm coconut milk, and, again, it was 'just right'. It's so easy to get it wrong, but Blue Orchid almost always gets it right. They also serve Singha beer, which makes it even more authentic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TimSharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My parents have a really good local Thai restaurant, but we have been struggling to find one in SW Beds that is not ridiculously pricey or seems to make everything by first putting in a ton of sugar. Then we happened upon the Blue Orchid and gave it a try. Well, the food was more original than most and not too sweet! The service was attentive without being overbearing and the price mid range and justifiably so. We will come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatTheSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Orchid also viewed

Woburn, Bedfordshire
Woburn Sands, Milton Keynes
 
Aspley Guise, Bedfordshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Woburn, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Blue Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing