We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
G&G B&B NEC
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Balsall Common
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Haigs Hotel(Balsall Common)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The White Lion Inn(Hampton-in-Arden)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Manor(Hampton-in-Arden)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
89
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgilly and grantthe galleytea and cakeperfect hostshome from homemarmaladethe beds were extremely comfortablelovely breakfastset you up for the daysmall kitchenlike coming homefull englishgood sized bathroomeasy walking distancelocation is idealfamily celebrationvisiting the area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The B&B is in a great location for anyone visiting the NEC or Stoneleigh. The en-suite rooms are a good size, very clean and comfortable. There are some very nice touches, the galley kitchen for guests to use has a vast assortment of teas and coffees, even de-caff which was a welcome change from using my own. Breakfast is a choice of all the usual things you would expect, including a full english if you have a healthy appetite. There is also a TV for guests use in the lounge/dining room as well as in the bedrooms. The lounge is great if you are a party and want to spend some time together other than sitting in the bedrooms.
We have tried several hotels and B & B's in the Kenilworth/Balsall Common area, but this is the only one we would definetly return to. We would recommend the White Horse for their Sunday roast and the Beefeater George in the Tree for steaks etc. both only a 5 minute car journey from Gilly & Grants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mccallough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Certainly one of the best in the area and I have used a few. parking for me is an issue and was the reason I cancelled the hotel I had initially booked. (Ibis @ birmingham airport). This B&B is quietly located and has good parking available. The train station is 1 mile away and also has free parking,which I was informed is busy weekdays. We had a 6 min trip to the NEC.Perfect. The B&B itself is modern and comfortable with nice spacious rooms, and ensuite facilities and colour tv etc. Very nice.

If I was being super critical my only very slight issue was with the breakfast. The 'full English' breakfast will not suit those who like a good substantial meal prior to setting out for the day and as Gilly herself said it consisted of 'little tasters' of each of your choice. If you like a couple of good rashers of Bacon for E.G. you might be disappointed. My piece was very small and quite fatty and not to my taste. What is wrong with a nice couple of rashers of Back bacon?
The rest was not bad but I did get up from the table somewhat hungry. Ah well. I suppose I should have said I was disappoined at the time. It was slightly 'stingy'. It could be a good idea to ask if more toast and tea is required. This would have helped.
Having said that the owners were great, Friendly and super helpfull,so I have no hesitation in giving a full hearty recommendation..

Alex & Carol Black

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexblack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2010

A good review is always welcome, but a less than perfect one is not so good!
Our breakfasts consist of a good choice of cereals and yogurt, fruit juices, followed by free range egg, bacon and sausage from our local butcher, tomato, mushrooms, black pudding and home made potato cake and finally, toast - white or wholemeal (home baked), butter, local honey, our own made marmalade and jams. And of course, tea or freshly brewed coffee.
We ask if our visitors have had sufficient, but obviously slipped up on this occasion. Strangely enough this couple didn't ask for the full breakfast on the second morning of their stay, settling for cereals and toast, and just one egg between them.
However, we take their comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This has to be one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. My room was a very large twin room looking out over a beautiful garden, and it was immaculate. The en-suite with shower was a good size and plenty of hot water. Downstairs a small kitchenette is available for the use of the guests with every conceivable flavour of tea you could wish for, and a fridge with proper milk (not UHT mini pots hurrah). The Downstairs also has a sitting area with lots of local information restaurants pubs etc, and assess to an outside patio area. Breakfast is served in the dinning area, cereals, toast, yogurts etc are available to help yourself to, but for me the perfectly cooked and presented bacon ,egg tomato and mushrooms set me up for the day (there were further choices on the cooked menu).
Gilly and Grant made me feel so welcome I would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheridan-Chetwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

A nice B&B located 10 min or so drive from the NEC convention center, the B&B is nice, very clean and VERY friendly owners, there are a few nice restaurants in the near proximity (walking distance) and there is good wireless internet connection at the house, so its solid for the NEC (business ) traveler.
The rooms are not huge, but rooms in Europe never are, they are always very clean and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillymatthew68, Owner at G&G B&B NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews