We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul vacume”
Review of The Chequers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Cassington B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soul vacume”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Don't be fooled by photographs of the exterior and the rooms, inside is a soulless canteen with canteen quality food and the rooms and bathrooms are tiny! The price is very reasonable for this area, and the staff are friendly and helpful so The Chequers would be fine for a quick overnight stop - not somewhere to go for pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W-Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    49
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
30
62
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been staying at The Chequers Inn during the week for the past 6 months for work, and have to say that it is one of the best value for money places that I have stayed in around Oxford.

I have stayed in almost all the rooms, and although some do lack a shower (7 & 8), I've always been pleased with the room decor and bathroom facilities. I recommend room 4 if you have the choice, its large with a powerful shower.

The rooms have recently been renovated, and this has made the hotel even better value for money, however I do feel that some of the bathrooms would benefit from a bit of modernisation. There is always a good supply of towels and toiletries, and the rooms are always spotlessly clean.

The food downstairs is of extremely good quality, and having eaten most of the items on the menu at least once, I can say that there isn't really a dish that disappoints. The prices aren't the lowest in the area for food, but the quality shows.

The staff are all very friendly, and the location is good for Oxford, being just off the A40. I wouldn't stay there every week if there was something wrong with it!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 & 8 don't have showers, Room 4 is the best in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samueltdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend a year ago.
The rooms were small and basic but had everything we needed.
We stayed a night here as a base to explore Oxford and it was perfect.
Reasonable price as it is just outside the city centre
The atmosphere in the pub downstairs of an evening was perfect, calm, relaxed to enjoy a couple of drinks before heading out. Breakfast was delicious & plentiful.
Overall, brilliant service in an honest British Inn. Free car parking out the back was also very good as it's hard to come by in Oxford!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DannyAndLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Superb country pub in excellent location - city on the doorstep, yet countrified surroundings. Although family room small, nicely decorated and furnished and proper single bed for child, not the usual zedbed/sofabed found in many hotels. Bathroom not modernised to same standard as room. Food was very good in pub, although portions enormous - portions could be halved and still offer good value and more profit for owners! Staff were excellent and true credit to the establishment - would happily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere close to Oxford to go out for Sunday lunch and chose the Chequers Inn at Cassington. After perusing the menu we all chose the carvery and found it tasty and satisfying; the roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds were excellent. We each had room for one of the scrumptious deserts - the lemon torte is highly recommended. The whole experience was relaxed and comfortable and it was not that busy; perhaps because it was such sunny weather outside. Just over £80 for four of us, including drinks and coffee, was good value.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for one evening as its very close to Oxford. The room was small but very clean and cosy. We had the 3 course set menu in the restaurant which was delicious. We checked out at 10am but were still offered breakfast despite missing the set times. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just a quick review as I don't think anyone has reviewed this place since it's been refurbished; and I think the current reviews don't reflect a true picture of it anymore.

We stayed overnight on Saturday / Sunday the weekend just gone and overall it was perfect for our needs - we were down for a family birthday so didn't spend a great deal of time at the Inn, but our room was perfect for what we needed; it was warm, cosy, quiet - clearly recently updated, so spotlessly clean and fresh - and had everything we needed.

We stayed in room 5, which I think is a standard double - and a little more privately situated than perhaps the other doubles - though I'm not certain of this.

The only slight downside was we came down for breakfast at 9.36am - only to be told breakfast had stopped at 9.30am. We hadn't been told this at check-in - and had to push quite firmly to still have breakfast - which was really important to me as a type 1 diabetic.

Having said this; they did make us breakfast and were overall friendly - so this was just a slight blip which they did rectify.

On balance, I would definitely stay again - and recommend - just make sure you know the breakfast serving times and aren't late! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarsVenusGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassington
2.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
387 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
3.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,643 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Property: The Chequers Inn
Address: 6 The Green, Cassington OX29 4DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Cassington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chequers Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished rooms at The Chequers mean that we offer fantastic quality, comfortable rooms only a short trip from Oxford centre and the Cotswolds. Our rooms have everything you need to make your stay comfy and enjoyable. All this but with sensible prices meaning your bank manager will be as delighted as you with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chequers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Hotel Cassington
The Chequers Inn Cassington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing