We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home from home”
Review of Annora House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balsall Common
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annora House
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Whilst studying for my MA at The University of Warwick over the past year, I had the luxury of staying at Annora House for a night every week to be close to the campus. The warm welcome offered by Dawn and Andy during my first stay extended throughout the year and I looked forward to my weekly getaway to my 'home from home'. The beautiful rooms, delicious breakfasts, friendly chats and genuine hospitality combined to create a fabulous base for my studies. I graduated last week and made a return visit to Annora House to mark the occasion; I will miss those regular stays but will most definitely be back whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElizabethBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
11
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is a lovely little gem near the Birmingham NEC. The friendly owners Dawn and Andy have lovingly refurbished the property to a high standard which offers comfortable modern well equipped and thoughtfully furnished rooms at a reasonable price.

There is a pub within walking distance and the breakfast is excellent... I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p750777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Myself & my friend stayed at Annora House on Saturday night as we were going to the Clothes Show. Gorgeous guest house and Dawn is so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, our room was beautiful, breakfast was delicious! We would like to have stayed here for a week! its perfect! two minute walk to the train station to get on train direct to NEC. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Owner at Annora House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to meet you both.
I really do appreciate your feedback and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here in order to visit the Good food show at the NEC and German Market in Birmingham. We were surprised on our arrival at the warmest welcome we have ever received at a B&B. We had driven up from Bath in the rush hour and the offer of a tea or coffee while we unpacked the car was a lovely little touch which was only the start of what turned out to be a wonderful stay. Dawn and Andy are very approachable hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them. After only three days we left feeling as if we were friends and not customers. Annora house is a modern, extermely well appointed and comfortable home from home. The rooms have a very tasteful decor in which it was a pleasure to chill out in at the end of a busy day. The other added bonus was its great location due to the two minute walk to the local railway station which took us straight to where we needed to be. Thanks again Dawn and Andy, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights at Annora House. Brilliant location close to train station. Great pub food at White Horse. Dawn is a fantastic hostess. Breakfast is lovely & plentiful. Rooms are nicely decorated & clean. This was our second visit & would recommend it to everyone. Will return. Very good value for money. Thanks again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn H, Owner at Annora House, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Ladies ! It was so lovely to have you stay with us again this year, thank you for your review and thank you for the delicious cakes and wine - very nice in deed.
We look forward to welcoming you all again next year . . . Silly Christmas hats a must I promise!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my Friend stayed here for 2 nights while doing a show at the NEC Comic-con. This is such a lovely B&B , so well looked after by the owners. Fantastic attention to detail in the room,bathroom and breakfast area. A real home feel about it makes you feel comfortable and well looked after. By far the best B&B ive stayed in for a long time! , A*****

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Can't understand the rave reviews about Annora House. No one has mentioned the miniscule basin in the bathroom which is the size of a piece of toast and the fact that no-one can see themselves in the mirror to wash /shave put make-up on etc. Most frustrating. All brown tiny bathroom which is dingy and uncomfortable as you can't see. Bed linen etc & general appearance is not spotless & reviews are misleading. Room is very compact and limited wardrobe space if staying for more than one night. No drawers only baskets! Have stayed at much better B&B's would not visit again.Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOLLY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Haigs Hotel
Haigs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Balsall Common
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
4.9 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,511 reviews
3.3 mi away
The White Lion Inn
The White Lion Inn
#2 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annora House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annora House

Property: Annora House
Address: 314 Station Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Balsall Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated stylish guest house situated close to the NEC, with beautifully appointed spacious en-suite rooms which have been designed with the traveller in mind. All rooms equipped with flat screen digital TV’s, free WiFi, writing desk and complimentary tea & coffee tray. The NEC and Birmingham International Airport are only a short drive away or less than 10 minutes by train from leaving the house to being in the exhibition hall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing