We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and lovingly run”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Villa Valfiore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent the last night of our weeks visit to Umbria in the Villa Valfiore.
They were hosting a large wedding and still made us welcome seeing to our needs without fuss.
The grounds are beautiful the room comfortable and superbly furnished. The electronic switches may not be to everyone's liking though.
Due to the wedding the restaurant was closed but the receptionist booked a table at a. Very good local eatery.
Breakfast was sumptuous.
A lovely place. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank OLDGOAT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisVillaValfiore, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Villa Valfiore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear OLDGOAT67,
Thank you very much for your recent visit.
All our guests are more than welcome in our house, and we always try to convey this message. It is a really big satisfaction when this is perceived in the correct way.
We hope to see you again in our relais.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

We really enjoyed our recent 4 night stay at Villa Valfiore. The hotel is conveniently located for exploring Bologna and other interesting towns in Emila Romagna. It takes approx 30 minutes to drive into Bologna and park. Villa Valfiore is a lovely property. Traveling as a family of three, our junior suite was nicely appointed and offered plenty of room for us all. The property is well maintained and there is a beautiful pool as well. The breakfast rooms, both indoors and outdoors, are very pleasant. The staff is extremely warm, friendly, caring and professional. We are very grateful to Julia and her colleagues for making our stay very special. The concierges were always ready and willing to assist in any possible way. Julia really went out of her way to ensure that we were enjoying our visit. We are very appreciative for her help. Her local restaurant suggestions were fabulous. We had 3 extraordinary meals at restaurants that were located within 20 minutes to the hotel. Also, Valfiore’s breakfast offerings are excellent. Erica is a fabulous server and baker – her breakfast cakes are delicious. Overall we do recommend this hotel – we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RelaisVillaValfiore, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Villa Valfiore, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear NYCGal201,
Thank you very much for your extended review and for all the compliments. We like to give our guests the feeling that this is a home, not a hotel, and that they are more than welcome here. It is truly a reward when we see that this messagge gets across.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Villa Valfiore was truly a great place to take a nice relaxed break from it all. My wife and our two babies had a wonderful time there. The green garden is beautiful, pleasant to be in, and very very well taken care of. The rooms were very spacious (we had a suite even), new, clean, and pretty. The service is really excellent too: from the gardener turning on a small faucet for our 2 year old to play with, to the girls from the reception really thinking along on how to maximize our stay.

The breakfast place is TO DIE FOR. Also the girl who worked there during our stay (short curly hair) did everything to make it more pleasant for us and gave us more coffee than any person can expect to get for free even with friends ;-).

The only downside is the location: it's hard to find a good restaurant in the neighborhood and there is a road by the swimming pool where heavy traffic is the only deterrent from giving this place a five star rating. Just bring your ipod, you'll feel like you've gone to heaven. Oh, and being Dutch I have to say it's a bit pricy.

Room Tip: Room 105 was excellent, no bathroom but that's not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlingerJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Valfiore, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Villa Valfiore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear SlingerJansen,
Thank you very much for having shared your experience with us and with Tripadvisor readers.
We are happy you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for the appreciation of the commitment of our entire staff to make the stay of our guests pleasant and relaxing.
I have to say that many guests find our location quite convenient, at the same time 10 minutes from the city and from the highway, but also surrounded by a green and relaxing park, away from the bustle of city life.
Our concierge is always available with advice and suggestions regarding activities in the neighborhood (shopping, wine and cheese tasting, sports, dining). So please feel free to ask us next time for any advice.
We wish all the best to all your family and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We enjoyed two nights at this beautiful property.
Staff were very welcoming and friendly
Beautiful gardens and swimming pool area, all very peaceful and tranquil
We enjoyed lunch in the restaurant which was excellent , also the buffet breakfast had lots of choice
We were lucky enough to stay in a room located in an outbuilding which had doors leading out to the gardens, worth every penny.
This hotel is such good value and an ideal base for touring the local area

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Valfiore, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Relais Villa Valfiore, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Dear SHwick,
The peace and quiet are some of the most important traits of our villa and of our park. Guests staying in the dependence and garden rooms in particular have the feeling to have the park all to themselves. An exclusive hideaway to discover during your trip around Italy.
We thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night then onto another place which was unsuitable for us so instantly returned for 2 more great nights. This is a luxury hotel with a fantastic pool very close to Central Bologna, 20mins by car.Staff are really nice. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5715gracec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Beautiful gardens, calm atmosphere, luxurious interiors, superb service, quiet, great rooms, lovely food, clean deep pool and child friendly too (we have 2 children - 7 and 5)!

I would recommend a car because the drive is about 25 kms from Bologna airport - quite straightforward by satnav - and the hotel is only immediately proximate to ... Hills and fields. Good on site underground car park. The town of San Lazzarro however is easily accessible by car in about 5 mins...

Very nice reception on arrival (they actually recommended a better room than the one we had booked (same price) - we saw them both and their recommendation was definitely better! The superior room was very clean, spacious, well equipped, good comfortable extra sofa double bed, enough TVs to satisfy the adults and the children and even a little private patio.

After settling in - we simply had to go to the deliciosly inviting swimming pool. It's actually the cleanest pool I have swam in and very deep by European standards - about 9 foot/ 3 metres in the deep end. There is a spa "bubble" bed and various jets to relax in. There is a small bar nearby and plenty of soft fluffy towels to dry off after your swim.

Dinner is a delightful affair - all traditional Italian from the delicious meats, flavoursome cheese to the traditional "Florentina" steak and tortellini. All of this delicious food and the outstanding service of our waiter, Antonio.

After a relaxing night... Breakfast is pleasant, filling and traditional continental. As always - the service is outstanding. After, you are rested, happy and ready for a day exploring Italy!

All in all - I cannot recommend this small hotel enough - fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trixilita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Staffs were very professional and friendly. The breakfast, a great value; fantastic food very good choice of meals and wines. Overall a great experience. The hotel has a very relaxed, quiet and comfortable atmosphere whilst retaining high standards in hospitality. Highly recommend for pleasure or business
Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Take the business room, adding little money you can have the best hotel’s room ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marginean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lazzaro di Savena
Unaway Hotel Bologna San Lazzaro
#1 of 3 in San Lazzaro di Savena
609 reviews
Admiral Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Zola Predosa
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Palazzo Loup
#1 of 1 in Loiano
407 reviews
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
#1 of 1 in Villa di Sassonero
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Valfiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Valfiore

Address: Via Imelda Lambertini 20, 40068 San Lazzaro di Savena, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > San Lazzaro di Savena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Lazzaro di Savena
Price Range: £71 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Valfiore 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis of relaxation among the parks of Bologna's villas. Located within a park of century-old trees in an enchanting corner of the hills in the Municipality of San Lazzaro di Savena, just a few kilometres from Bologna, Villa Valfiore is a place where tradition and hospitality converge to create charming surroundings. Today, this secluded corner, which has remained untouched by the passage of time ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Villa Valfiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Valfiore Province Of Bologna/San Lazzaro Di Savena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing