We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facilities”
Review of Villa Danezis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Danezis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

On our first visit to Santorini in mid-September, we found a last-minute offer for Villa Danezis. There had been some miscommunication between the Villa and the booking agent so when we arrived they knew nothing about it. Nevertheless, everything got straightened out and we stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean and service was hospitable. Keep in mind it is away from the main city of Fira (you need to call a taxi, rent a car/ATV/scooter, or walk to the local bus about 1.5 km - not a bad walk on a nice day). The area is very peaceful and not very commercialized and for pool loungers it is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Villa Danezis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

We booked at Villa Danezis last July for just a couple of days but decided to extend our stay not only because Santorini is so beautiful, but also because this little hotel was perfect! Not only are their prices affordable, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were impecable and comfortable. The location was perfect, short drive to towns closeby.
We definitely recommend this establishment! And we will return ourselves on our next holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helen_Helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have stayed there 4 or 5 times now. It has been great every time and everyone who came with me also loved it.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. They arrange your car or quad rental for you when you arrive, they pick you up from the airport (I had inadvertently given them an arrival time completely wrong last time, and despite the 1h30 wait, during the high season, they were refusing to let me apologise).
If you'd rather use the local buses, the stop is about 12mns walk.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and there is a very good size swimming pool. All the rooms have air con, a fridge and either a balcony or a terrace. There is even an area set up for small children to play.
The view is cave houses, villages (including Fira) and the see on one side, and a hill with vineyards on the other side.
Messaria is centrally located on the island so I find it an excellent base for my extensive sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Momo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I really enjoyed the time passed at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and even if we arrived at 2AM the owner was waiting for us. Also, we had a small breakfast and coffe each morning that was tasty. The hotel is in the center of the island so you can go easily go whereever you want by ATV or scooter(but no bus close).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KarineQC1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice, very very clean and very cosy rooms in this hotel. At the center of the island u can go were ever u want easily especially if u rent a motorbike. We had an incredible time with my wife and on the plus the hotel has a great swimming pool in case on a hot day u feel tired and don't want to leave the hotel, I'm really pleased. Also we got a great price that made it even better.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dimitris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We caught a ferry to Santorini arriving late in the evening. Having been to the island previously, and knowing we would be exhausted after our trip, we chose to stay at Villa Danezis which was really well priced and close to the ferry port in comparison to Oia where we intended to spent most of our time in Santorini.

We were welcomed despite the late arrival. The room is simple but clean and nice for the price.

In the morning we got up and enjoyed the pool for a bit before the owner's father offered to drive us into Mesaria for lunch and a look around. It is very small and by no means a comparison to Oia or even Fira, but it was really nice anyway and we were able to walk back (though it was very hot!). We were able to check out and stay in the pool until we were picked up by our transfer for our accommodation in Oia.

Overall I thought the owners and staff were all very friendly and it was great value for money.

I recommend this place if you are arriving late like we were, it takes the stress out of the long drive to Oia at night with the crazy taxi drivers there!! Or if you have a hire car it offers a well priced alternative.

Room Tip: Any room would probably be fine.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Far from stopping vehicles. No taxis and buses. To a stop half an hour to go. No nearby shops, cafes and restaurants. There is nothing. Around the desert. In the evening there was a problem with hot water in the shower. The room did not work attention

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tomCheliabinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GELLY D, General Manager at Villa Danezis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thank you for your comment, regardless of its content. We pay attention to any of our customer's comments and we would like to have a feedback with any positive or negative criticism. Your comments are welcoming but we have tried to correlate the content of them with those of others customers, but it is obvious that it is impossible, provided other customers have commented for our accommodation with their most positive though obsective criticism.
However, we are open to any comment and we are waiting for you at a future date, to persuade you for our real hospitality, providence, location and friendly atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesaria
0.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.5 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 80 in Fira
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#2 of 15 in Karteradhos
678 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stavros Villas
Stavros Villas
#4 of 15 in Karteradhos
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Sol Spa Hotel
De Sol Spa Hotel
#15 of 80 in Fira
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Danezis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Danezis

Address: Mesaria 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Mesaria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mesaria
Price Range: £34 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Danezis 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Danezis can be found in the middle of Santorini Island near the main highway in the area of Messaria village, which is 3 kilometres (5 mins drive) from Fira the capital. The hotel's central location gives the visitor easy access to Santorini's most well known areas & local attractions - the beaches, archealogical sites, shopping areas and nightlife.Villa Danezis offers comfort & relaxation in a family environment. There is a large swimming pool & sunbathing area with umbrellas & sunbeds. The surrounding countryside guarantees peace and quiet.Guests at the hotel have the unique privilege enjoying both the sunset & sunrise that Santorini is so famous for. The rooms can accommodate between 1-4 people and are extremely comfortable & well appointed, each with a private balcony, air conditioning (no extra charge), TV, refrigerator, private bathroom and a sunset or sunrise view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Villa Danezis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Danezis Santorini/Mesaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing