We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swamped Staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bois Joly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bois Joly Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crozet
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Swamped Staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I went to the restaurant in a party of five just after it opened for the afternoon. We were the first few people there. We ordered some fondue with bread and potato fries that they claimed was good for at least a minimum of 2 people. At first the service was ok, but after more people started coming the waiters seemed to forget about us, not even bringing us our food that we had ordered well before anyone else. So for about an hour or so all we had to eat was a pot of fondue and a couple of chunks of bread. Two other people had ordered the 'Menu du Jour' which came in several parts; salad, entree, and dessert. In the end, the 'Menu du Jour' only came with salad and entree, since they never remembered to bring the dessert. However, the waiters apologized and returned our money for the dessert. After this experience, I think I've decided I don't really enjoy fondue.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Espana_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
17
11
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were there last WE (16/09/13) for the father's day. Obviously because of this great and sunny WE the restaurant was full on terrace.
Luckily we had booked a table. Overall food I would say good. Puffed crayfish, Prosciutto and melon, Lamb and Sea bream were the plates we asked for. Asking the table what they though of the plate all were positive and me too :). Accompanied with a great red and white wine ( we are quite fund of this) the lunch was over the average.
Remember this more likely a family place. Do not go there for high value restaurant or gastro service. I can say that for the expenses, it is worth the service. An knowing Geneva being an expensive area, honestly you do not lose.and it is good!
Working in the MICE domain (conferences and meeting) and in Tourism domain, I have asked to visit the rooms. Giving me four set of keys, I have to say that all rooms by 99% were perfectly set. They have just redone the rooms and they have all what you need. But mostly have showers and not bathtube.
One thing it will be hard to beat is the view from the terrace of the restaurant and from the rooms. A beautiful view on Geneva's valley and lake.
a hint.... perfect for viewing the famous Geneva's fireworks in August.

Room Tip: Say you are coming on behalf of Gerald Howard ;) from St Genis :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Confmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
393 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I go to the area reasonably regularly...this is the best food I have found so far...the interior is not great but the mountain view is fab.

I had snails....they were fine...I just like having them...I know you can't taste much for all the butter, parsley etc but I have fun.

My main course was sole meunière...it was very good even if a little on the small size.

However, the profiteroles were poor...infant they were not profiteroles at all...it was a bowl of choux pastry balls, some ice cream and some spray cream...not what I expected in France.

Also, the pepper sauce for the steak was overpowering and I think it was made with powder stock...

We spent €250 for 4....not exactly cheap but we spent €50 on a bottle of wine...house wine would have been fine....we know for next time...we will return...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This hotel was very good in parts but performed much less well in some areas. "Average" doesn't really describe it well - because the good was good. The bedroom was good and the bathroom excellent and looked very new. The views were stunning, with the sunrise over the Mont Blanc range while eating the very good self-service breakfast outstanding. The food in the hotel was very good. So what was wrong? Well, the service in the restaurant was brusque and perfunctory. We had to ask three times to have our water carafe re-filled. When we arrived, on a Sunday evening, there was, as we had been told, nobody at reception. We had been told where to find the key and that was fine. But there rarely was anybody at reception and the whole atmosphere was very impersonal. There are no real common areas to meet friends, have a drink etc. The location is excellent for the skiing.

Room Tip: You definitely need a room overlooking the front of the hotel and the view to the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broad6bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

The menu is reasonable and the service is excellent. If the weather is nice, one can enjoy a beautiful view. There is a big parking in front of the hotel/restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mloz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We have been coming to the Bois Joly in Crozet for the last ten years and have always had a really good stay here. The hotel's location on the slope of the Jura mountain range, right at the edge of the forest means that you get a spectacular view of the entire Geneva valley with the lake and the Alps crowned by Mont Blanc (ask for a room at the front of the hotel, most are anyway, but best be sure). Crozet is within easy reach of Geneva, best by car (15 minutes from the border) or taxi. The restaurant offers excellent French dining, with local specialities thrown in, all at a very good price. You will find that the restaurant is frequented by locals mostly which always is a good sign. The hotel is also in easy walking distance close to the cable car in Crozet, which will whisk you up to the top of the Jura for more stunning views and nice walks in summer and for skiing and sledging in winter. On the downside the hotel is basic, in that there is no gym or swimming pool, but if you stay at such a location, why not go for a walk instead? The staff are very friendly and helpful. All in all the Bois Joly gives you 5 star location, 5 star restaurant and 5 star views at a 2 star price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreskruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crozet
1.0 mi away
Jiva Hill Resort
Jiva Hill Resort
#1 of 2 in Crozet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis St Genis Pouilly Geneve
Ibis St Genis Pouilly Geneve
#1 of 4 in Saint-Genis-Pouilly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Saint Genis Pouilly
Premiere Classe Geneve - Saint G...
#2 of 4 in Saint-Genis-Pouilly
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Business Park Hotel
Business Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thoiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kyriad Geneve - Saint Genis Pouilly
Kyriad Geneve - Saint Genis Poui...
#3 of 4 in Saint-Genis-Pouilly
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Auberge des Chasseurs
Auberge des Chasseurs
#1 of 1 in Echenevex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bois Joly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bois Joly Hotel

Property: Bois Joly Hotel
Address: Rt de telecabine, 01170 Crozet, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Crozet
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crozet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bois Joly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bois Joly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing