We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've been staying in Devon a while now and have come across a few spectacular places. This is one! Lovely food, enjoyable area and comfortable atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, nice family place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

It is so nice to discover new places and I am delighted to learn you have found us and enjoyed it here so much. Let's hope it was the first of many visits to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the treehouse for a couple of nights and it surpassed our expectations. We didn't realise that it came with our own little garden area and BBQ. It was like having our own private campsite. Amazing. The treehouse balcony also had an outside heater. We didn't want to leave and I would recommend the treehouse to anyone. If I was being picky, then it would be nice to have some seats down by the BBQ and perhaps a table. This would make BBQing more sociable. Also, we arrived when there was a wedding which meant we couldn't easily eat in the hotel restaurant. This didn't really matter but it would have been good to have had a head's up beforehand.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. We are pleased you made the most of the BBQ area. We hope to see you back at some point soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed as a family of 4 in the newly created Treehouse in the grounds of the Fox and Hounds Hotel. Having seen the pictures on the hotel website we were ready to be impressed but reality was even better. This is extremely well designed and built with a fully fitted kitchen (Cooker, Dish Washer Fridge etc) a great bathroom (freestanding bath and separate shower), a good main bedroom and funky 'bunk' beds for the kids. There is also a small living area with TV (DVD+satellite) and a log burning stove, outside the main area is surrounded by a terrace and of course lovely countryside views.
If im being picky there could be more seating area in the living room as its a bit squashed, but ideally you will be outside on the balcony anyway.

All the family loved it, its not cheap! But as a special treat well worth the effort

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Martynjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

We are so glad you liked Treetops and had a lovely stay. Thank you for expressing your views and please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Everything was great about the hotel - from the super food, reasonably priced wines and helpful staff, to the lovely room with large patio.

Walkers - beware though of using the hotel-provided walks without seriously checking an OS map! We attempted Walk 7, which was meant to be 2'5 miles and due to now non existent footpaths (the maps are over seven years old we subsequently learnt, and never checked by current staff), ended up doing in the region of 7 miles. This was on a hot day when we'd taken a small bottle of water. Steep hills weren't mentioned, even the first one that you encountered before the official walk began!

Walk 1 was similar but not so incorrect - just failed to again mention steep hills, narrow, windy roads with speeding traffic and no footpaths. Not for the faint-hearted or to be considered with children.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms with a patio are excellent to sit in on warm days. Room 20 has the largest pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimM750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I just wanted to apologise for the difficulties you experienced with the walking guide - they are copied from the Tarka Trail guide so we will ensure they are checked and changed ASAP. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

An incredible experience in a really luxurious treehouse, where else would you find a krupps coffee maker and a dishwasher up in the trees....?? Attention to detail throughout was superb including the installation of a free standing copper bath in the bathroom. Absolutely loved how the light moved around throughout the day lighting up the rooms inside. Didn't want to leave, am not surprised there is such a long waiting list to hire this wonderful accommodation!

Room Tip: You'll sleep really soundly with the owls and wake up with all the birds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DPHPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

I am so pleased you are just as much in love with our treehouse as we are. If only we could all live in the trees!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay with travelzoo. The cost of the room we paid through them was very good value. The hotel Is set in a remote place with beautiful grounds. Our first impressions were very good. Entering the hotel we were met by a gentleman (sorry should of got his name) who was more than helpful and very friendly. He looked after us well all through our stay. Infact all the staff were excellent and credit to them all. The food they serve is excellent. Our evening meal was perfect and so was breakfast which was cooked to order and the produce the use was tasty. The only tiny bit if criticism I would add is you only get one piece of toast each! The room we had was spacious and well equipped with what we needed. The bathroom could do with some shelving to put your toiletries on though. The kettle in our room was a bit dirty on the outside. We had a lovely patio area from our room and was a real sun trap! If we were paying the full amount for the room at hotel rates I would of expected the patio area to be tidied up a bit.
Overall we had a lovely stay, with exceptional staff, lovely food, set in beautiful grounds. We will go back hopefully again in the near future

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Overall I am glad you enjoyed your stay so. We have taken your small points on board; thank you for highlighting them, hopefully we will be welcoming you back soon for a completely perfect stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 day break through Travelzoo. Hotel in the loveliest countryside with picturesque grounds and walks by the river. Our room was spacious and well equipped apart from the bed being rather hard and squeaky. Everywhere was very clean and all the the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.Dinner on the first night was excellent.
The hotel prides itself on breakfasts cooked to order but I would defy anyone to freshly cook bacon to produce anything as dried up as my husband had on both days. Having said that, my omelette and poached eggs were good. The supply of fruit was limited and there were no continental breads, pastries or cheeses.
I would certainly go again if there was a similar offer on at the time but probably not to pay full price.

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooks the lovely gardens but had rather a hard and very squeaky bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WAC188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words. The bed in room 5 has been re built (it's a 19th century French antique frame so we did not wish to change it) so hopefully next time you come your stay will be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chulmleigh
5.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
593 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
14.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,386 reviews
5.3 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
24.7 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Price Range: £67 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the stunning Taw valley bordering the River Taw the hotel enjoys a beautiful location in the peaceful unspoiled Devon countryside. Great walks and an ideal location from which to explore a much loved area. We offer excellent quality food, comfortable accommodation and public areas with a Proper Devonshire welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Hounds Country Hotel Devon/Chulmleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing