We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feeling”
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cassington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in the room which sleeps 3. Although it was compact, with a small bathroom, it was adequate for one night's stay. However, the combination of paper-thin walls and ceilings, guests above us who did not settle down until past 1am, hard mattresses with prominent springs and excessive warmth meant that all 3 of us slept badly. On the plus side, the staff were friendly and the full English breakfast nicely cooked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Good Evening Clare G.

Many thanks for your review.

Although we can't address the noise issues if we get the odd noisy guest we have had a comprehensive refurbishment which address a couple of your other points.

We have changed the carpet to a more sensible colour, we have painted and decorated throughout, changed mattresses where necessary, changed the televisions to 32" flatscreen with freeview and wall mounted them neatly with cables hidden.
We have also provided each room with a fan heater for cold snaps , a fan for warm snaps (I reckon they'll last a few years lol), an iron & board and a hair dryer in each room.
We've also put in new, quality plump pillows and cosy 'All Seasons' duvets so we can give our guests a comfortable nights sleep.
Please come and stay at The Chequers again so you can see the contrast.

Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just stayed here for three nights and the staff can't do enough to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Ross, Sue and the rest of the team make the stay so very pleasant.

The food is excellent, portions are very hearty. Would recommend the home made burger they are to die for. They also do a selection of local brewery ales, a good selection of wines.

The bedrooms are very comfortable and homely, making it feel home from home.

If you are looking for great value for money, a pleasant location and great service then don't hesitate to book here.

As for the previous review if they had read the website check in is from 4.30, if you are going to arrive before then you just need to call and they will arrange to be here to welcome you.

Thank you again for a most enjoyable stay, we will be back......

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Good evening Yvonne W.

Many thanks for your lovely review.

It's always nice to see our guests had a lovely time with us.

Since your visit we have had a comprehensive refurbishment including new carpets, fresh paint and all new furniture and new tv's etc.
also, we've renewed the pillows, duvets etc and installed iron & board, fan, fan heater, full length mirrors and hair dryers in every room.

Come back and see for yourself - we'd love your feed back.

Thanks

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

the fact that the inn was locked and no-one was around when we tried to check in at 3.30pm should have warned us things were not going to be great. At 5.45pm we were greeted in the bar by a very pleasant young man who showed us where to go. As soon as you leave the pub area the building is shabby and filthy. The stairs were bad enough but the tiny cramped room was horrendous! I cant imagine when it was last decorated, and it was "furnished" like a prison cell. To add insult to injury it was noisy and stuffy. We left immediately

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Good Evening Allison H

Good Evening Carl.
Many thanks for you review - points made which we have acted on.
I bought The chequers in August 2012.
Although the accommodation was adequate, it wasn't fantastic.
Since your visit, we have had a comprehensive refurbishment of our guest accommodation, completed in January 2014.
We have changed the carpet to a more sensible colour, we have painted and decorated throughout, changed mattresses where necessary, changed the televisions to 32" flatscreen with freeview and wall mounted them neatly with cables hidden.
We have also provided each room with a fan heater for cold snaps , a fan for warm snaps (I reckon they'll last a few years lol), an iron & board and a hair dryer in each room.
We've also put in new, quality plump pillows and cosy 'All Seasons' duvets so we can give our guests a comfortable nights sleep.
Please come and stay at The Chequers again so you can see the contrast.

Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Chequers is a really good example of what an English village inn should be.

The team are smiley, welcoming and helpful. The bar and restaurant area have a relaxing atmosphere, perfect for a quick drink or a full evening out with someone special or a group of friends. The weather was good when I stayed so I enjoyably sat outside watching village life go by. The menu had a good choice and the food was delicious with well presented but hearty portions.

The bed room was a good size and had that lovely comfortable cosy feeling old houses have. The beds were very comfortable.

The location is great for visiting Oxford. And the quiet village setting is perfect if you prefer to be away from the noise and busy-ness of the city. The price is considerably cheaper than central Oxford hotels too, which also makes the Chequers a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Good Evening Daisy W.
Many thanks for your lovely review.
It always gives us a lift when we have met or exceeded people's expectations.
We have had a lovely refurb since your last visit so, it'd be great to see you again to see the transformation.
Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

You get what you pay for... Cream carpet now grey with hand prints up the stair walls is the greeting for the entrance stairway. It's not dirty but it needs tlc. Rooms are a nice size and adequate. Mattress was like a rock, a warm night with no fans etc was uncomfortable- as it's mentioned lots of here I'd have thought fans would have at least been installed as good customer service. Maybe having no sleep at all sways my opinion the wrong way - my car was looking appealing at 4am. However on a budget on a cooler night it's a great location just don't stay in summer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Good Evening Carl.
Many thanks for you review - points made which we have acted on.
I bought The chequers in August 2012.
Although the accommodation was adequate, it wasn't fantastic.
Since your visit, we have had a comprehensive refurbishment of our guest accommodation, completed in January 2014.
We have changed the carpet to a more sensible colour, we have painted and decorated throughout, changed mattresses where necessary, changed the televisions to 32" flatscreen with freeview and wall mounted them neatly with cables hidden.
We have also provided each room with a fan heater for cold snaps , a fan for warm snaps (I reckon they'll last a few years lol), an iron & board and a hair dryer in each room.
We've also put in new, quality plump pillows and cosy 'All Seasons' duvets so we can give our guests a comfortable nights sleep.
Please come and stay at The Chequers again so you can see the contrast.

Regards

Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spend just 1 night there. Was surprised that the Garmin Nuvi did not finв the exact address, but the hotel is still easy to find. Taking into account the age of the building itself we were surprised by quality of the room, bed, bedlinen, etc. My son (spent in summer school in Oxford 3 weeks) was very happy to have a more comfortable room. The breakfast was good, and well enough for us. Unfortunately we did not manage to taste the evening menu in the pub - we were late for just 5-10 min - the kitchen closes at 9 PM as almost everywhere in the vicinity. And as the hotel is located in a small settlement it was quite an experience to find a place to eat for 2 hungry men - we found some take-away kebab place in a neighbour village and compemented our dinner back in the hotel pub with nice beer!
Free parking is a big plus, the room was quiet despite it faced the street.
Good value for money we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Chequers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Good Evening Igor.
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We strive to deliver a great experience.
Since your visit, we have had a comprehensive refurbishment so, on your next stay you should find it even better.
Look forward to seeing you soon.

Thanks, Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

my wife and I visited for one night. room was a little small but had a nice shower room and was clean and tidy. we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but the breakfast in the morning was very nice and the staff where friendly and attentive. very well located for Oxford about 15 min drive the Pear Tree park and ride.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickiecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassington
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Talbot Inn
The Talbot Inn
#1 of 5 in Eynsham
197 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Punchbowl Inn
The Punchbowl Inn
#7 of 13 in Woodstock
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: 6 The Green, Cassington OX29 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Cassington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cassington
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chequers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished rooms at The Chequers mean that we offer fantastic quality, comfortable rooms only a short trip from Oxford centre and the Cotswolds. Our rooms have everything you need to make your stay comfy and enjoyable. All this but with sensible prices meaning your bank manager will be as delighted as you with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Cassington
The Chequers Inn Cassington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing