We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, peaceful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinnakanal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Del Fauno - TOLINS Holidays
Ranked #5 of 16 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was one of our favorite places we stayed in India. Sitting on the porch with a cup of tea and biscuits and a book in the afternoon was heavenly. Food and service was great. Very comfortable rooms with great attention to detail - e.g., new flower arrangements on the table for each meal. If you ask, they will take you on an evening walk through the cardamon and tea plantations that are part of the property.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place was certainly the highlight of our vacation. It was everything that we wanted it to be. Anoop and his staff greeted us and instantly made us feel welcome. He showed us to our room which was beautiful. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was the cleanest that we have seen on our entire trip. The bed was soft and comfortable.

After a relaxing day enjoying the views, Anoop took us on a very long hike through the local area. I think he overestimated my personal physique and assumed that I could hike up the side of a rock face!!! The views and experience was certainly well worth the work, however. We were treated to a wonderful lunch which was far too large for us to finish.

There was a constant supply of complimentary tea, snacks and water. The dinner meals were also excellent and romantic. Even when my wife fell ill (due to unrelated circumstances) the staff did everything in their power to help us feel comfortable.

During our stay, there were wild elephants in the area. We didn't get a chance to see them but apparently it was for the best. They are reportedly quite dangerous! Watch out!

We would not hesitate to recommend this place to others and would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good accommodation, but not great. The rooms on the main house are not ideal as their noisy from the common area and the two cottages further down are a bit of a hike so as long as that works for you great. We stayed at the furthest cottage which was great and had private patio. However, power did shut off a few times only in our cottage and the shower water heater runs out after a single shower. The food was also rather average. The location is beautiful and they did take us on a nice and pleasant walk. View form patio is breath taking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cchen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here in Oct for 2 nights. The views from the hotel are breathtaking! We were overwhelmed by the manager's hospitality. He accompanied us on 2 great walks in the local area and educated us on the local flora.

I disagree with the other reviewers about the beverages. There was delicious tea or coffee available whenever you wanted and they sent a driver to get whatever drinks you requested, which were charged at cost plus the price of the tuk tuk. We enjoyed beer with our dinners! The food was healthy and delicious and served in a relaxing ambiance.

Our room had a great view- it was clean and simply decorated, with a warm cosy duvet! I cannot recommend this place highly enough- we wished we had another day there!

Room Tip: We has the room in the main bungalow with the terrace which had amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Amazing views of the hills located about an hour from Munnar. Simple clean and friendly but not up to standard compared to other places we stayed on our trip to India. The food was very simple and the lack of beverages disappointing. No soft drinks at all only water to drink with our meal and the coffee was terrible. A cross between a basic hotel and a homstay. But the mountain scenery and walking in the tea plantation makes up for the lack of service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank packedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed a couple of nights as a base for a tea plantation trek / visit. Hosts are welcoming, simple room with ensuite in a bungalow, main house tastefully decorated. Parties dine separately as full board given location. Great chicken biryani, followed by a keralan vegetarian meal the next night. Enjoyed walk round cardamon plantation with host. Not suitable for disabled as steep steps down to accommodation. Had breakfast on terrace one morning but couldn't appreciate the view due to cloud.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived after a bumpy, twisty drive from Munnar, with stunning views en route. The Casa is off the "main" road and was very quiet when we were there. It is small, quite simply but artistically furnished and very comfortable with a small, young, exceptionally hospitable staff. The view from the terrace over the surrounding countryside is quite breathtaking. They asked what we liked to eat and we had very good meals, evening, lunch and breakfast while we were there., although I think we could have been more adventurous. We should have asked what was available - there was an Indian family who had different and possibly more interesting food, but we still enjoyed ours. We were taken for a long, interesting walk through the cardamom and tea plantations that surround the Casa by one of the staff, someone who had grown up in the area so knew it well.. He was very informative, his English was excellent and he was obviously very enthusiastic about the area. We saw elephant prints, but no elephants, although there obviously are some in the area so you could be lucky. Some reviews have suggested that a day trip to Munnar is possible. Our itinerary had that, but we stopped there on the way to Casa del Fauno instead and we were glad we did because we had the whole of the next day free to relax and to explore the surrounding area. We felt that was a far better use of our time, relaxing in such lovely surroundings rather than enduring a long bumpy return trip to Munnar.

Room Tip: We had a good room in the main house, with a window that opened out on to the garden. Didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chinnakanal hotels
1.1 mi away
Sterling Munnar
Sterling Munnar
#6 of 14 in Chinnakanal
904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain Club Resort
Mountain Club Resort
#1 of 14 in Chinnakanal
618 reviews
1 mi away
Club Mahindra Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar
#3 of 14 in Chinnakanal
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 14 in Chinnakanal
610 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#4 of 14 in Chinnakanal
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Heaven Munnar
Holiday Heaven Munnar
#11 of 14 in Chinnakanal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Fauno - TOLINS Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Fauno - TOLINS Holidays

Address: Chinnakanal 685618, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range: £50 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOLINS Casa Del Fauno is a hillside boutique homestay located in Munnar surrounded by Kannan Devan Hills. Our charming country home is situated amidst a working cardamom plantation. In God's Own Country you have many exciting reasons to chill out. Visiting this enchanting tourist spot will let you unwind and rejuvenate your weary mind and body. Make a date with the nature and experience the difference! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Fauno - TOLINS Holidays Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing