We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotely, Lovely Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in Surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotely, Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is great. We last stayed here in 2008 when the present owners had been in place for about a year. I organised a family gathering for 50 people and we were very well looked after.
Five years later, the hotel has only improved. Our room, the honeymooners, now boasts an enormous canopied bed, it has more than enough storage space and is large. The bathroom is superb with separate tub and excellent shower, twin handbasins and very good toiletries. Bathrobes, bath sheets and slippers are all provided. It was spotlessly clean and there are plenty of power points. Wi-fi is unlimited and free.
We dined in both evenings on a dinner b & b basis and the cuisine was first rate. My scallops were very good and fillet steak one of the best I have had the pleasure of consuming, tender and with a lovely flavour. The house Merlot was good and reasonable value. Breakfast was also good.
The attention to detail throughout the hotel is excellent and Tara and Nick are very friendly, helpful hosts. The only thing missing, that I can think of, was a room safe, but it is probably unnecessary.
The Fox and Hounds deserves 5 stars.

Room Tip: A superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate your every need and that you enjoyed yourselves so. I do hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    128
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
78
273
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Have Just come back after a few days break at this lovely hotel. We Took our dog , lovely walks, excellent food , staff could not have been more helpful. Will certainly return again . Can highly recommend this lovely peaceful hotel. The room was spotless and our little dog made very welcome . The barman gave her a doggy treat . Came away feeling refreshed. Had a treatment at the hotel , back and neck massage . Fab

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It's always great to hear that everyone (including four legged friends) are made to feel welcome. We are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
377 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked this wonderful and unusual room/house (?!) for a special anniversary.

As you walk up and can see it in the trees it is very impressive and the lit up pathway at night looks lovely.

A very warm welcome and supplies left (milk,bread,jam,oil etc.)

We were absolutely delighted with it. Wonderfully decorated throughout. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a while and I slept like a log. It also stayed warm which is something I was nervous about in March in UK!

Full of lovely touches like the wood burner, heater on the balcony, and spotlights around the bath.

My only small negative is that the sofa in the living room is not very comfortable for two people. Although, reading about how it was built it covers an awkward branch so there's not much that can be done about it! Perhaps bean bags?

I cannot fault this wonderful hideaway - absolutely perfect for a special occasion or just a relaxing break.

To add, correspondence prior to arrival was excellent.

Room Tip: Treehouse worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, General Manager at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you we are delighted with the feedback for Treetops and funnily enough our bespoke handmade cowhide giant beanbag arrives today (after 10 weeks wait!) so we will have some more comfy seating for future guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It's a simple review this one... a warm welcome on arrival, a nice warm room (often not the case in hotels) which was clean and nicely furnished but with paintwork in need of refreshing (mildewed window sills). Food on both nights was excellent, they have fine people both preparing the food and serving it, nice ambience in the restaurant, both nights thoroughly enjoyable. Being halfway between Exeter and Barnstaple it makes both north and south coasts of Devon easily reachable. On the north coast Porlock Weir and Lynmouth are a must as are the two private toll roads between them that hug the coast, a must for a car tour. Plenty of car park space near the hotel entrance... It's a more modern hotel than many but they've achieved a character within it which is very warm and welcoming, we'll go again. PS: the hotel dog is gorgeous I'd have happily taken him and have it put as an extra on the bill....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and you are quite right about the windows - in fact our painter is here all this week (the first quiet week we have had this year) and is remedying that very fault. We hope you are able to return to us very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My wife and i stayed here for 3 nights and were lucky enough to get upgraded to the honeymoon suite,after 38 years of marriage a bit late,lol. But what a pleasant surprise and what a suite,it is amazing and i can just imagine how a newly married couple would feel on entering this room a dream come true !
The hotel owners are lovely hard working people and could not set a better example to their staff
who were all pleasant and proficient in their jobs. The food is first class and the evening meal we had was as good as it is possible to get,breakfast too was of a very high standard and the choices available should suit even the pickiest out there.
Cleanliness again was to perfection throughout the hotel and grounds.
In my opinion i honestly could not fault any aspect of the Fox and Hounds and with the Devon school of fly fishing based here for me personally it was as good as it gets.
I can also recommend the fly fishing school as i had a guided trip with Lewis one of the guide/instructors,on one of the local rivers and as a pure river novice,under his tuition i came away having caught five.
To sum up as per title OUTSTANDING.
Paul and Susan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrDoo1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Paul and Susan, thank you for such lovely words. The upgrade was our pleasure and I am so pleased that we were able to help you relax and enjoy every aspect of the hotel whilst you were here. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all out staff. Perhaps we will see you again before the fishing season comes to an end?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great to be able to bring my dog along, she also likes a holiday. Food with service good. Room nice and large with comfortable bed, and large bathroom. Attentive staff for both myself and dog. Enough space in grounds to walk dog without having to get in the car. I had my first fly fishing (casting) lesson which added to the enjoyment. This is a bit off the beaten track, mainly for sporting clients. I was there early season, a bit too early to sit outside. My only down comment would be, nothing to do at the hotel, if you could not join in sporting activities or go walking.

Room Tip: back rooms have best view. New side room has large bath, large room and an exit near the fire escape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lorna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always nice to meet our guests and their four legged friends. Glad to hear you had a try at the fly fishing; season is up and running now so we are seeing a few more fisherman in and about. We would love to see you again at some point soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were married at this Hotel and loved every moment of it! Attention to detail was superb...everything was amazing! Our room (the Bridal Suite) was WOW!!!!! Love love love it and everything about the room, spacious and elegant. We also had the privilege of seeing all the other rooms as our family and guests stayed here too and every single room was and is gorgeous, immaculate and comfortable. We will be staying again soon and hope to stay in the new Tree House!!! Loved our stay, loved the rooms and adore the staff....thank you so much x

Room Tip: The family room on the ground floor is lovely with a patio and lots of space, although every room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TraceMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
It was so nice to share your day with you, we loved every minute! Glad to hear we will see you again soon; get the new family over from across the waters we would love to meet them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chulmleigh
5.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
560 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
483 reviews
17.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,054 reviews
5.3 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
20.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Property: Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the stunning Taw valley bordering the River Taw the hotel enjoys a beautiful location in the peaceful unspoiled Devon countryside. Great walks and an ideal location from which to explore a much loved area. We offer excellent quality food, comfortable accommodation and public areas with a Proper Devonshire welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Country Hotel Devon/Chulmleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing