We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tamarind Kerala Fam Trip-2014"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“"Tamarind Kerala Fam Trip-2014"”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wonderful Location surrounded in the top of Munnar, Each villa has a big living cum dinning lower part has the bed room and the wash room, Big infinity pool facing the forest, staff are highly friendly, do have 2 bed room villa for bigger family, worth paying

Room Tip: Good for Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohamedMeeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    138
    56
    16
    16
See reviews for
217
136
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvalla, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It was our honeymoon trip. We stayed there for four days. The place is simply awesome. Our cottage consisted of two bedrooms both attached with bathrooms. The view from the upper bedroom is simply awesome especially early in the morning. We could see a portion of anayirankal dam from the balcony. There was a living area with settee-type bed and dining table. The rooms are clean,well furnished and airy. We got a bed decorated with flowers and a candle light dinner as a part of our honeymoon package. There is a pool beside the restaurant area. It was great fun swimming in the pool. We also did spa from the resort. The food from the restaurant was really mouthwatering.The service from the staffs is also worth mentioning. We liked this resort very much. Altogether it was a wonderful experience. We are looking forward for our next visit.

Room Tip: Upper cottages have awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubzKittu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a great experience in Mountain club. The best thing about the resort is food. Their room plans include breakfast and dinner and moreover it taste great. One of the best buffets in Munnar. The rooms are good. Altogether had a very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amruth30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The resort is quite well located and offers a stunning view of the mountains and lake. The property is beautiful from within. The bedrooms in cottages are small, but come with a separate living room. Take a room that offers a good view of the valley, and you wouldn't complain. The gym is well-equipped too. The only thing that leaves one somewhat disappointed is the food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karanArjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at the Mountain club for 2 nights during our visit to Munnar last October. The hotel is quite far from the city center but the views it offers are well worth the extra distance. The reception and the upper level cottages are at quite a climb from the main gate so keep your car around.

We were a group of 4 and were put up in one of their cottages towards the top. It was a Duplex cottage with 2 different levels and a living room. The room on the upper level had a small balcony with seating and the most wonderful view of the valley and a stream in the distance. The room at the lower level also had an outside seating area but the view was blocked by the cottage in front. Both the rooms had independent bathrooms and offered full privacy (being on different levels). Only one of the bedrooms had a TV, while the second TV was in the living area, which was a bit of a dissapointment but not a deal breaker. The rooms were small and basic but quite comfortable. There was a modest welcome basket with fruits and almond biscotti/cookies.

The food was a highlight of our stay. They had the most awesome breakfast spread with a great mix of continental and local spread and a live Dosa and egg counter too. The dinner buffet was again quite a lavish spread with a good mix of North Indian and local dishes. The food we had here was the best we had during our entire 8 day Kerala trip. As there aren't any other eating options closeby, it would be a good idea to make a half/full board booking and its well worth it.

I would highly recomment the property due to the peaceful location, brilliant views and great food.

Tourist tip: If you are staying at Mountain club (or this area), you must visit Kolukkumalai, which has an organic tea garden/factory and is the highest peak in the area. It offers the most stunning views of the area and brilliant photo ops. You can hire 4X4 jeeps from Suryanelli (on Kerala TN border) which is 4-5km from the hotel (Full jeep hire should be between Rs.1000-1500 depending on the season).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R0hitKatyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our cottage consisted of a double and twin, each with its own en-suite shower/toilet. There was also a single settee-type bed that could have been made-up in the lounge. The double room had a TV, as did the lounge – each with at least 150 channels. The rooms were clean and well-equipped, airy and light, so here are two of the few rooms in India were one can read in bed! Breakfast was excellent, but the 680 Rupee Curry Buffet in the evening was even better- 15 main dishes, plus salad and soup starters, deserts and freshly cooked nan and roti. My mouth waters just thinking about it. We spent a very enjoyable afternoon around the pool in glorious sunshine, looking out across a stunning view. That was after a very satisfying tuna sandwich lunch and before possibly the best cappuccino coffee in India. We also liked the fresh fruit, chocolates and biscuits provided in our cottage and the very surprising, but still welcome cake that was delivered to us during our first evening there. What stops the Mountain Club being perfect is the fact that the site is rather crowded with too many cottages being too close together so that the view from even the cottages at the top of the resort is restricted and that it seems that when on either the cottage’s balcony or terrace, one feels overlooked. Thankfully, none of our neighbours were noisy.

Room Tip: The best views are from the rooms at the top of the resort, but some may find it a bit of a climb fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have stayed in this resort during our Kerala Trip- March 2013.The beautiful cottages in hilly terrain are We have stayed wonderful. Each cottage has separate entrance and beautiful hammocks in front. The worth mentioning part is pickup and drop vans' which are so efficient, otherwise it could have very tiring to climb up to restaurant and pool. Service is excellent!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drajayt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
9.7 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
879 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chinnakanal
442 reviews
9.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 14 in Chinnakanal
592 reviews
9.9 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Property: Mountain Club Resort
Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing