We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unbeatable blend of culture & serenity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zapata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zapata
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Boca Chica
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An unbeatable blend of culture & serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We arrived to hotel Zapata late in the evening after a long day of travel an initially were not impressed with the room. It was very simple, with minimal accommodations. The next day we realized that what makes Hotel Zapata so special is not the room (nor does it need to be in a place like Boca Chica) - it's the view, location, privacy, and most importantly, the family feel and people. Mario, Roberto and Cristina were incredibly helpful and took time to get to know their guests and made tailored recommendations of where to go and what to see. All staff also took pride in maintaining a high level of customer service. As other reviews mentioned, it is also the only hotel where you can be right on the beach and feel the unique culture of Boca Chica, while enjoying tranquility and privacy. At hotel Zapata you will get a cultural experience in Boca Chica that can't be beat! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess_no14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    71
    31
    10
    19
See reviews for
32
65
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I had reservations at Coco Playa and when I got there it was a tacky dirty seedy dump! I found Zapata just two doors down and was thrilled to find how great it is. I first spent time in Santo Domingo and Punta Cana but really enjoyed staying in Boca Chica best. I just booked a flight back for November but this time I am going directly to Zapata and just enjoying the beach and a great Italian restaurant I found just a couple blocks away called Bella Naopli. The staff was great at Zapata and so is their security. I took one of the beachside rooms and loved it.

Room Tip: one of the beachside rooms will make you happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Such an amazing staff and friendly environment! Rooms were perfect, food was amazing and the beach view could not be more perfect!!! I would go back for sure for another trip! This hotel is a family and do so much for its community! A must stay!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoolue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hypoluxo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went with a group of 20, some young (17) some as old as 74. The staff at the Zapata couldn't have been more helpful even though most did not speak English! They were most receptive to all our needs. As for the hotel it is about the cleanest I've ever been in. We had our meals at the hotel and they were delicious and varied as well as substantial. The hotel is Quiet, clean, well kept and on the beach. If you want to get the flavor of the Dominican this is were you should go.
Upon our departure there was a mix up by the transport company ; instead of sending a bus they sent a van.(no way could we all fit into a van) The owner of the hotel quickly offered to help us out and drove the remaining four people as well as all our luggage to the airport. This was done without us even asking him! and at no expense to us. Can you believe it.?!
If I have the opportunity to return to the Dominican I would happily go to the Zapata

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What an amazing hotel experience! Twenty of us traveled here to do work with the poor in Boca Chica and Gautier and when we returned each day we were warmly greeted by an amazingly attentive staff, delicious local cuisine, immaculate grounds and rooms, hot showers, and serenity by the sea. Roberto, Cristine, Marta, and Mario deserve huge kudos for treating us like they would their own families. No request was unmet! We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor beachside suites were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The location of Hotel Zapata provides a cultural oasis in colorful Boca Chica allowing you numerous options to engage in local pursuits. The hotel provides a picturesque setting for a quiet retreat all within steps from the ocean. While the town and beach is bustling with vendors and activity, the beachfront grounds of the hotel remain a peaceful sanctuary. You have the luxury of blending in with the locals or relaxing in a hammock as a quiet observer. The food at the hotel restaurant was fantastic. I highly recommend the fish tacos! Wi-fi coverage in the common areas was good but not accessible from all guest rooms. The rooms in the main building were clean, quiet, and comfortable. In room A/C was more than adequate. I was traveling with a group and we all felt safe, secure, comfortable and right at home. The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. We were impressed by the managements' commitment to their guests, the local community, and their community outreach programs. The hotel provides the infrastructure for ordinary people to make a difference and get involved outside the veil of the tourist resorts. Early morning walks along the beach while watching locals train and do beachfront baseball drills was an outstanding way to start each day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereToNext89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My Mom, Cheryl was on a mission trip with a group of 20 amazing people from her church in Boynton beach area in Florida, the Church had put them up in this hotel while they helped the locals and children. I was so moved by my Mothers reaction to this hotel and surrounding areas that I had to write a review for her since at 60 something she is not a computer person,(obviously she is a people person since she was in DR paining houses and working with the local children) This hotel went above and beyond! The food was amazing and the staff was exceptional!
small and intimate, but well kept,clean and friendly.. I will be making a trip there soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mastercolorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boca Chica hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garant
Hotel Garant
#6 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parco del Caribe
Parco del Caribe
#4 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mango
Hotel Mango
#7 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Coco
Casa Coco
#9 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.4 mi away
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
NEPTUNO'S REFUGIO
#8 of 18 in Boca Chica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zapata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zapata

Property: Hotel Zapata
Address: 27 Abraham Nunez, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zapata 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Zapata is located in Boca Chica on the South Coast of the Dominican Republic. It is a small, family-run hotel that sits directly on one of the best beaches in the Carribbean. Customer service and enabling of a true Dominican experience are the hotel's hallmarks. Features: Las Americas Airport pickup, private balconies, apartments, wireless internet access, on-site restaurant with complimentary breakfast, beach bar, private beach area with loungers, cabanas & food & beverage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Zapata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zapata Hotel Santo Domingo
Zapata Santo Domingo
Hotel Zapata Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing