We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awful place”
Review of Hotel Zapata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zapata
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Boca Chica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An awful place”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is not as it looks like in here. If you are a single man looking for a lady for a massage and you do not care about your comfort and safety and the the poeple around, go for it, if not forget about it! It is a hostel by the way, not a hotel. The beach: You will be bothered less than every minute by a local selling you local food or massage services..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    72
    31
    12
    20
See reviews for
33
66
60
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Is sooo depressing, the pretentious owner will charge usd 70/ night NO BREAKFAST INCL. whilst, Renaissance hotel (5 star) is usd 100/ night. You will also be delighted the way the owner treates his employees. Beach amazing but dirt, lads of locals selling stuff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgelop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. It is clean and in a good location. The $5/day extra charge to use the wifi is annoying because it doesn't work well, but that's not a huge deal. At first glance their food seems expensive but it is the best food and price you will find in that town. If I were going back to Boca Chica I would stay at Hotel Zapata again, but I will NEVER return to Boca Chica.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laramy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel Zapata was a very charming place. I was impressed with the quality of the beds and the good breakfast which is included. One reason I chose this hotel was that it had a gated area on the beach, and that provided a degree of insulation from the constant bombardment of vendors. There are all-inclusive hotels on the beach with private beach access, but the word from my fellow tourists on these places was not very high.

Hotel Zapata has yoga on Tuesday-Thursday, and I participated each day that it was offered. It was not pure yoga as we know it in my country (more like a Pilates/yoga combo) but it was a workout and set the tone for the day.

There were a couple of things that were not ideal. First, the televisions were dated and the cable kept cutting out. Second, the management did not appreciate the employees and treat them with enough respect, in my opinion. On the whole, however, Hotel Zapata is an excellent choice in Boca Chica.

Room Tip: Early risers will appreciate a balcony room (except on Sat and Sun.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bktx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Overall great hotel. Everything was very clean, good food, right on the beach, good price. Apart from one or two all-inclusive resorts, it didn't look like Boca Chica was full of great hotels. Of all the places we saw walking around, I'm really glad we chose Hotel Zapata.

Room Tip: Not sure, it seems like you just need to decide how many people you need to sleep an whether or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a birthday weekend getaway. The hotel is located directly on the beach. The hotel is very clean. Hotel Zapata is equivalent to a Super 8 Motel. The staff is very friendly. There is security at the hotel at night. No one is allowed in without showing there room key. I had problems with locking my patio door and they fixed it. For those that are interested the television is dated and the hot water was scarce to say the least. They require a $50 security deposit which is refunded when they inspect the room at the time of checkout. You are allowed to bring a guest back to the room as long as I.D. is presented. Hotel Zapata is great for a long weekend getaway. The taxi ride is $30.00 from the hotel to the airport....... I recommend renting the jet skies on the beach. They are a little old but still fun to say the least. Have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey39Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I just got back from Boca Chica. My girlfriend had to cancel at the last minute and everyone told me to reschedule, as it's not the best place for a female to visit by herself, except maybe if you're in an all-inclusive. I am so glad I did not listen to them!

Hotel Zapata made sure I had the nicest 4 days. Both the staff and the owners are extremely nice and kept checking in to make sure I have everything I need. While they didn't think it was unsafe to go to the store or bank by myself, as soon as they saw my hesitation, they sent someone to walk me there and back. The hotel is on a beautiful beach, it is extremely clean, the food at the restaurant is great, as are the cocktails at the bar. You seriously can have your own personal long weekend retreat and never leave the hotel surroundings if you so choose. I am definitely going back, by myself or with others.

Just one note, if you like peace and quiet, the Dominican Republic may not be the place for you. Dominicans enjoy life and if you're around them you will hear them: the music, the dancing, the loud chatter. Don't go and complain of noise ;)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRaluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boca Chica hotels
0.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
0.2 mi away
Parco del Caribe
Parco del Caribe
#4 of 19 in Boca Chica
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
#9 of 19 in Boca Chica
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garant
Hotel Garant
#5 of 19 in Boca Chica
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#7 of 19 in Boca Chica
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Juan Beach Resort
Don Juan Beach Resort
#11 of 19 in Boca Chica
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zapata

Property: Hotel Zapata
Address: 27 Abraham Nunez, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zapata 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zapata is located in Boca Chica on the South Coast of the Dominican Republic. It is a small, family-run hotel that sits directly on one of the best beaches in the Carribbean. Customer service and enabling of a true Dominican experience are the hotel's hallmarks. Features: Las Americas Airport pickup, private balconies, apartments, wireless internet access, on-site restaurant with complimentary breakfast, beach bar, private beach area with loungers, cabanas & food & beverage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zapata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zapata Hotel Santo Domingo
Zapata Santo Domingo
Hotel Zapata Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing