We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”
Review of Haigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haigs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fantastic service, excellent food, spotless, friendly. Highly recommended. Definitely coming back . My hobby is fishing. I went down from Manchester to Warwick for a fishing match. I`ve been twice in the same hotel. Now I don`t need to worry where to stay next year :) Definitely I`ll choose this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We usually stay in coventry , but when we saw the price of this hotel thought lets give it a go . We have stayed in some really bad hotels around the same price so we were expecting very little. How wrong were we , on arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us our keys, the room itself was basic but spotless , with tea and coffee and biscuits . The shower was very temperamental but we got there in the end , my only criticism was the single glazed windows , which meant at 5am being woke by the dawn chorus , which to be honest is quite a nice alarm call , compared to the louts in the city who usually wake us, will defo be using again .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Courteous, friendly staff create a pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant, but our meal left room for much improvement. Starters were good: prawns and avocado, with homemade Marie Rose sauce. But the chicken breasts stuffed with cranberries were solid and lacked flavour. The pork belly was overcooked. And the gravy was congealed on top. Our conclusion was that food is cooked, then kept hot under a light, which dries it out. A complimentary chickpea soup starter did not have much taste. Nor did the pea soup starter, said my partner. Three generous portions of pudding comprised a triple dessert. The ice cream in a homemade brandy snap basket was delicious, the Eton Mess was accceptable, though the meringue was a bit chewy. But the Creme Brulee was heavy and stodgy, with not much brulee and a lot of unbruleed sugar on top. Although waitresses are friendly and obliging, they should be trained not to interrupt guests mid-sentence at the table, when taking orders. And not lean across infront of diners at the table to clear dishes. Better training needed re. service at table. But everyone very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were meeting up with friends and had to find a hotel mid way for us both. We googled and found Haigs Hotel, reviews were good so we booked it.
Although this is not a 5* hotel you couldn't find a hotel at the price we paid, offering such good value. The food at both breakfast and evening meal was superb, beautifully cooked and presented. Staff were very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a good stay.
Room is dated but comfortable, if there is a downside it was the noise from the floorboards on the second night after visitors booked into the room above us. However, we will be meeting up with friends and again and have agreed this is where we would prefer to stay.
Hotel is very convenient for Coventry, Stratford upon Avon and Warwick. There is free parking and if you don't want to use car after arrival, station ten minute walk away and access to several buses locally.

Room Tip: Book a room on top floor to avoid noise from room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked by our daughter as a surprise birthday gift (together with theatre tickets) based upon the majority of reviews. Despite the efforts of the friendly staff the hotel sadly fell well below acceptable standards. Our room was grubby in the extreme. The room appeared not to have been decorated since the 1970's. The matching curtains, headboard and patterned boarder were of a faded white and floral pattern. The boarder was peeling from the wall and the headboard bore the stains of countless heads resting upon it over many years. The blanket was threadbare, the bedspread was worn out and grubby. In its favour the sheets and towels were clean and bright. Only one bedside lamp worked. The wall mounted lamp by the side of the desk also did not work. The main ceiling lights in the room were of a type I have not seen since the mid 1960's comprising a circular fluorescent tube covered in a patterned glass disc. They did work however. We spent an uncomfortable night. The following morning did show a massive improvement in that the breakfast was lovely, served by very attentive staff. On checking out we noted that the receptionist didn't ask how our stay had been. I suspect she had a fair idea about what our reply would have been. We didn't pay a lot of money for the room. I understand it came by way of an online deal. Had it been full price we would have called for recompense. What a shame. The experience rather spoiled a significant birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Avoid room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haigs, Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Following your feedback we accept there are areas which need improving. We are currently in the process of updating the rooms and replacing the throws with duvets. I will address the maintenance issues raised accordingly. Please note it is unlikely that the room will have been discounted as we usually sell our double rooms for between £38.50-£42.00 a night including breakfast which we feel is a competitive price for the area. It is with regret that you didn't enjoy your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We found the staff extremely friendly and efficient and the hotel is very clean and tidy. Our room was a bit tired but we had everything we needed for an overnight stay.
If you are arriving late and they are having a busy time in the restaurant you may find it difficult to park.
The breakfast was good and service very quick. Just what you need when you are on a busy schedule.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyJug999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Performance in the hospitality business depends on how customer centric a hotel is.

I am sorry to say that I have never come across a less customer friendly hotel than this. Made a reservation two weeks ago indicating that I would be a late arrival. Rang them the night of arrival to confirm again, since my arrival time was delayed a bit further due to traveling arrangements.

They simply cancelled on me.

A hotel that rejects booked customers the same night of arrival? I have never come across anything poorer than that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank yannikknipprath0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haigs, Manager at Haigs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We will take your comments on board but please note when booking, our confirmation letter states that check in time is up to 11pm as we don't have a 24 hour reception. We were happy to keep reception open until midnight as agreed with you but then we close as we open again at 6.30am. Unfortunately when you contacted us, there was nobody able to stay until 2.30am in order to check you in. Although check in usually isn't a problem as guests are aware of our policy, we note this situation would have been most inconvenient for you so this we regret

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
360 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
5.7 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,143 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haigs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing