We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Resort to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Located at very calm and peaceful place, Mountain Club is a worthy place to stay.
I chose this place for my Honeymoon. Decently maintained, Individual English Style Cottages are the USP of this Resort. Prompt Service and Cleanliness can also be termed as synonymous to this place.Food was very tasty and offered a vast variety in terms of its buffet items.This whole resort is situated on a mountain (i.e. it has been termed Mountain Club Resort) thus Cab service has been provided by Resort for pick/drop for food/gym/swimming pool/club, etc.
Small but Clean Infinity Pool also adds to the beauty of the Buffet Layout.
Service of Housekeeping is very Prompt. Although located, a little bit away from main city of munnar but still i would rate Mountain Club Resort with 5 Stars.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaurav_Tyagi_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had visited in June 2012. It was a great experience and was a pleasant stay. Very nice Service provided. There are many Arabian Visitors there and hence the menu for the food was targeted to please them. They should consider that there are Indian tourists as well and the menu should also please them. Their manager has informed me that they will take this feedback in consideration, but someone who is fond of food in their trips should take this in consideration.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murtaza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

One of the best locations in munnar! Huge, well maintained property, with all amnities. Good variety of food too. All cottages are on a slope, so each has a very good valley view.
Only problem is little far from Munnar town, so a private vehicle is a must. Rest is really good with good ayurvedic massage and other facilities

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maulikparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Amazing experience with stay at mountain club resort.... good food... excellent rooms..... and above of all a smiley face staff for all hospitality..... a resort which makes me return back to hills of munnar.... Keep it up :) Cheers....

And above of all Thanks to Intersight my local travel agent for Kerala destination who recommended this resort..... :)

Room Tip: any rooms you point its excellent..... be prepare to be in the middle of nature not luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravinetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Even though it has been downgraded by many reviewers on Tripadvisor, I will strongly recommend this beauty to young couples for the most romantic setting they can ever have. Firstly this is not the usual 5star hotel. This hotel has no rooms, it has individual cottages with a private verandah and gardens. Cottages on the upper side provide you breathtaking views of the lake beneath and the never ending mountains on the horizon. Its not exactly in Munnar, almost 25 KMs away but yet lot better than commercial hotels in Munnar and certainly better than Club Mahindra which is adjacent to Mountain Club. Club Mahindra only provide you small rooms and view is only afforded by members..so no point opting for a more expensive hotel for less.
Mountain Club - Things that I liked
1. Location & Views - Views are beautiful, my room was the uppermost one and me and my wife were just sitting in our balcony exchanging sweet nothings and having a great view of surrounding coffee/tea plantations, lakes and mountains.
2. Restaurant and Swimming Pool - Restaurant offers such a great views and the infinity pool outside add more charm to the overall setting. I dont know how many people use the pool in munnar temperatures but its very picturesque. Having dinners by the poolside is heavenly.
3. Food & Service - Food was excellent on all 3 days we stayed there. Siju is a fantastic captain and was there to help all the time.
4. Cottages - There was a fireplace which was must in chilly December. The unique thing about the cottages here is they are so big. We had a cottage which had 2 full size bedrooms with King Beds, one living room with a separate space for TV & dining table. Wish this much space would have been there at my house.

Things that can be improved
1. There should be more lights at night in the property. Some lights were dysfunctional during our stay.
2. Since we were close to restaurant we never had a problem of commuting from our cottage but for others whose rooms were at the bottom side of the hill..its a small trek everytime u need to come to reception/restaurant/pool. There has to be a shuttle service. keep in mind this is a VERY VERY big hotel.

But try this place and you will surely have best time with your partner. Elderly couples and handicap patrons should avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I have found this place through the internet and thanks to the well-maintained website, I have zeroed on this place for my honeymoon at Munnar for 3 nights/4 days in May 2012

The room we have opted is a hill-view cottage that has breaktaking views of the mountains, its so good to be there since you wake up to see the dew drops and the fog spread over the place. The cottage was very well maintained and room service was very prompt and I should say the staff was very courteous.

The next important part is the restaurant which is not so plush looking but the food is definetly one of the best Indian dinners I have ever had while travelling. Be sure to check out the sumptous semya kheer and gazar halwa that metls in your mouth from the desserts section.

To sum up, Mountain Club deserves a strong 5.5 rating from me for the experience I will always remember.

Room Tip: Request for the cottage facing the dam view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shetty p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I fully agree with Aisha A and Pankaj on the reviews they have given. Absolutely the same with me also. The excellent location of the resort "complimented" with the bad rooms, bathrooms, food makes it best to be avoided.

We were 2 families for 3 days in this resort but our impression of the resort immediately had a set back when we entered this resort. We had one bedroom cottage. The bed was too small and as rightly said was meant for "loving couples" only. It was difficult to adjust our 5 yr old daughter onthat bed. There was cockroach below our pillow and mosquitoes everywhere welcoming us. We had to order for All Out after which we tried to sleep. No A/C and only fan made it all the more difficult. Bathrooms are also very small and once anybody takes a shower, the whole bathroom gets wet and they have no mat outside the bathroom. So have to live with that.The toiletries were "third class". We never dared to use any of the shampoos or so called conditioners. The power goes off every now and then and when the generator is on, the tv channels go off as they donot have "compatibility factor" with the generator. The TVs are old fashioned big domed 21" which are almost rare to see in today's time. The furniture is bad. dirty and tiring. Even the door lock is the 7-lever type Godrej style with earl system. The food doesnt taste good. The land of spices, Kerala, has this resort with food with no taste. Its just that u r 22 kms out of Munnar so u have to fill ur stomach with that only. The timings are odd, no breakfast after 9:30 am and even during this time u have to make several requests to get the food, as the refills in buffet dont come. There is not much to do in this resort. The walk to the restaurant / reception is very steep especially when u r placed at rooms much closed to the entrance of the resort. They had only one Maruti Eeco to be used as shutle service and with the food timings too restrictive, one has to wait for long for transfers during these hours. No cleanliness in the resort/ restaurant/ pool area. These three days were really nightmare for us. We were also shocked to see "Tripadvisor" awarding 3.1/2 stars to this resort ( which they have pasted on the reception entrance) and immediately then we decided to post our "horrible" experience of this resort on this site as to how and on what parameters are these stars awarded.

My sincere "appeal" to all the readers and travellers that please donot waste your money on this resort. This is not a cheap resort to stay but "cheap" in many other ways.

The only good view I would like to mention is the services of "Aneesh" at restaurant who catered to all our food demands with smile. Thanks Aneesh once again( if ever u read this)

Room Tip: DONT stay in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VPT1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
603 reviews
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#11 of 15 in Chinnakanal
188 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
745 reviews
0.9 mi away
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: £82 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing