We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant lost its way”
Review of Hotel La Verrerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Verrerie
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gaillac
Reviewed 3 March 2014

the Hotel has changed ownership, where the restaurant was superb we have been
many times , it has now changed staff and owners are running it, used to be difficult to get in, now on wed last only 4 persons, menu changed to buffet with three difficult dishes very badly cooked ,on offer it has lost its trade, and again large dogs roaming onto the restaurant . it needs to up its
standards and employ a proper chef to retain what good trade it had.
We will not be returning, what a shame to a previous good restaurant we had patronized as ex pats for fourteen years

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloudybay356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

l stayed at this hotel for two nights this week (january 2013) The things that l did not like : Big dogs wandering around and in the hotel......they are very friendly but l do tend to beware a bit. The reception was fine.........but going to the room the carpet is filthy and full of stains, and the floorboards creak like.........The room was ok, except for holes in the carpet all over.big ones ! ! over 20 cm² ! ! which really put one off walkig barefoot ! The curtains do not close and one was half off the support, that is ok if you do not mind early daylight. the air venting over the bath stuffed with rags or such.! not really sure why. And the basic breakfast at a cost of eleven euros , which l find over the top.
The good points would be that the bed is really comfortable; the hot water comes through quickly, and the setting is good. A nice park , and only a five minute walk into the center of town. Good private parking...
Probably worth the cost if you get one of their special offers going through price compariteurs.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Lovely building well located for the center of Gaillac - BUT - dirty lothes from previous guest(s) still in wardrobe - noisy extract fan running all night and dog poo on the carpet on the first floor corridor - need I say more - UGH!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I have stayed twice in the hotel due to its proximity to a work visit. My lack of French was treated with disdain by the front desk. During an otherwise excellent meal, My comment on a poorly executed muse bouchée was responded to by telling me that "it was my opinion." In need of food after a long flight from the US, I was rattled at in French by a staff member that new a reasonable level of English. After, some begging for a pontomine of the directions to an open restaurant, I received a couple of motions with hands indicating some sort of directions. Upon checkout the next day the same staff member spoke English to my travel companion. If you must stay in Gaillac and don't speak much French try the other two star hotel.

Stayed: February 2012
3  Thank Jiminsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Went for the' last night of a holiday' nice family meal out, and it was worse than poor. We were seated outside, pretty building, nice surroundings, which all augered well, but in hindsight we should have left fairly quickly. Stale peanuts with drinks. Table not wiped. Neighbouring table eating nice looking course, whichon asking, we were told was off the menu. I ordered a starter, which comprised 2 large cooked prawns on a bed of unexciting salad greens, tucked into a large bamboo cane. On asking for aioli or mayonnaise, I was told they had none! My main course of scallops came with a side order of tired looking peas and courgettes, which on closer inspection revealed scraps of lamb. Scraps????.................... Pudding provided the only light relief in an exceptionally poor meal, poor service from glum staff. Too expensive for a poor/mediocre meal. Don't bother.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahSeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

France has an awful lot of Hotels, but few are as good as La Verrerie. I've just returned from my third visit and I really cannot recommend it too highly. Great rooms, friendly hospitable staff and the best restaurant in town, what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bowbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tetelle95veget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaillac
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Occitan
Hotel L'Occitan
#1 of 5 in Gaillac
41 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Salettes
Chateau de Salettes
#1 of 1 in Cahuzac-sur-Vere
175 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel La Metairie
Hotel La Metairie
#1 of 3 in Cordes-sur-Ciel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Le Domaine Du Green
Le Domaine Du Green
#1 of 1 in Rivieres
47 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alchimy
Alchimy
#1 of 26 in Albi
206 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Albi Terssac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Verrerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Verrerie

Address: 1 rue de l Egalite, 81600, Gaillac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Gaillac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gaillac
Price Range: £82 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Verrerie 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel La Verrerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing