We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame - could be cleaner”
Review of Haigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haigs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We knew this was a cheap b&b style hotel and expected it to be a bit tired as it was rather cheap. What let it down was that it needed a good clean!
It was friendly and the service was efficient though. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDHJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Travelled down from Southport.
Staff were exceptionally friendly & couldn't do enough to help.
Food was top rate.
Room was clean, comfortable, inexpensive, could not fault it.
Don't be put off by the tired looking exterior, this hotel & it's staff deserve success & your custom.
I would DEFINITELY return without hesitation.

Kevin Hill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have been a group of friends and we booked on Haigs as we had a seminar at Nec. We all enjoyed and we always will come back. The rooms were exactly what we wanted. For those who are nagging please go and chose a 5 starts hotel and pay triple the price. For those who luxury is not important, don't look further. We booked in July and we came back, and we always will. The food is to die for, breakfast is delicious and the super was delicious. The cleanliness was perfect for us. We haven't got any complain and the staff is just very professional and kind. Way to go guys.

Room Tip: Room 24 was very big and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Really fast service the food was lush and a good price was well presented and the atmosphere was lovely only criticism was the parking had to park in the village and walk as it was rammed
Could of had a few more chips too as I was starving and the portions were a bit small
Defiantly try the salmon could of been better with blue cheese instead of the one I got tried my boyfriends blue cheese and it was amazing !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked in for one night as a break whilst traveling to Tamworth from France. We found the Haigs Hotel to de very good value for money at £38 for the night including breakfast.(which was first class).The staff are all friendly. The only negative would be that the rooms are a little tired.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a two night stay here recently, I had to ask for the bed cover to be replaced. It had a fist sized hole in it,and was extremely dirty. When I pulled it back the blanket underneath was also quite badly soiled. They were changed by the poor pregnant receptionist who informed me everyone else had gone home so it was down to her to change the soiled bedding.The room itself was very tired looking, and carpet looked like it had oil slicks on. Having said that, the bed was surprisingly comfortable, and despite being at the front of the hotel on a busy main road I slept extremely well. Breakfast was excellent and very varied, and the staff and service was also very good. Would I stay again? Yes, but they need to up their cleanliness of bedding and rooms

Room Tip: If you don't like noise ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We attended a wedding at Nailcote Hall on 25th August, and all the rooms were fully booked. I found Haigs Hotel that was less than 2 miles away. The stay at Nailcote was £120 per night just for a room and almost everyone I spoke to had a complaint about the rooms and breakfast was not included. We stayed at the Haigs Hotel for less than a third of the cost and breakfast was in. The rooms were large enough and it was very clean. Unfortunately I cannot comment on the breakfast as we had consumed a large amount of drinks the night before and did not get up to sample it. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: It is on busy main road, but we had a room at the back of the hotel and could not hear any traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevandpat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
6.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
355 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Coventry
Quality Hotel Coventry
#20 of 39 in Coventry
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Price Range: £53 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haigs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing