We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“depressing low-end spa hotel”
Review of Devin Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devin Spa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Devin
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel gets a star for its good location in the city centre, but that's just about its only advantage. The WiFi didn't work the whole time we were there, our radiator had leaked all over the carpet causing an awful mildew smell (they did manage to fix the leak but didn't offer a new room) since it had obviously happened many times before. The breakfast was the worst of any hotel we stayed at in Bulgaria. We didn't try the pool because it was crowded with children splashing about, so under other circumstances that might be nice. Still, it seemed like your typical big business management completely out of touch with the needs of guests, assuming that everyone is there on a package (we were) and wouldn't be returning.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DavidE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having read the few reviews there were -after I had already booked the hotel - I was not encouraged! I was expecting a less than satisfactory stay and as such was planning to relocate after the first night. However, the reviews were mostly unjust in our experience. The hotel was certainly easy to find and our room afforded fantastic views from the fifth floor - higher than a nearby 'Sky Bar' at another hotel! The reception was modern enough and the staff exemplary in their helpfulness, and the outside restaurant terrace very sheltered and pleasing.
The room was what I would expect from any holiday hotel with a comfortable bed, enough space (how much time do you spend in your room on holiday?),and perfectly adequate shower room. The TV was tiny, but as we did not watch any TV this was not a problem.
The restaurant was as good as any I have been to for a vacation hotel. The food was fantastic:The trout I had was done beautifully. As for breakfast that was certainly better than many BG hotels I have stayed in. The selection was large and plentiful to cater for all tastes, although the coffee from the machine was not as good as I would have liked.
My wife and I both made use of the indoor pool, jacuzzi, and sun terrace, which was nice end to each busy day to relax before dinner.
We would have liked to have hired bicycles, bu t it was just too hot.
Devin has a great Eco-Trail out by the water factory. About a 7km round trip along the river and circling back over the hill and worth a half-day of any bodies time. Also worth visiting nearby are the Trigrad gorge, Yagodina cave and Shiroka Laka.
The Rhodopi Mountains are a great pace to visit, and Devin Spa Hotel is a great base to explore from.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Perhaps a 2.5 star property. I think it is the spa, officially referred to as the Balneaology Centre (which made me think of whales) that bumps up the star rating, though it may be self-awarded. There are a bunch of spa hotels to choose from around here. The Presenk up the road looks newer and grander. This hotel is centrally located, and serves the basic purpose. The restaurant food is nice and reasonably priced. Reasonable views of the valley from the top floor. Internet is free.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

You have to pay for spa services. Deffenetly not a 4 star hotel! Pool is not with mineral water. You have to pay for mineral watered pool. Does not have steam bath or turkish bath, has only sauna. Restaurant is not bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Spa hotel Devin is situated in a renovated old style (1980 - 90s) building in the Rodopi mountain, in the small but cozy town Devin. 360 degrees around you can see only mountains and forest - beautiful and refreshing. This region is famous for the hot mineral springs nearby and I guess they have some heeling capacities, because in the past, and to a certain extent nowadays - lots of people used to come just because of them and their heeling powers.
The hotel is ok for the proce they charge and is convenient for short family vacation as well as for group trainings / team buildings, but generally, the quality of the services is a lot worse than compared to my last visit, some 5-6 years ago and this time, I had the feeling that the hotel was understaffed and unprepared for our group of 80-90 people. Nothing too bad, just the feeling.
And.... I'd have removed a star from their 4 star rating... if a could...

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

the location is good in the center of the town, but the outdoor pool is small and in the road because everybody can see you. the rooms are not proper renoveted and especially the bathroom. the room had not balcony. some persons from the staff of the restaurant has not a adequate atitude.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arisiasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Very pleasant hotel situated in the beautifull Rhodopes.
Real termal water and quality spa procedures.
Very good food in the restaurant.

Room Tip: on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _nadiacherneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devin
0.1 mi away
Spa Hotel Persenk
Spa Hotel Persenk
#1 of 6 in Devin
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kris
Hotel Kris
#3 of 6 in Devin
12 reviews
16.5 mi away
Orlovetz Hotel
Orlovetz Hotel
#2 of 32 in Pamporovo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
The Stream Resort
The Stream Resort
#16 of 32 in Pamporovo
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Ismena Hotel Complex.
Ismena Hotel Complex.
#1 of 6 in Devin
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devin Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devin Spa Hotel

Address: Druzhba 2, Devin 4800, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Smolyan Province > Devin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Devin
Price Range: £32 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devin Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Overview* The 4-star Devin SPA Hotel is part of the Bulgarian Hotel Chain Sharlopov Hotels. Situated in the very heart of a natural phenomenon - the Rhodopean massif, at 710 m above sea level, in the center of the town of Devin, this is the perfect place for you to relax and indulge in pleasant recreation and cultural entertainment, or have your business meetings, seminars or company celebrations. The SPA Centre of the Hotel combines the unique therapeutic advantages of mineral water resources with the latest achievements of medical technology, offering perfect conditions for relaxation and recreation of both body and soul. *Rooms* The Devin SPA Hotel disposes of 8 cozy single rooms and 6 studio-type apartments. Each apartment and single room disposes of a terrace, air condition, satellite television, mini-bar, bathroom and hair-dryer. The rooms reveal fascinating panoramic sunrise and sunset view. The interior is entirely designed in warm green and red tones. The hotel disposes of 48 spacious double rooms. Half of the rooms are air conditioned. Each room offers satellite television, mini-bar, luxury bathroom with shower-cabin and hair-dryer. The rooms have eastern, southern and northern exposure and are stylishly furnished in the pastel tones of green, red and blue. The rooms are equipped with TWIN beds (two separate beds) and DBL (bedroom suites) and dispose of extensible sofas (suitable for the accommodation of a third person). Also, the guests staying in this type of room may be provided with a baby cot, which is presented upon preliminary request. *SPA & Wellness* Indoor swimming-pool with children's section, water fan, an air current and water jets; Jacuzzi; Thermal whirlpool; an outdoor whirlpool; Vichy bath; Pearl bath & Tangentor; Magnetic bath - chromo-and-music therapy; Beauty studio; Lye and mud therapy cabins; Darsonwall; Ultrasound; Electrotherapy; Vacuum therapy; Fitness; Vibro sauna; Sauna; Solarium. *Balneology* The modern balneotherapy centre in Devin SPA Hotel uses mineral water from Bedenski mineral spring. According to specialists, this mineral water is suitable for prevention and treatment of different diseases of the lоcomotor system and cardiovascular system, as well as functional disturbances of the nervous system. Chemical composition of the mineral water used in Devin SPA Hotel: K 25 mg/l Mn 0.07 Mg/l Na 400 mg/l Cd 0.005 Mg/l Ca 61 mg/l Al 0.50 Mg/l Mg 10 mg/l F 5.5 Mg/l Li 1.44 Mg/l Cl 52 mg/l Sr 1.18 Mg/l SO4 311 mg/l Pb 0.05 Mg/l HCO3 736 mg/l Cu 0.05 Mg/l PO4 1.6 Mg/l Zn 0.05 Mg/l H2SiO3 126 mg/l *Services* While staying in the hotel the guests have at their disposal a bank office, where they can change money, transfer money and receive money orders; an electronic casino; Internet center; laundry, dry cleaning, ironing; safe; 24-hour secured parking lot. Devin SPA Hotel organizes trips around Devin. The area is extremely rich and offers a great variety of tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devin Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing