We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another holiday of head scratching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Belones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Having just stayed in the hotel for a ninth time I have left scratching my head again. Why do we stay here - great location, great staff and the promise of a 5 star experience. But this year I am more confused than ever. The upgrade to the pool furniture is welcome but long overdue - but why can't the hotel vaguely control outside guests using the pool. If the hotel wants to run it as a municipal pool then please refund me the exclusivity for hotel guests fee. As for sacking the amazing pianist - Nacho - absolutely crazy - and then to replace him with a very poor duo and a new pianist that just screeches - loudly, is just wrong. Please bring Nacho back - he is an entertainer.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank argilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just returned from this hotel at la manga, great location 25mins from murcia, fairly reliable weather too and la manga resort is good, various nice restaurants to choose from, football and tennis academies great on resort BUT this hotel is not 5* because - no pool bar / no pool service / everyone uses the pool it is NOT policed and limited to hotel guests, thus it can be crowded / they allow people to lay towels on beds early morning and return mid afternoon / choice of bars & restaurants in the hotel itself is below 5* standard and sadly quality is too - so quite simply not 5* - worth a visit but with the correct expectations and should be at best 4*

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paumart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Manga C, Assistant to the Director of Marketing at Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments in TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I have noted your comments regarding pool area and they have been passed on to the respective Directors with a view to ensure our customers receive the best possible service at all times.

As a company, we continually strive to exceed our customers’ expectations and very much appreciate feedback such as yours, which plays an essential part in helping us monitor our day-to-day operations and improve where necessary.

We trust that you will not judge us on this one experience and that in your future travels we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Manga Club.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is location in a huge complex, mainly focused on golf and tennis. There are private houses, a few restaurants and bars, a spa (not great, by the way)...

PROS:
Amazing big bed, very comfy. Good AC, complete silence at night.
Nice shower, beautiful bathroom fixtures
Great buffet breakfast

CONS:
No wifi was offered upon check in
Very poor satellite TV options for a 5 stars hotel
There is not much to do at the hotel. The pool is just OK, mainly for families with young kids. There is not a single terrace where you can have a drink. The pool bar closes at 7PM and the only cocktail options is a dark, closed, old looking bar. We asked if we could have a cocktail on a terrace somewhere in the complex and were assured that it was impossible. However, only a few minutes walking took us to several bars with terraces, mainly for UK clientele
Finally, it is not a beach hotel. There is only a small beach, a bit far. A free shuttle will take you there. Nothing too spectacular. There are no ocean views.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel for families that want quiet nights and play golf, not for younger couples looking for a beach destination.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel definitely caters for the golfers and tennis people but the week we where there was a football golf tournament so there where plenty of men and very little women , not really relaxing place as there is a lot going on, with the golf and tennis , pool was very crowed pool was deep nothing around to say how deep, breakfast was a buffet , plenty to choose from but could have been more fresh fruit cut up , dinner you could have your pick in restaurant outside the hotel there was a shuffle bus to take you there , it is only 30 mins from the airport , worth staying if you are a golfer or tennis

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 187sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Manga C, Assitant to the Director of Marketing at Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our guest comment card regarding your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that you Feedback such as yours is always well received and can only help further motivate our employees to continue to offer outstanding service to all our customers.

Thank you once again and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back to La Manga Club in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks with my family of 5 in La Manga Club. A HUGE disappointment and clear to me the hotel got stuck in the 80s and is living on past glory (used to be Hyatt). At arrival, no welcome, no one to take the luggage and even worse, no explanation on the hotel or it's accommodation. The rooms might have been great 15 years ago but need serious upgrading. The whole look and feel is old, the swimming pool is boring for kids. In general there is not much to do for kids anyway. The kids club is 10mins away and not very special. The pool bar closes at 1900 (best time of the day) leaving us without any place to sit and have a drink outside. The hotel restaurant is very good but the waiting in the morning to be seated for breakfast not very 5star. Then there is WiFi (or lack of it). The hotel locked it for downloading email and it is extremely slow. An upgrade costs a fortune and one pays per device. Again not very 5start. The only positive of the hotel is the staff, I almost feel they are overcompensating for the sorry state of the hotel. In summary, never again.

Room Tip: Push the hotel staff for a private router in the room (and refuse the pay for it). Ask for a renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Menno O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Manga C, Assistant to the Director of Marketing at Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Dear Friends,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments in TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

We were very concerned to learn of your disappointment whilst a guest at the Hotel and appreciate the sentiments expressed. It would certainly appear that there was a breakdown in the high standards which we endeavour to maintain and I apologise for that. Also, I would like to assure you that I am looking into the matters with the different departments.

We are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring these matters to our attention. We value your opinion as it is through constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to monitor our hotel operations more closely and take corrective action when necessary.

We trust that in your future travels we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Manga Club and hopefully regain your confidence in us.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Although the resort is nice, and the scenery beautiful, there is nothing to do! The beaches are packed, and very average! The resort does however have many good restaurants and the food/service is excellent at all, but be prepared to pay a premium price. The resort has many golf/tennis facilities, but if you don't like either of these, there is not much to do! The football pitches can not be used by public and there is no entertainment going on, not suitable for families

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Manga C, Assitant to the Director of Marketing at Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments in TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to La Manga Club.

We were very concerned to learn of your disappointment whilst a guest at the hotel, it would certainly appear that there was a breakdown in the high standards which we endeavour to maintain and I apologise for that.
Please be assured that we are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring these matters to our attention. We value your opinion as it is through constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to monitor our hotel operations more closely and take corrective action when necessary.

We trust that in your future travels we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to La Manga Club.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Only stayed one night as breaking journey to Nerja from Valencia. Have to say we had a very good experience and were treated well by the team and had no trouble using the shuttle service (used 5 times and longest wait was probably 2 minutes). Main pool area was closed on arrival due to charity event that evening so used the tennis court pool and the spa (have to say the spa pool was cold).

Stayed around the pool until about 4pm on check out day and lunch around the pool was fine.

Reception staff very friendly and went out of their way to help. Breakfast buffet offered lots of choice so can't complain based on our 24 hours there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IainBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Manga C, Assistant to the Marketing Director at Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your guest comments in TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and I will be sharing your positive comments with all our staff. Feedback such as yours is always well-received and can only help further motivate our employees to continue to offer outstanding service to all our customers.

Thank you once again and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back to La Manga Club in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Belones
18.6 mi away
Hotel La Torre Golf Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
525 Hotel
525 Hotel
#1 of 7 in Los Alcazares
603 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Secreto del Agua
El Secreto del Agua
#7 of 12 in Cartagena
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Villas La Manga
Villas La Manga
#5 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
144 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#3 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,335 reviews
9.3 mi away
Senator Mar Menor Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club

Address: La Manga Club Resort, 30385 Los Belones, Spain (Formerly La Manga Club)
Region: Spain > Region of Murcia > Los Belones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Los Belones
Price Range: £93 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Manga Club Principe Felipe Hotel Los Belones
Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club Spain/Region Of Murcia - Los Belones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing