We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Sunday Roast”
Review of The Chequers Inn

The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cassington
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 7 April 2014

For Sunday Roast, this is an excellent place to go. Generous portions, excellent crackling, delicious spread.

Good service.Parking at the rear. Disappointing, simple décor but if it is the food you're more keen on, then you can't go wrong.

Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thanks for your lovely review.
We have addressed the décor and it's now a really cosy place to be.
Please come and see for yourself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very quiet when we visited so little atmosphere. Food however was very good and we would visit again if in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 19LincsTraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thanks for the review.
We have just completed a make over which has made the pub extremely cosy.
Please pop in again and take a look - it's transformed the feel of the place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked to take my parents out for Mothering Sunday lunch elsewhere but due to circumstances out of our control ended up here.
Never been before and on entering very impressed with cthe decor and layout.
Greeted hy a few staff who found our booking and offered us drinks before taking us to our table.
A good selection on the set menu. We asked for two soupmof the days tomato and red pepper and one tomato and basil (this was the childrens' choi e but the only soup one adult would eat). This was jo trouble for the waitress who replied "certainly" to our request. Drinks arrived swiftly and starters soon after.
Main courses were delicious. One was chicken with white wine sauce, mushrooms, ba on and onions, one was pasta and mushrooms and 1 carvery. The only downside was the carvery que was very long and slow moving. My Dad is currently on 2 walking sticks so one of us had tomque to carry the plate. This ment my meal was served ans getting colder as it sat on the table as I was in the carvery line. I appreciate the limited spqce for the carvery but the setver was very slow and I would have prefered he used a different carving set for each meat rather than the same one.
However we all very much enjoyed the food and certainly had a good portion.
A different lady came to take our dessert order and having had the cheesecake elsewhere opted for that again. I asked if I could have some cream with it, to which I got a snappy "no it comes with what it says and its a set menu so ca t do anything else with it" she also didnt , like it when we asked if we could just have ice cream for a desset. I had heard another adult on the next table order it and was told yes, so when I mentioned this she went off in a bit of a huff. The third dessert was the lemon tart. All were delicious and no fault could be found.

On asking for the bill we were given the wrong bill. She did spot it and came back with the corre t one but no real apology.
Unfortunately her attitude was so different to the first person to take our order. Nothing was too much trouble and didnt questions our slight requests for an adult portion of the childrens menu.

Because the food was amazing, we left knowing we had had a very good lunch for Mothering Sunday. Just a shame some of the service was a bit dissapointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sweetnecter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Thank you for your review.
Our food has a great reputation locally.
We have addressed the staffing issues since your visit and hopefully, you'll come again and see it for yourself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our first visit. The meal was excellent, the atmosphere lovely and the dessert was delicious. Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isaac6001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

A super review which we're very happy to read.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Went for a birthday dinner with a group of 7 in total on a Thursday evening and it was lovely. Atmosphere is very quiet as it's a small place but stone and wood everywhere which is very cosy.
We ordered and after 25 minutes the waitress came back to the table and told us that thy had run out of two of the dishes ordered (different dishes) so we had to choose again. No problem, it happens, but why after 25 minutes was this discovered!?
Next thing, 2 people in the group ordered lamb dish and when it came out all of us commented that it didn't look like lamb. After tasting it was confirmed to be pork! We mentioned this to the waitress who said it was lamb. We asked of the chef could come and look as we were certain it wasn't! Obviously the chef didn't want to come out and he confirmed to the waitress that it was in fact pork. No apology. The words she said 'obviously the dishes look so similar so the chef got the wrong one out'. Brilliant! She then said that obviously she will charge us for the pork dish rather than the lamb (which was a £5 difference) which we didn't feel was good enough after waiting 45 minutes for main courses even though there was only 1 other table of 4 in the whole place! Anyway, we were given the pork dish at the pork price and two free desserts.
It's a lovely place, staff an either be very friendly or very stuck up but food is always delicious, even when you don't get what's ordered!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HolidayDiva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Many thanks for your review.
I am sorry that we got your order wrong. Sometimes things do go wrong but please come and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequers Inn also viewed

Eynsham, Oxfordshire
Cassington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing