We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting hotel, amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Markezinis Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Markezinis Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mesaria
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enchanting hotel, amazing breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved everything about the Markezinis Suites. Gregory treated us like royalty from the moment we walked through the door. We hope to be lifelong friends with him. The mansion is so charming and peaceful. The Santorinian Breakfast was the most delicious food I've EVER eaten. It was paradise and we never wanted to leave.. I cannot wait to return to Santorini and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
151
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Made this trip in June 2013 across Paris, Amsterdam, Athenas, Santorini and Mykonos. Every island in Greece has its own mood. Santorini is a romantic one. Breath-taking views, relax, small, you may cross it by car in 1.5 hours.

Regarding Markesinis Suites, the service from Horchos (George) was just incredibly perfect. More than we received in any other city in this trip, in fact maybe more than we had ever experienced before. They have only 3-4 suites so they can fully focus on few people and they give the most of them on fulfilling your needs, making easy your staying, helping you enjoy the island the more you can and building the perfect atmosphere for those who travel in couple.
The breakfast always on time in the terrace, fresh ingredients (probably bought every morning 'cause they ask you one day before what would you like to have for the next morning breakfast and you choose whatever you want from a list they have, extensive list btw).

George is a chef, hotel manager, tourist guide, knows about history, knows the entire island and the places you should go to, gets discounts from car rentals for you, arrange your arrival so you don't worry on how to get the hotel, and the departure as well... He just takes care of EVERYTHING. We were just about to offer him a job in Mexico, lol.

It's perfect for honeymooners. If you have the possibility, don't hesitate and go.
Please never let George go, and if you do George contact me, Mayan Riviere would perfectly fit for you, LOL.

I'm a busy person and I usually have no time, it took me some months to get here to post this but I really wanted to recognize George and Markezini Suites for their exquisite taste. Even though the whole trip was awesome, this will be the only comment I'll post .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAMSES_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Although nervous at first about not being in a main tourist area, we have nothing but could things to say about our stay. It was very central and they arranged to have four wheelers brought to us so we could easily get around. We loved coming out onto the patio for breakfast each morning and enjoyed a bottle of wine there one evening as well. The partner hotel we could visit was also amazing with a pool on the cliffs and an excellent restaurant with a sunset view.
The breakfast that was included each morning was amazing and filled us up well past lunch. The maid was also great, I have never had a room so well cleaned, even hanging up clothing.
And finally, the service was amazing. George was who was there every day when we were and he was beyond helpful, always going above and beyond, even giving us a ride at one point!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms, so shouldn't be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hthr2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The accommodation is situated in a quiet village but within 5-8 minutes walk there are plenty of restaurants, shops and a big supermarket. We were welcomed with a cool drink by George who, throughout our stay, could not do enough for us and the other guests. We stayed in a very spacious comfortable room with an equally large bathroom, complete with spa bath, plus shower with a seemingly never ending supply of hot water.

The free breakfast was huge and there was a wide variety of dishes both hot and cold. It was set out on the terrace each morning at our chosen hour.

Although the accommodation has no pool, guests are able to use the pool and facilities at the sister hotel Petit Palace. This is a 20 minute leisurely stroll away along country lanes with fields of vines on either side so nothing too onerous! The staff here are also very attentive and it has a good restaurant and bar service. Watching the sunset over the Caldera from one of the terraces, whilst sipping a vodka and freshly squeezed orange juice, was a favourite evening pastime.

George was a mine of information about the best beaches and restaurants. Taxis were reasonable although the fares fluctuated according to the driver. We decided to hire a quad bike for 3 days to really explore the island from north to south and east to west. If you are persuaded to do this my only advice is to collect the bike at the depot. That way you ensure that you get a helmet that fits properly and any concerns with the bike can be rectified on the spot.

Fira was a lively town with good restaurants and bars. Oia was crammed full of tourists; prices were inflated and the restaurants over rated. The beaches in the south and on the west coast were good. If you are into archeology then Akrotiri in the south is a must.

A good experience all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just amazing from start to finish
We booked 10 nights for our honeymoon and it was the greatest experience of our life
George who runs the hotel is just a great man, he makes your stay so easy and is always there for your every need without ever been intrusive
There's a real casual atmosphere about the property but the service somehow still remains efficient and top class.
I'm not going to ramble on about the fabulous bespoke breakfasts, the huge marble bathrooms, high ceilings and fantastic architecture in the hotel, just read the other reviews!!
Mesaria itself is a quaint traditional village, walking down the winding lanes to the hotel or taking a moped( no room for cars) you get an insight onto a traditional Greek village.
The pool facilities at the Petit Palace are fantastic, the view indescribably beautiful and the staff there fantastic.
We ate lunch and drank cocktails at the pool most days, dinner 3 times in the restaurant and every time was magnificent and on top of the 10% discount you get, the hotel was constantly giving us complimentary glasses of champagne, free cocktails, free starters, free dessert, free fresh fruit!!!
Advice id give to anyone thinking of staying here

- Get a quad bike for a week and see the island ( you can see everywhere in 2 days but its so cheap for a week)
- Go on a boat trip to see the volcanos and other islands
- Treat the staff with the respect they deserve and in turn they will make your stay memorable and treat you like a rockstar
- BOOK THIS HOTEL NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS Thanks George and all the staff at the Petit Palace for making our honeymoon so special
YAMMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Phil and Lil x x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshiiiiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacile PN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Markezinis Suites is one of the best hotels we have stayed in EVER. When entering the grounds you get the feeling that you will be staying somewhere very special for your vacation,the open court yard, the classic surroundings all make you feel Major. Once entering the room the experience goes to another level of bliss the bright wooden floors to the Marble yes Marble bathroom is breathtaking. The reviews of this property are factual and understated, the Management staff are white gloves professional without the attitudes always willing to assist with any issues. We traveled with our three year old daughter who continues to talk about the wonderful people she meet at the Markezinis and Petit Place. The pool is in walking distance from Markezinis Suites and has one of the best sunset views in the Universe. Prepare yourself to be blown away.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piera1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Markezinis suites is perfect for those who would like a quiet break away from the main tourist areas of Fira and Oia. It's location makes it easy to get to all of the beaches and there are regular buses / you can rent an ATV for 35 euros a day, if you want to visit the more touristy areas. George and Nektarios who run the hotel are so helpful and lovely - they were both charming and made a brilliant breakfast. The bathroom was also incredible - bigger than the actual room! Don't be put off by the fact that they don't have a pool, it takes 10-15 minutes to walk to Petit Palace where there is a pool built in to the cliff side overlooking the Caldera with one of the best views on the island. The pools quiet - no kids (great) and there is a fab bar service there, with 10% discount if you are staying at Markezinis. G&Ts are strong, Bellinis are delicious, as are the milkshakes. We'd love to come back one day in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesaria
2.5 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 82 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markezinis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markezinis Suites

Property: Markezinis Suites
Address: Mesaria 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Mesaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mesaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Markezinis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel in picturesque Messaria, in the island of Santorini. The former residence of a Prime Minister is now transformed into a luxury mansion that offers impeccable hospitality to those seeking an unforgettable getaway. The mansion’s luxe atmosphere, reverberating its glorious past, is coupled with all modern comforts and an exceptional service focused on flexibility and personal touch: we promise to tailor-make your every wish come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Markezinis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markezinis Suites Santorini/Mesaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing