We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel l'Escale
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (844)
Filter reviews
844 results
Traveller rating
513
302
23
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
302
23
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschannel tunnelcap blanc nezcoast roadshort breaksea foodhave stayed here many timesadjoining restaurantsmall villagetea and coffee making facilitiesbooze cruiseeasy drivejean francoisrooms are comfortableone night staysuperior roomovernight staybread
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 844 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We’ve stayed at this hotel several times when doing a quick weekend trip to the Calais area. We are never disappointed. The rooms are always lovely and clean, the staff are always helpful, there’s a decent size car park, the breakfasts are excellent value, and the restaurant/bar across the road is good for a relaxing meal or drink. We love this little village and enjoy the coast walk to the monument or along the beach. It’s a weekend treat that we thoroughly enjoy. A great family run traditional hotel which is very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Popintops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have used this hotel on many ocassions when returning from France (having usually stocked up with wine and smoked garlic from Cite d'Europe) as it is very convenient for the tunnel, the beach and the Dover memorial. The hotel has an excellent room for disability impaired folk and easy access to rooms. There is an associated restaurant across the road that generally (not always) does good food. Cars can be securely parked in a barn (with nesting swallows) if this is required. The breakfast is fine except for the croissants which taste a bit odd.

Room Tip: There are small but busy roads nearby- can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed there a couple of times and it was lovely every time! Staff are really nice and helpful. We often stop by the bar to have a coffee, tea, hot chocolate or a glass of wine when we are on the way back to England. We have not yet eaten in the restaurant but it is on our "to-do-list"!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We return to this hotel every year at the end of our Summer holidays. Location is perfect for popping to the supermarkets to stock up on delicious food and drink before returning to the UK ....and is just 20 minutes from the Eurotunnel and 30 minutes from the ferry port - also within a fairly easy drive to explore Belgium and Brugge .
the owners remember us each time we return and are very friendly and helpful . Rooms are generously sized, clean and adequately furnished - A generous breakfast is served in the conservatory area of the main reception - and evening meals are served in the very busy restaurant across the road (if you have not booked half board with the hotel then a restaurant booking is vital - we have seen many people turned away !) The mainly seafood meals reflect its location .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Whether a shopping trip or a longer visit to France, this is a perfect hotel to start or end your trip. It's near Eurotunnel and only 20minutes to the Port of Calais. Part of the Logis de France operation, this charming hotel is family run and shows great care and attention to detail. The rooms are a good size with modern facilities and very well maintained and the TV picks up all the main UK TV channnels. The restaurant across the road is very good and breakfast in the morning is served in the main reception area and sets you up well for the day.

Room Tip: All rooms in main hotel are very good but a room in the new block is even better
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews