We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the NEC”
Review of G&G B&B NEC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balsall Common
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
G&G B&B NEC
Certificate of Excellence
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for the NEC”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you are working at or visiting the NEC this is the perfect place to stay. Gilly and Grant are charming hosts, nothing is too much trouble and their breakfasts are awesome. Comfy beds and spotless bathrooms add to the experience. This is my second visit and I hope not my last.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Lovely to see you again Sally, and thank you for writing a review. Here's to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Top place, I stayed whilst at the NEC on business for 3 nights. I had 3 brilliant nights sleep, so comfy, great quilts, beds, bathroom, breakfast, and could walk to a couple of decent eateries in the evening. Lovely couple who made me feel very welcome. Will use this every time I use the NEC.
PS gillian even ironed my shirt cos i was disorganised , thanks Gillian :)

Room Tip: Have a pizza at the local pub, I didnt but they looked brilliant!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justfor you b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the trouble to write your review. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Gilly and Grant are very charming host's. Having travelled extensively across Europe, it was a joy to stay at G&G B&B. Very peaceful and homely. My room was very agreable with everything I would need including a good sized bathroom. Cozy and warm at all times, lead to a great nights sleep which was rewarded with a very hearty English breakfast that would put most Corporate venues to shame.

Both Gilly and Grant have great conversation and were happy to help with local short cuts (Frog Lane) to my venue. On leaving, they even obliged me by filling my flask with hot coffee for my long drive home. I will be staying again when next in the area.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Just let Gilly select it for you :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review and for your kind words. We really enjoyed meeting you - I'm so glad you opted for the b&b experience while visiting Prodrive. Hope to see you again when you're up this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A warm homely welcome. Immaculately clean facilities. Warm comfortable environment. With breakfast fit for a king and scrumptious marmalade to satisfy one's sweet tooth! We very much forward look forward to visit again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us - you were lovely guests and we are looking forward to seeing you again. In the meantime, hope you have a happy warm Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were warmly greeted by Gilly and Grant with a welcoming cup of tea and cake. Certainly needed after driving through a thunderstorm. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable - pillows were lovely. The breakfast was delicious and our hosts were very flexible with the timing. We were looking for a B&B with off-street car parking and easy road access to Birmingham airport. G&G B&B was ideal and an excellent choice for our requirements.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 152ColinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
So glad to hear you finally got home safely and I hope you have now fully recovered from the jet-lag and the dreadful worry of the earthquake. In spite of all that, you found the time to write a review - very many thanks! I'm sure you had a wonderful time with your family in Germany, and perhaps when you're over this side of the world once again we'll have the chance of seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

A lovely place to relax - spacious, pristine and very comfortable with use of small kitchen downstairs. Gilly and Grant were extremely welcoming with flexible and delicious breakfast times. Within 20 min easy walking distance from local train station and Co op nearby, both of which were a necessity for me. Lovely view from my room over their huge and beautifully kept back garden - very peaceful. A memorable visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 916SarahP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review - we were so glad you enjoyed your weekend in the Midlands and it was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are very lucky in Balsall Common to have the local railway station and late opening village shops on the way back here! Hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Unfortunatley, we were rather wet when we arrived during our walk of the Heart of England Way but Gilly and Grant made us very welcome and provided a reviving cup of tea. The accommodation is first class and the breakfast designed to cater for all tastes. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
It was a pleasant change for us to have guests walk into the drive with just a small ruck sack on their backs - how sensible to travel light when you're walking. There are many footpaths in the area and one of these days Grant and I will go and explore The Heart of England Way for ourselves, which is just down the road. Thanks for your inspiration and thank you for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Haigs Hotel
Haigs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Balsall Common
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
4.5 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
3.2 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&G B&B NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&G B&B NEC

Property: G&G B&B NEC
Address: 68 Needlers End Lane, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balsall Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern, quiet, clean and extremely comfortable b&b with wi-fi near the NEC Birmingham giving you the privacy and independance that you need and all the help that you want. Perfect for small groups looking to stay together while visiting the area or the NEC. G&G B&B is in the village of Balsall Common with a bank, a post office, a late opening Co-op, small Tescos and Sainburys, a Shell Garage and an excellent variety of eating places - good pubs and Indian restaurants - all within walking distance. Plenty of driveway parking. The village railway station - called Berkswell Station - has it's own free car park and is just 2 stops from the NEC ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing