We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night 8pm Agitation”

Masala Club Indian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Masala Club is an ideal place to socialise, impress your friends, family and associates and enjoy a perfect night out in what is undoubtedly the most sumptuous and intimate Indian dining experience in Balsall Common.Situated in the village of Ballsall Common, only 5 minutes' drive from the NEC (National Exhibition Centre) and Birmingham Airport, the Masala Club is an authentic Indian restaurant which has become a firm favourite with both the locals and business visitors (NEC Exhibitors) as well as attracting various TV and sports personalities!
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Saturday Night 8pm Agitation”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is nothing worse than booking a table (because that is normally what you do if you are not local and want the confidence of getting to sit down at the appointed time after you have met your friends for a drink at the local pub before hand) and arriving on time to be met by a mêlée of people who have also booked to eat at 8pm and not a spare table or your reserved table in view.

The four of us decided to sit it out and wait as we had travelled some distance to be there whilst another group gave up and left, an unacceptable 30 minutes later we sat down and started eating 45 minutes late. We did receive an apology BUT what should happen when booking is be told there is 2 sittings and if there is a chance things are running late the restaurant will phone the customer because a contact number was taken and explain, but I assume the majority did not book and arrived at 7:30pm and were local (fair play to them) and the management decided to fill the place and worry about the those who took the time and trouble to book later!!

Any way the food was good not brilliant, and the service when we were at the table was acceptable but after the apology there was no little sorry " and the management would like to offer your poppadum's as complimentary (or coffee or drink) for your wait" but an indecipherable hand written bill.

We will not be back in a hurry but will try the other similar restaurants in the village when we meet up next, lost customers because all it takes is the management to give the service we would all expect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    37
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really tasty food, as usual!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We come here often, but not as often as my parents and their friends who live locally. Tonight I visited with my Mum and the welcome was as warm as ever and the food as good as ever. I tried the lamb pathia recommendation and it was delicious. I love it here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tell them Paul sent you!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

As a family we have been visiting Saj and the team for over 10 years. We are regulars on a weekly basis. Does that mean I will provide a favourable report ? Well I guess the weekly visit over 10 years kind of gives the rest of the report away.
You know how it is. It's Friday night and you've earned the right to reward yourself with a great meal out which will set you up for the weekend and make it all worth while. Do you risk a new restaurant or do you stick with what you know , trust and has never let you down?
The answer over 10 years is both because friends and recommendations are the inspiration of change. And you regret caving in the moment the first stale poppadum arrives and you wish you'd stood firm.
So how does this restaurant deliver perfection every time. The service and the friendliness is legendary. The team get to know you , your eating habits and your preferences in a relatively short time. It's great when you get recommendations to try different items and it's even better when they care enough to discuss the food recipe and ingredients with you rather than just order and serve.
The ingredients are always fresh and the food is never over cooked. The flavours hit the palate and you can taste them individually - not a dense concoction of paste that has tried to be stimulated back to life with heat and oil. Short cooking with finest ingredients will always deliver against reheated stocks made with yesterday preparations. This also gives a quick service time for food even in busy periods.
The restaurant is comfortable and very accommodating for groups of any size. We've been part of large groups and then there's just me and the government (wife). Always experienced the same level of service and attention together with quality - that's the hallmark of this place.
Yes I've eaten Indian in Kenilworth , Knowledge , Leamington Spa and all points in between. Nothing has compared. Not sure anything will. If you don't like the experience or the food , tell them Paul recommended and I will pay your bill. Enjoy !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mildys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous all round experience”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have been visiting the Masala Club weekly for nearly seven years now and I can't remember a poor experience. The food and flavours are excellent, the service is totally customer focussed and the welcome perfect - you are made to feel part of the family. Highly recommended.....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous curry”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is the best Indian restaurant around .. The food is always excellent .. We are always greeted with great service ... Won't go any where else for our Indian food

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dalmatian04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masala Club Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Balsall Common, Solihull
Balsall Common, Solihull
 

Been to Masala Club Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing