We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Mayragues
Nearby Hotels
Hotel L'Occitan(Gaillac)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau de Salettes(Cahuzac-sur-Vere)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Des Consuls(Castelnau-de-Montmiral)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
ibis Budget
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
15
5
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
5
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastinganglo frenchthe ownerchateaufeelingnaturesettingheartwinerycentury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Only a few words required for this venue.

It is peaceful, tranquil, stunningly beautiful Chateau with a vine yard on your door step with some fantastic wine especially the sparkling and reds - worth a visit for these alone.

The owners are very friendly and helpful.

A visit you will not be disappointed with!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandydon1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This is a beautiful and peaceful location in Southern France, convenient to much of what is known as the Golden Triangle. Convenient to many wineries and medieval cities. We arrived late in the evening after a long day and flight, and were warmly greeted. We enjoyed some of the wine produced on the premises in front of a roaring fire. The room was clean and comfortable - very quiet and relaxing. Breakfast was wonderful. This somewhat undiscovered region is sure to become more popular as people discover all it has to ofeer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

First a little background on how we ended up at Mayragues. We wanted to be in the south of France, and visit places like Albi and Cordes, but not stay where the tourist crowds were. So the Gaillac area seemed like a great spot. I read the Tripadvisor review (the only one) from 2008 and it sounded great. If you are looking for rustic, elegant, charming, different then this is the place for you. It only has 2 bedrooms, and they are a climb up 1000 year old stone stairs. The rooms are beautifully appointed with extremely tasteful furnishings, nice touches (things like linen sheets) and comfy beds. Alan runs the organic vineyard which happened to be harvesting while we were there, and just so happened to be bottling the 2009 harvest as well, so we sampled straight from the barrel. His wife Laurence is in charge of the B&B. Everything she did was first class. Breakfast was fabulous, and included fresh eggs from free range chickens (but only when they produce), fruit, pastries to die for, great coffee/tea, all in a setting that takes you way back in time. We stayed for 3 nights and walked through their vineyards, watched the grape harvest, enjoyed their wine with cheese from local farmers, hiked the local trails with the help of the fabulous French maps for hikers they had on hand, plus did sightseeing to Albi to see the Toulouse Lactrec museum, and the hilltop bastide towns of Cordes, Penne and Puycelsi. They had wireless internet set up which worked extremely well so we were able to stay connected and research local info for the next day. The one thing you will need to do is figure out your meal strategy - restaurants are a bit of a drive, and there really aren't any local stores to speak of -- you are out in the country, for sure. It was hard to find them on TripAdvisor as they do not have a formal listing (while we were there a letter from TripAdvisor arrived suggesting they register for 85 Euros a month - for a 2BR B&B that is way out of reach - note to TA, cut them a break). So here is their web site so you can contact them directly: http://www.chateau-de-mayragues.com/. This is a very special place, and we loved every minute of our time there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bothfeld_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2008

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay in Gaillac for a few days to "forget" my 60th birthday! We wanted to be on a small, traditional and relatively unknown vignoble and chose Gaillac because this was the week of its "Primeur". One look at Alan and Laurence's website convinced us that this was the place. The reality is even better than the website. This semi-fortified, medieval chateau has been lovingly restored over the last 25 years by the Geddes who also manage their own organic and bio-dynamic vineyard. The two guest rooms are right at the top of the chateau with bathrooms en suite. Breakfasts are served in the baronial dining hall downstairs in front of a monumental fireplace. The Gaillac area (a wine area under the Romans long before Bordeau was heard of - in fact Bordeau vine stock came from here!) is full of small independent wine producers, hill-top medieval villages and plenty of places to visit, including the Toulouse Lautrec museum in Albi.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews