We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Though some 20 odd kms. from Munnar, this place is in the best of location and view.The cottages are really very good .The pool and the games room are also up to the mark,although only TT and carom was free.The restaurant serves good veg . food with a good variety in B/F and dinner buffet specially the desserts which were pure veg.The Chef Mr. RANJIT would personally supervise and would make our requested dishes.The whole staff was very helpful.Overall our stay at mountain club was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: if going with family always take a 2 room cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anoops61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    125
    54
    16
    16
See reviews for
160
123
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I had gone to Mountain Club with my friends for only one night and we had a lovely time.

The cottages were very well maintained. Good clean and spacious enough.

The food too was excellent, a lovely buffet spread of both Kerela and North Indian cusine. The staff were very attentive and courteous.

We had time to take an ayurvedic massage which I would reccommend to a weary traveller as its really rejuvenating after a long journey with so many hair pin bends from Cochin yo Munnar.

They also have an infinity pool where you can unwind , the only drawback being that its near their dining hall so there is no privacy.

For those who are over weight.....well there is lots of climbing to do as the rooms are at different levels on the hill side. They take your luggage up to your rooms which is a God send. If you go in for an ayurvedic massage they take you down to the place in a golf cart and back to the lobby.

Overall its an ideal place for honeymooners.

Room Tip: All their cottages are well located and you get a beautiful view of the valley or the mountain range...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venita_lancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is one of the best property to stay though some 22 KM from Munnar town. And I would say that this distance makes the place quiet, more close to nature and beautiful. We had requested room above the reception and thank the hotel for alloting the best locational room which gave perfect view of the lake / valley and being close to the dining area. If travelling with family, take their two bedroom cottage which has a living area and gives a homely feeling. Buffet has wide spread both for breakfast and dinner out of which, breakfast is good. Staff are courteous, they have free cab service between rooms and dining.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhurN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
293 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 754 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Well, Mountain club is one of the good places to stay in Munnar. This resort is built on the side of a very steep hill and that means walking from the gate to the reception, which is at almost the top of the hill, is a no no. Thankfully they have a cab service, the driver of which seemed to think himself has aF 1 driver, albeit on hilly roads.

The rooms are nice and spacious. They do have a warm feeling of home. There is a fireplace but that was not operational during our stay. The staff are warm, though the spread of this resort makes quick room service a difficulty. Nevertheless, they did try their best.

The food at the in house restaurant was the only black spot. It was not good and waiters seemed to care less.

This resot is quite far away from town, so if you intend staying here please plan on having a car at your disposal.

Room Tip: Rooms which are higher than the reception area have a view of the lake. None of the other rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmitJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The property is excellent. Wonderful individual cottages, very peaceful. The staff is very friendly. The pool is good but to my surprise it was closed when I had checked in around Holi. The food was much below average but the service at the restaurant was good. Breakfast was decent . The "Honeymoon" Cottage - there is an small TV in the room, No view from the bed room as it is in the basement. The chef seems to be making some odd combination experiments resulting in making the dish a mess.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

The property is fantastic. Wonderful individual cottages. Very calm and peaceful. The staff are very friendly. They have a good ayurvedic massage centre. The inifinity pool is a little on the smaller side though. However , this is the only resort in munnar with a pool. The food is good with a decent breakfast and dinner buffet. The only problem is that its about 20kms from munnar town and other places of interest , but then again, the drive is totally worth it. Would definitely recommend this place for anybody visiting munnar. Ideal place for couples looking for a good honeymoon getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Munnar is a beautiful location; however my honeymoon experience at this hotel was really bad:
1. The "Honeymoon" Cottage - looks old and unkempt - paints are half done, there is an old/small TV in the room, NO VIEW
2. Bedroom- is in a dark dingy basement with no view (munnar is beautiful and they really did not do justice to the place at all), the bed had the big dent, and again the paints were not done, there is only 1 power plug that had the mosquito repellant so where are you supposed to plug in anything like a phone charger
3. Bathroom - was soo small could barely fit a person, the bucket was dirty and soap scum in the dispenser as show in the pics, oh and the hot water stopped in 1 minute both times while I was showering (shampooing my hair) and for my husband as well.
4. The management - was rude when we asked for a change in room they didnt even try to accommodate our needs - they just said we are full.
5. Food - was ok
6. View from the pool was good
Overall - would not recommend this resort. We were so disappointed that we left the second day even though it was already paid for and found a different place to stay in. For the amount I paid for the room - NOT WORTH IT

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_2132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 13 in Chinnakanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
9.8 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Property: Mountain Club Resort
Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing