We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse than expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Haigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haigs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worse than expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is supposed to be a three star hotel but it does not feel so at all... The heating was not working (in December); the receptionist gave us a small heater, so it was OK in the end - luckily it was not that cold outside that night. There was no hot water in the first room we got and after a few visits to the reception we were moved to another room, a bit better - probably recently renovated (why didn't they give it to us from the beginning?). Still, we were not able to have a shower as there was either boiling hot or freezing cold water, impossible to adjust...we boiled water in a kettle to bathe our 5 months old baby. There was a cot and a sheet but no blanket for the baby. The only two good things about this hotel were breakfast and friendly receptionists.

Room Tip: Room 21 is better than room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    64
    25
    15
    14
See reviews for
37
50
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Friends had booked and suggested we should. I was concerned as it was very well priced but reading the reviews, which were very good, decided to give it a go. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic, very friendly and very helpful. In fact all the staff were so nice it made our stay really nice. On saying all of this I should say that whilst the room was very big and roomy it did show a little wear and tear around the edges but don't let that put you off, the overall experience was very good, in fact I would always stay here if doing the NEC.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed overnight. Hotel very scruffy and rooms very tired and needs a lot of tidying up. Reprinting new carpets, bedding etc etc. Could not fault service and staff all very friendly. Meal was excellent and very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just the job and excellent service .That beef was just delicious. The menu was well balanced ;breakfast excellent . Very central for the area we wanted .The team were all very attentive and local very regular custom all known by the team greeted with hugs etc. great to observe!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Fantastic, from the moment you check in to moment you leave NOTHING is too much trouble. The staff are like a blur they are working so hard. Room lovely great Wifi (and free, as it should be) and a really good and great value meal. Will absolutely be back here if I am in the area, great !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJack734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Came home today after leaving the Haigs hotel n would like to thank the management / owners and staff for a very enjoyable stay. Staff were fab, smiley, genuine n very efficient . Lady owner was a real gem n we were amazed at her stamina!! All done wit good grace n a very cheerful deposition. Highly recommended. Thank u again, Pauline n Julie, x ps food in restaurant is excellent , compliments to chef x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogglygoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for one night as a stop over on a long journey. The hotel is easy to find, and has plenty of car parking space.
The receptionist was friendly and reception was welcoming. Our room was on the 1st floor - and was adequate for the price paid. The only issue was that could hear noise from creaking of ceiling above with people walking around, and could hear people walking past our room. However nice touches were complimentary bottles of sparkling water and tea and biscuits.
Breakfast was included and was very good with good service. We had a full English breakfast, and there was also fruit, pastries and cereal - a really good selection.
I would recommend staying here for a cheap night stopover.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
5.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Nailcote Hall Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#9 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Property: Haigs Hotel
Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haigs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing