We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly, unpretentious, with a great restaurant”
Review of Haigs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haigs Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We came for a two-day stay to visit son at Warwick University, explore local countryside and Warwick Castle.
After being given a very warm welcome we asked to see the restaurant (we hadn't pre-booked, preferring to see the menu and the restaurant before commiting). Menu and restaurant looked great but was fully booked. so staff gave friendly adivce about local alternatives. Luckily reception informed us later that there had been a cancellation and a table was made available. We really enjoyed an excellent meal in their delightful comortable restaurant at a very reasonable price. Service and cuisine was great even though it was full to capacity.
Our room, although not big, was pleasant, quiet, clean and warm (in spite of the freezing weather) and the bed was very comfortable. The only thing I could find fault with with was the shower which was somewaht difficult to control tempature-wise.
Breakfast was also very good with very friendly service, even though we were the last ones in. Yet another pot of tea was offered even though we were the last remaining couple.
It's not a luxury hotel, but for the price we thought it very good value and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2007

We have just returned from the Birmingham N.E.C. food show.
We ( 12 of us ) stayed at the Haigh's Hotel, Kenilworth road, Birmingham.

This family run Hotel exel's in Hospitality & food.
although the rooms are on the bit small size, still VERY clean & tidy. don't let this put you off ( you only sleep in it )

The £20 set 3 course evening meal in fantastic value for money. Credit to the Chef and his team.

The staff just can-not do enough for you, then again they don't have to as it is already done.

Book with 100% confidence.

If you read this Jane, Simon & Lesley, thanks for our stay, see you next year.

IAN MCLEAN
GRIMSBY

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

Haigs is a small hotel with its own style. Rooms not luxury but actually having all you need for a relaxing stay. Staff very friendly and ready to help with whatever you need. Very cozy. Although the kitchen was due to close at the time when I arrived - special arrangements were made so I can have my dinner in. And what a dinner it was - an amazing boutique dish - British beef with wild mushrooms and spinach... Fantastic taste! It was just the next morning when I realized - the Sheff in the kitchen actually has won the award 'Sheff of Coventry for 2005. I am pretty sure she will get the title back very soon... So if you need a hotel in the area and are looking for something different, special attention, a hotel with own style and .. wonderfull kitchen.. well Haigs is the one for you.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2006

What a fantastic place!
Staff were extremely accomodating, nothing was too much for them!! They were all very professional but had that special quality of making you feel like a friend. Decor was wonderful...with elegant and simple leather chairs & sofas in the bar..just like being at home!
Restaurant isn't too big so it doesn't feel impersonal as at some hotels and the food was wonderful and very reasonable too!
A well kept secret!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raychel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

This hotel has the most friendly staff and is a must if you need a quiet location or a base outside of Brimingham. We were staying here for an exhibition at the NEC and it was a great base.

Food in the restaurant is fantastic but not the cheapest. The bar is small and intimate but not too quiet.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough - our company will be using this hotel as a base for our NEC visits. They have a couple of large fish tanks - ask to feed the fish!!! I was in a twin room which to be fair was basic but very clean but other rooms were a bit more luxurious!

4  Thank sm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonaOsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank pitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balsall Common
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Balsall Common (Near Nec) Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
360 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Solihull
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Manor Hotel
5.7 mi away
The St. John's Hotel
The St. John's Hotel
#14 of 28 in Solihull
1,145 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haigs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haigs Hotel

Address: 273 Kenilworth Road, Balsall Common, Solihull CV7 7EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Balsall Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Balsall Common
Price Range: £53 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haigs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Haigs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haigs Hotel Balsall Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing