We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sort out the wi-fi for a higher rating please!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Horwood Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Horwood Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Sort out the wi-fi for a higher rating please!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were two couples who took advantage of a deal for an overnight stay with dinner at this hotel. We decided not to upgrade for the one night as it was £20 per room.

On arrival, we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist and told how to find out rooms. I wouldn't say a sat nav would be recommended, but there is no way I would have found my way to and from Reception - too many stairs and corridors.

However, we thought that our rooms were fine. They were clean, the view was good, bathroom clean but the actual room was so small. For one night, I think this is fine but it is just a bit too small to really enjoy the room. But, a clean room is more important for us.

We went down to the swimming pool and sauna which was enjoyable and empty. At one corner of the swimming pool, it looked like a jacuzzi had been removed - is this coming back??

Dinner was a pleasant surprise. Food was very good and a charming young man called Mr. Pickup looked after us very well. The husband thought his lamb tagine with couscous was probably one of the best meals he has had in a very long time and he eats in many restaurants. If you can let the chef know this - his lamb tagine was to die for!

We like to go down to breakfast early which in this case was a good idea as there was a murder mystery weekend and a wedding party staying at the hotel and everyone seemed to come down together.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of fresh fruits, cereal, ham, cheese and of course a full English. Service was very good and the waiting staff polite and helpful.

When I read some of the previous reviews, I was a bit worried that we would have a dirty room, awful breakfast and poor service but we had none of these.

I would recommend this hotel, we all had a good time.

One criticism though, the hotel advertises free wi-fi but in reality you get one hour free and then you have to pay, we thought this was a bit sneaky and misleading. Also, impossible to get a decent mobile signal on my phone - v. frustrating.

One suggestion - some more outside chairs please - the weather was very pleasant and we wanted to sit out in the grounds but the one or two picnic tables around were broken and covered in bird mess.

May come again.

Room Tip: For a larger room, pay for an upgrade - the standard rooms are a bit on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crunchieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    298
    318
    207
    168
See reviews for
177
466
25
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Myself and a colleague decided to meet at Horwood House today as it was half way between us. When I arrived I was directed to the lounge bar where there was nobody around apart from another couple sitting at another table.
We started our meeting and then wanted a drink but with nobody to ask helped ourselves to the delegate coffee station - thanks very much!
In this day and age and in a hotel you would think there would be a great wifi connection (we were reviewing some websites) alas you could only get 1 hour free then had to wait another 3 hours before you could get another hour free! We managed 2 hours by each using our laptop but a bit of a rubbish setup!
We had lunch in the bar and just decided to have a sandwich which for £6.00 for a turkey sandwich was really over priced - plastic square turkey, yellowing rocket and slightly stale bread. We didn't complain as just needed to have our food and leave.
I think on another occasion we might choose a location that can provide us with free wifi all day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

There were 6 of us in our group so we had 3 rooms for a 2 night stay. We booked via a Groupon deal and then upgraded 2 of our rooms. My in-laws upgraded from a standard room to a superior and to be honest it wasn't worth the £20 per night extra. Their room was small and unbelievably hot with no temperature controls in the room, we ended up lending them a fan from our room.
We decided to upgrade to a suite at an extra £50 per night so we could spend time together in the lounge during our stay. In many ways the upgrade was worth it but the standard of the suite was lacking! We had the worst bathroom out of the 3 rooms and the carpet was filthy! There was some surprising lack of attention to detail, like no towel rail in the bathroom so nowhere to hang wet towels and no spare loo roll so we had to ask for it on both days. It was the most spacious room and just like having a penthouse apartment with amazing views of the garden.
Check in was swift and as we were in a suite we didn't have a long trek to our room but the others did. The twin room was the furthest away from reception you could get.
We got to our room (The Dunton Suite) ready for a rest after a 2.5hr drive only to find that there was some sort of inflatable activity going on in the gardens with load music and a man on a tannoy shouting instructions. We thought this must have been some sort of kids entertainment for the wedding that was on but having looked out of the window realised it was acutally adults taking part in "ITS A KNOCKOUT" Hardly appropriate in the grounds of a quiet hotel in the middle of the country. We attempted to call reception to find out how long the racket was going to go on for but got no answer so we had to go down to reception to complain. The duty manager came to our room and explained it was part of a conference and a team building exercise but NO APOLOGY and said he would give feedback to the sales staff who take those kinds of bookings. After an hour of noise we decided to go for a walk to try to escape from it. The gardens were lovely and some quiets spots to relax.
Dinner and a glass of wine was included in our deal. Restaurant was quiet on the first nite and busier on the second. It was a varied menu and we all thoroughly enjoyed what we had. Restaurant staff were great, one lady was particularly attentive and helpful with suggesting places for us to visit during our stay (its a shame I can't remember her name as she really was a credit to the hotel and by far the most helpful person we dealt with)
Breakfast had something for everybody. Tea/Coffee and toast took a while to arrive but it was busy both mornings. One thing lacking was black pudding but that was the only thing.
We never did receive our chocolates that were included in our deal.
There was a mistake with our bill when we checked out but this was easily and quickly resolved.
Apart from the few imperfections it was a nice stay and we would recommend it. Upgrade to a suite if there is one available.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others. A superior room might be smaller than some of the standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish4amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Before arriving at this hotel we had read some very disappointing recent reviews. As my parents had booked our stay as part of their 50th Wedding Anniversary celebrations, we were very concerned about what we would find upon our arrival. We needn't have worried, apart from the size of the rooms, the hotel was of a very good standard in line with the prices that they charge, set in beautiful grounds. Our room was well furnished and clean, however it was the smallest room we have ever stayed in, and this was an issue when it came to moving around the bed in order to get dressed! It was a long trek through a bit of a rabbit warren to get to the room, however we have stayed in quite a few 5 star hotels which have proved to be the same, and it does mean that you are well away from the noise associated with any wedding parties going on.
My parents were over the moon with the free bottle of Prosecco that they received at dinner, as well as the many "Congratulations" they received from the hotel staff. This was a very nice personal touch, not often seen in classier hotels!
We would definitely recommend this hotel, as a great value weekend away.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you can afford the extra money. They appear to be much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

As you approach the hotel the drive is lovely and the grounds fantastic looking. The hotel has some 190 rooms and it can be a little challenging to find your way around. The twin room we were given was at the end of a corridor which was very appreciated as we'd come to relax for one night. Although the room could do with some new wall paper and the furniture were a little dated, it was comfortable and so were the beds. The staff were all extremely friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent and the leisure club had everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmillaRyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from having our wedding at this Hotel. It was perfect in every way. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them.
The Suites in the manor house are very large, comfortable with great views over the gardens.
The grounds are wonderful to explore and wonder around.
The food is exquisite!
We can't thank the staff enough for making our wedding perfect in your wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for one night on a Groupon deal that included dinner(two courses), wine(a glass each) and a box of chocolates (only 4, but very nice) and breakfast and all for £89 for the two of us.
The place looks fantastic as you approach on a long drive. The old house has reception, meeting rooms and a bar(that wasn't open) and lounge. The rest of the place is much more modern and quite disappointing. The room was just about OK once we'd walked through the maze of corridors and stairs to find it. The bed was uncomfortable - but for one night...
The main restaurant was being used for a conference - so we had to eat in the large bar area and the were clearly a few "operational" problems. The food is very ordinary. Lots of it - too much really - quantity rather than quality - but it all arrived as ordered, was edible but had nothing much to recommend it.
The staff throughout were excellent, friendly, and they couldn't do enough to be helpful.
We chose it as it's close to Bletchley Park - just 20 mins drive - a real must place to visit.
Great value with the Groupon but we won't be hurrying back.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Horwood
10.6 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
6.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
Mercure Milton Keynes Abbey Hill
#2 of 34 in Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mercure Milton Keynes Parkside Hotel
8.6 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buckingham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horwood Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horwood Estate

Property: De Vere Horwood Estate
Address: Mursley Road, Little Horwood MK17 0PH, England (Formerly Horwood House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Little Horwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Horwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Vere Horwood Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vere Horwood Estate combines the best of a period Manor House, set in 38 acres, with the modern facilities of Tempus Bar and Restaurant, extensive meeting and function rooms and 185 bedrooms. Our swimming pool and gym are available for all resident guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your De Vere Horwood Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horwood House And Leisure Club Hotel Little Horwood
Horwood Hotel And Leisure
De Vere Horwood Estate Little Horwood, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing