We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Vere Horwood Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milton Keynes Hotel(Deanshanger)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,506)
Filter reviews
1,506 results
Traveller rating
295
363
397
249
202
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
363
397
249
202
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorwood housebeautiful groundswedding venuepool and saunaleisure facilitieswedding breakfastlovely settinga lovely staybuffet stylebletchley parkgroupon dealtempus restaurantjuliacountryside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,047 - 1,052 of 1,506 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice place to sleep (if you are able to find your room), but you'd better do not ask for breakfast or a drink at the bar.

Extremely spacious location; thus it can take some +5 minutes to go to your room, if you've forgotten something. Moreover many stairs; thus handling heavy luggage is stressful and no support offered at the reception.

Expensive breakfast, especially regarding the fact that the kitchen isn't able to come up with more toast, eggs etc. on the emptied buffet.

Last but not least: 10 minutes wating time at the bar and then 4.50 GBP for a beer? Wow! Thus we drove to the nearby pub, which is a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night as we were attending a concert at the MK bowl. It's a huge country house set in beautiful grounds, about halfway between Milton Keynes and Buckingham. We stayed in a standard room, which was a reasonable size, however the interior was disappointingly dated, more suited to a 1970s motor lodge, complete with trouser press and 'square' TV.
On the plus side, the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the bar serves excellent food.
A taxi into Central MK was £20, although as a lot of people were going to the same event, the hotel was coordinating taxis and we were able to share one with other guests.
Another key factor is what type of trip you're looking for. It's in a beautiful countryside location but if you're going to central MK or the bowl it's a 15min drive.
One final complaint is the wi-fi, somewhat misleadingly described as free, however you only get one free hour and then have to wait 3hrs!! Particularly frustrating as the mobile reception in the rooms is non existent. Hotels need to move away from charging for wifi or otherwise restricting it, in 2014 it's just a basic expectation.
Overall a fairly pleasant experience, but the rooms are in urgent need of an update, and the location won't suit everyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stiff prices, small rooms, long queves, bad internet and phone connection, slow servicxe, confusing hotel, bad leadership?
As a gang of a hundred persons at an annual meeting, we had so-so expectation, due to the mixed ratings here.
The start was seemingly better than expected, but it got worse.
Tiny rooms, but OK cleaned. And beds and bath are good, though very scarce water in the ashower,loads in the tiolet.
. But quite expensive, especially in the bar lounge.
A small burger and coke costs £ 20, which is a ripoff even for us Norwegians.
The staff works ahrd, but is quite slow, and they didn't put more people behind the bar even at lunschtime.
Slow service is annoying when you have something to do.
No system in where the food is suppoose to be delivered, makes a lot of mistakes.
Internet didn't work in room. Quite shifty and bad mobile phone connection.
The secfond morning we came to breakfast, it was all gone, even all the bread.
They did also run out of eggs (!) the rest of the weekend.
The top was when we discovered that outr booking had went down the drain fot the last day. We were 17 people having to find a new hotel, after staying there two nights.

This all must come down to a confusingly big hotel, and bad management.
Outside it was pleasant and nice.
Pricing was very stiff, and not overall worth it.
Mabny plates were dirty at breakfast.
Staff did their best though, and was pleasant.
Don't have high expecations, and use a satnav to find yourself around in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJSkyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were on a Groupon Deal. Bed Breakfast and Dinner for one night. The room was smallish, however for one or two nights, it was really very good. The bed was comfortable, the room was very modern, with an en suite bathroom/shower. Full tea making facilities. We were in room 244 that over looked fields. From our bedroom window, we had the luck of seeing a Red Kite bird of prey, perched in a tree
The restaurant dinner menu was very good and the food was excellent. The breakfast was buffet style and that too was very nice indeed
The staff seemed to be very nice and friendly
If you're thinking of visiting Bletchley Park then I would recommend an over night stay in Horwood House as it's only 7.5 miles away
Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel for a one or two night BB&D

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were two couples who took advantage of a deal for an overnight stay with dinner at this hotel. We decided not to upgrade for the one night as it was £20 per room.

On arrival, we were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist and told how to find out rooms. I wouldn't say a sat nav would be recommended, but there is no way I would have found my way to and from Reception - too many stairs and corridors.

However, we thought that our rooms were fine. They were clean, the view was good, bathroom clean but the actual room was so small. For one night, I think this is fine but it is just a bit too small to really enjoy the room. But, a clean room is more important for us.

We went down to the swimming pool and sauna which was enjoyable and empty. At one corner of the swimming pool, it looked like a jacuzzi had been removed - is this coming back??

Dinner was a pleasant surprise. Food was very good and a charming young man called Mr. Pickup looked after us very well. The husband thought his lamb tagine with couscous was probably one of the best meals he has had in a very long time and he eats in many restaurants. If you can let the chef know this - his lamb tagine was to die for!

We like to go down to breakfast early which in this case was a good idea as there was a murder mystery weekend and a wedding party staying at the hotel and everyone seemed to come down together.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of fresh fruits, cereal, ham, cheese and of course a full English. Service was very good and the waiting staff polite and helpful.

When I read some of the previous reviews, I was a bit worried that we would have a dirty room, awful breakfast and poor service but we had none of these.

I would recommend this hotel, we all had a good time.

One criticism though, the hotel advertises free wi-fi but in reality you get one hour free and then you have to pay, we thought this was a bit sneaky and misleading. Also, impossible to get a decent mobile signal on my phone - v. frustrating.

One suggestion - some more outside chairs please - the weather was very pleasant and we wanted to sit out in the grounds but the one or two picnic tables around were broken and covered in bird mess.

May come again.

Room Tip: For a larger room, pay for an upgrade - the standard rooms are a bit on the small side.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crunchieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews