We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely location no traffic noise and we had a lovely view from our room of the fields, woods and cows. We had a cream tea which was lovely with plenty of sandwiches, cakes and tea. we had a nice walk around the grounds and sat in the lounge which we had to ourselves and had a drink until it was time to go and get ready for dinner which was also lovely food and wine. The service was excellent nothing too much trouble for the staff and the same can be said for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again and as we had a voucher deal it was great value for four of us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Horwood Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Impulse purchase of a bargain night, really surprised by the sprawling hotel accommodation. Disappointed that the gents changing facilities for the leisure pool has no direct access to the pool area, so you wander the corridor dripping wet.
Restaurant however was delightful, good decor, low lighting, comfortable seating. Limited menu, even with sight of the main offering, but the food on arrival was really good. Breakfast Buffett style, one of the best I've come across.
Perhaps the best thing of all was the staff, friendly, informative, chatty. They are the real jewel to be found at this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is located within extensive grounds si I think that all rooms will be quite enough. There...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralcaybelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here last night on a Groupon and had a wonderful time. Our room was lovely and clean with chocolates awaiting us. We had a meal in the restaurant which was delicious with very attentive staff. The overall ambience was lovely. I would definitely return. Thank you for such a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LesleyfromWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your weekend and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently had our wedding at Horwood House at the beginning of May and it was an amazing day! Location, food, entertainment, flowers and cake were all fantastic and we would thoroughly recommend Horwood House and their Sparkle Package to anyone thinking of getting married! We had lots of family and friends travelling long distances and Horwood House was the perfect hotel to cater our party for the whole weekend. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always on hand to help make our day magical. The wedding planners are fantastic and made the whole experience fun and stress free. Thank you Horwood House for making our wedding day such a truly wonderful day and one we shall never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Claire S

Congratulations!
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your wedding day at Horwood House. I am delighted every detail of your special day was perfect and you had a truly wonderful day that you will never forget.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Horwood House, perhaps for your 1st wedding anniversary.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My Partner and myself stayed here in March. There was nothing wrong with the stay. Nice hotel, rooms bit mall but cosy. We liked the setting of this hotel and wanted our wedding here.

I spoke to someone over the phone. Advised that we wanted a piano at the venue. The lady wasn't very helpful and applied we couldn't hire one in as it would be to more hassle!!
An appointment was booked but found another venue down the road that are more than willing to accommodate our needs.

If they are like this at the start of the planning stage of the wedding.... The wedding = disappointment
I just feel more effort could have been meet for our perfect day as thousands of pounds will be spent.

Room Tip: Look else where for a wedding!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank businessman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Businessman35

Thank you your review of Horwood House, I am pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one.
Last year Horwood House held 188 weddings and our specialist wedding planners were on hand through every stage of planning working along side the bride and grooms to ensure every detail of their special day was exactly what they wanted and ensured the smooth running on the actual day. I can assure you our wedding team would have been more than happy to meet in person to discuss your wedding requirements and explain all options available to you, ensuring your special day was one to remember.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This was the only option open to us on the dates we had to travel; we stayed Saturday and Sunday night in the middle of May. The room had been redecorated and was very clean and the beds comfortable, but it was so bland and boring, even one print on the wall would have made such a difference. The shower was old and needs replacing and the water pressure was non-existent; also had to run the hot tap for about 15 minutes before having a shower - most likely due to the fact that we were in the building furthest from reception. And an elderly Samsung non-flat screen TV with, at best, 5 channels is simply not acceptable in this day and age. Stickers on the trouser press and iron give an electricity test due date of 11/12, meaning that the last one was carried out at the end of 2011. The setting and grounds and the reception building are attractive, but the accommodation is in what appears to be 1970s student blocks - many corridors and doors all looking exactly the same. However the worse part is the bar. We went in for a drink and some bar food on Saturday evening about 7. Half of the bar was taken up by a function who were having a reception in there before dinner. It was very noisy, and left little in the way of seating in the rest of the bar. Once they had gone, we ordered a pizza and it was without a doubt the worst pizza I have ever eaten. We were hungry but had had a couple of drinks by then and couldn't drive anywhere else, otherwise we could have escaped. The pizzas had obviously been cooked some while before, probably for the wedding buffet along the corridor, and then re-heated; this was clear from the burnt edges which had been cut off. The pizza itself was a very basic cheese and tomato Margarita, tough and dry and the topping of 'cherry tomatoes, mozzarella and fresh basil' as promised on the menu was conspicuous by its absence - all this for a bargain price of £11.75 each. The drinks were overpriced - a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and draught Peroni for £11. It is quite clear that their main focus is on wedding receptions and conferences, but if they are to continue to attract other guests then things have to improve. The staff were generally friendly and doing their best, but the bar needs to be changed - it is sterile and unwelcoming and there are no quiet corners with comfortable chairs to sit and have a drink in peace. Perhaps in a place of this size, another smaller bar could be 'created' to allow those guests not attending a function to escape. Looking at the rather sad faces in the restaurant as we passed by, we are glad we decided not to bother with breakfast, especially at £14 per person. All in all not a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Alys S

Thank you for your review of Horwood House, I am pleased the team were friendly and doing their best to look after you during your time here.
I am disappointed there were elements of your stay which did not meet your expectations, I would be happy to discuss your points in more detail if you would like to contact me directly at the hotel.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Restaurant staff and breakfast 5* , pool excellent but difficult entry from men's changing rooms.

Room never properly serviced - no soap in bathroom, shampoo/shower gel, towels, robe, mules supplied for one only. Coffee/tea making supplies never replenished.
We did point out omissions and eventually given towels so we could swim.
24 hr reception did not always answer phone - gave up before going out for dinner.

Glad we only booked for one night.

Room Tip: Be aware you will not stay in the lovely main house but in an extensive travel lodge-type extension...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHorwoodHouse, General Manager at De Vere Horwood Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Ann H

Thank you for your review of Horwood House, I am disappointed your expectations were not met on this occasion.
Your comments have been shared with our Head Housekeeper and corrective training has been conducted with the room attendant and the supervisor that checked the room you occupied.

Chris Steadman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
7.2 mi away
Woughton House - MGallery by Sofitel (was Mercure Parkside House)
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Winslow
211 reviews
12.2 mi away
Chicheley Hall
Chicheley Hall
#1 of 1 in Chicheley
387 reviews
8.6 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range: £41 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing