We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very average stay -Poor Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2011

i stayed at Sterling for 7 days and i just could not bear the food after 3 days . Hotel has three parts . two parts are OK but i stayed in mail pary which i think is the old one and rooms were not so good . It is adviasble to check in which part they are giving you roooms .
Worst part was the food specially for North Indians . They do not know how to serve Roties which is so essential for every North Indian . They prepared all the chhapaties in one go and put it in a casserol which we could not even tear leave eating aside .
By 4day we were fad up by eating south Indian food and were asking for some different food items .
Location of this Hotel is fantastic you can see some of the finest scenes from your room . Tea gardens are surround you and just a walk away from the hotel . Overall average hotel ( One part ) average food . Poor servive . When we reached no one was there to attend us . In night no senior person remains there ar Reception . So be aware .

Room Tip: Munnar .Beautiful place -Average stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

we stayed at compact room which has induction stove, room heater dining table, the room was spacious, room service satisfactory, ;indoor and outdoor games facilities were good. But the room was located 100 meters from Reception and you have to climb up to 100 steps. The hotel reception staff brought my luggage there.

Near my room one carpenter was working to repair building which created noise disturbance from 9 am to 5 pm. which I hated very much. i complained about this to management they said sorry and could not avoid it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramdoss_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had visited the Sterling Resort, Munnar on 18th & 19 January 2011. Unlike most review, we found the place quite beautiful & peaceful. The food was good, but the cooks should stick to the indian flavours rather than experimenting with other delicacies. Good place to stay for longer span.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinaychaturvedi51, Manager at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing Sterling Holidays for your weekend getaway. We are glad you enjoyed your Holidays at Green Vistas Munnar; we have also noted your valuable input on the Food Quality. We have up graded our multi cuisine Menu It would be a pleasure to have you with us again "find your Wonderful World" all over again.
Thanking you,
With warm regards,
Vinay chaturvedi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We visited Munnar during 1st week of June-2011 and stayed in Sterling hotel for 3n/4d. We had taken 2 rooms for 2 couples here is what we felt about the hotel.
Good:
1) Nice location 2) Good Breakfast served 3) The food served in restaurant (a-la-cart) is good. 4) There is one big and nice waterfall near hotel within 3 kms range. 5) The SPA, Subuthi, is good. 6) some of the rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor have amazing valley view. 7) Staff is co-operative. 8) They have lot of in house activities planned for the guests during the day, some of which are interesting.
Bad:
1) Rooms were not cleaned properly, the garbage was just pushed below the bed, so we had to change one room. 2) This place is far away from Munnar and major attactions of the place so every time you need to travel at-least 18-20kms. 3) The activity centre is not perperly equipped, first of all it leaks heavily when rain comes, secondly it is not properly organized, they charge for almost every activity e.g. pool / remote control car for kids/ TT. 4) The buffet dinner served is not good at all for the price they charge.

Room Tip: Ask for valley view rooms on 2nd/3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank deshiashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vinaychaturvedi51, Manager at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Dear Sir,
Greetings’ from Sterling Green Vistas Munnar!!!
Thank you for choosing Sterling Green Vistas Munnar for your Holidays. We are glad you enjoyed your Holidays at Green Vistas Munnar; we have noted your valuable input on
Rooms up keep and services provided which was not up to your liking; we are working on it on priority, we are also upgrading our most of the rooms and others facility on offer at the Resorts, We shall ensure care is taken in this regard and hope to have you with us in the near future.

Thanking you,

With best regards,
Vinay chaturvedi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed in a studio apartment that seemed relatively new but far from the main building, reception area. The room on the second floor was very nicely designed with a small kitchen with utensils and an attached bathroom. Although with the staircase being in the open, there was some constant water formations dripping over.

The recreation area was not very exciting - an old Table tennis table, carrom, etc. The food as well was average in taste. We actually hopped over to Club Mahindra's restaurant one evening and enjoyed a scrumptuous buffet. They also had some exciting activities lined up. That actually made us think of getting a membership but we didn't since our folks already have sterling memberships.

The view from the resort and down the road is beautiful, with tea plantations all around. The town of munnar itself is about 20kms away. In the opposite direction towards thekkady, one comes across a lot of spice plantations where you can take a tour for about Rs100-Rs150, and buy some spices too. Inbetween the two is also the Tata tea museum which you can explore or just buy tea from their outlet on the road.

It was a very relaxing break but just wished the resort had better activities to offer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amita_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Munnar is a hill station situated in Kerala and Sterling is one of the great resort there.

Sterling Resort is approx. 22 Km (by road) above Munnar city and away from little crowded city during peak seasons. We had visited Sterling resort in the month of May and stayed in Studio Apartment. Room was clean and spacious. The food quality at restaurant is very good and tasty at affordable price. They also arrange some evening activities like DJ and Magic shows etc.The resort is on the Valley front and surrounded by beautiful natural landscapes and Tea gardens. One can experience walking in Clouds in afternoon even in the month of May with temperature of around 20*C.
Resort also have games room like Carrom board, Snooker, Chess and other small board games for children.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kridhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I have booked this Hotel for my Honeymoon and found this place to be really good.
The room was spacious and the way resort was designed is very nice.....

Amazing Place with real good food in the restaurant. Cordial People with right attitude

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank panxonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
8.8 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
603 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fort Munnar
Hotel Fort Munnar
#6 of 15 in Chinnakanal
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#11 of 15 in Chinnakanal
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Great Escapes Resorts
Great Escapes Resorts
#8 of 15 in Chinnakanal
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: £48 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing