We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maison Les Remparts
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
13
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
13
2
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The hotel is in a different building to the restaurant, which is only important if it is raining!
Also, the restaurant is on the first floor so if you need wheelchair access meals are served either on the terrace (in summer), on the ground floor, or in the breakfast room in the hotel.

Bed and breakfast 93.50 euro plus a supplemnet of 7 euro for poached smoked haddock with a poached egg. A full English breakfast may also be ordered. They make their own sausages.

A comfortable room with an excellent shower room.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGavroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed here on our way through France from Italy. Owned by an English couple Veronica runs the hotel and Steve is the Chef.
I booked directly with the hotel on the telephone, which was confirmed by email. The hotel was full and the restaurant very popular.
We had pre-dinner drinks on the terrace along with several other diners.
There was a party of 8 from NZ and Aus who came just for dinner in the elegant restaurant.
Service was excellent as was the meal. My wife sent compliments to the chef for all courses.
The bedroom was comfortable and it had a large bathroom. I didnt use the pool, but it was open and available.
Gensac is a bit off the beaten track to the east of Bordeaux, and is only a small community, but if you want a charming place to stay it's worth the detour.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmwman995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed here as my son wanted to stay in a castle and we all loved it. Veronica and Steve are fantastic hosts. Steve is without a doubt a fabulous chef and we had the best food we ate in the whole of France at Les Remparts. Gensac is a little quite but plenty of little towns around to sight see and lots of wine to taste. Only a short drive to St Emillion.
We had planned to get out and eat at other places - but the food was just too good to miss out on. Fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy5S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Great place to stay, very friendly, amazing food. Room ok, but everything else excellent. Veronica and Steve always on hand with advice or suggestions. We really enjoyed our stay here. Steve does the cooking, and the food is amazing, by far the most tasty and consistent of our stay in the area. Gensac is well placed between St Emilion and Bergerac, and a good base for wine tasting.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This hotel is in a small village easily accessible from the Dordogne oir Bordeaux airport. Allow time to find it - the main street was closed with diversions when we went but knowing from other reviews that it was next to the church made it fairly easy to locate. This is a very quiet village off the tourist trail and elevated above a lovely valley and the hotel terrace takes advantage of the views. It was just warm enough for mad Englishmen to savour a drink on the terrace as the sun set but experiencing the first frosty nights of autumn.

Our room was small and basically furnished, but clean and comfortable with a good shower in the en-suite. Think of it as really a restaurant with rooms - do not miss dinner brilliantly cooked by Steve and one of the best meals we had all week. Starting with a refreshing amuse-bouche of grapefruit sorbet, we enjoyed each course from the choice on the set menu de terroir (the a la carte looked good too). Steve's confit de canard was definitely the best we have had. Service and atmosphere informal and friendly and it is definitely a place to return to.

Breakfast was simple and good and there didn't look to be any alternative in the small village, though we didn't investigate this. Breakfast should be ordered the night before.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews