We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makunudu Island
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Summer Island Maldives(Ziyaaraifushi Island)
US$530
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
One&Only Reethi Rah(Reethirah Island)
US$6,222
US$2,427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
smartline Eriyadu(Eriyadu Island)
US$284
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$536
US$524
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coco Bodu Hithi(Bodu Hithi Island)
US$674
US$538
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coco Prive(North Male Atoll)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
US$1,269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$763
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$875
US$804
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angsana Ihuru(Ihuru Island)
US$579
US$567
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
382
171
40
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
382
171
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnurse sharksset menuour waiterfishdive schoolhermit crabsmaldivian nightoctopusroom boyturtle pointrustic charmbbq nightindian oceandive centremaldivian stylebuffet breakfast and lunchfresh beach towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

One week in July. We were lucky to have good weather, no rain. The water was a little churned close so visibility near the beach was low. However on the reef it was fine. Loads of lovely fish etc to see. We saw octopus, lion fish, shark, eel, turtles and all the other beautiful reef fish. We had a couple of snorkel trips to a sand bar in the middle of the ocean, also good. One scuba dive from the island, staff were very friendly and helpful. There are some good dive sites locally for more experiences divers.
The island staff were charming and just the right amount of attention. The gardener sought us out on the beach to bring us fresh coconut. Bar staff learnt our favourite drinks immediately and had a chat if we wanted it. Room was kept clean.
We were there in low season so some of the bungalows were being renovated but this was not intrusive. Island is insect fogged twice a week, and room ceiling is rattan so some dust does fall on the floor and bed, but if you appreciate it is on an island in the ocean, no swimming pool, very basic and natural then it is to be expected and is part of its charm. Also Herons and White Throated Water Hens or Kambilis, were great and wandered into the room.
Food was excellent, good selection for breakfast, pancakes, french toast, egg station, fruit, yoghurts, toast and danishes, pork bacon, sausages etc plus fish curry, yum. Good lunch selection in the same vein and dinner is five course also excellent. The fish was out of this world, barracuda or Jack Fish we think. Restaurant staff were great and chefs were brilliant. One Russian family had a year old daughter who kept wandering off and the staff watched over her and herded her away from anything dangerous, they were great, and she was v cute.
Very natural lovely place with lovely people, Do not go here if you don't like Gekkos as with one Russian female who arrived when we were there, or you want marble en suites, jacuzzi water bungalows, night life etc. But if you want to relax, read a book, snorkel, watch hermit crabs and unwind in authentic Maldivian paradise, this is the place. Thank you Makanudu.

Room Tip: We like room 1 as it had its own cabana as did a couple of other rooms. It was also near the restaurant but was not on the sunset end.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OutdoorsNewForest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a gem of an island. From the moment you step off the boat you know this island is unique. A real getaway island...no TV, limited phone reception and no real Internet. Bliss! The staff were fantastic, so friendly and offered wonderful service. We ate a variety of wonderful local food with such a choice at all the buffet meals. The evening menus were a delight with taster portions and lots of variation. Sitting at the bar drinking cocktails is a must. Our room was clean, room service great and lovely to have your own entrance to the sea. Walking in bare feet all week was a luxury...leave your shoes at home! We had some great snorkelling and the staff in the dive centre were very helpful. Definitely a place for a total break. We will return....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debbie31204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We decided to visit this island as our first experience of the Maldives after being recommended by our travel agent "Anglefish Travel" who speciaise in indian ocean travel, they made our whole experience stress free and all the more enjoyable with peace of mind that all our arrangements had been taken care of and so to Makunudu....This is a very special island - one you should pop on your bucket list...
The peaceful ambience of the island coupled with the excellent service and quality of care offered to the guests is simply the best we have ever experienced in all our travels both at home and abroad..
The locals share the load with the migrant workers who all give 110 % to ensure guests get the most from their Maldivian experience.
They simply cannot do enough for you all with smiles on their faces my husband joined them one evening for a friendly game of football which is no mean feat in the high heat..the Maldivian drum night is not to be missed with guests encouraged to join in and the night fishing trip is great fun..
Even though we are not divers we learnt so much about the native creatures that inhabit, the fish, crabs, fruit bats and birds give the island that simple feeling that you are truly at one with nature here.
The rooms all though a little dated are adequately comfortable and every care is taken by the room staff to ensure you have all you need..Arif made us so many beautiful Creations out of towels and flowers they were breathtaking and Hassan also proved to be just as dedicated and creative too..

Ahmed looked after us during our stay and waited on us every day and made us feel relaxed and appreciated it was a pleasure to be in his company..
The food is of excellent quality, fresh and seasonal and extremely well presented, we ate far too much because we just couldn't resist it all.
The chefs were always on hand to offer an alternative should you require it all though we were always spoilt for choice..
So get out your plastic treat yourself to a couple of weeks in a blissful getaway and watch the sunset with a cocktail - it will make your soul sing...!!!

Room Tip: We checked into 37 which had a lovely view of the harbour..
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kkerryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A stunning place, wonderful people and delicious food, what more can you ask for. I never thought of myself as a beach holiday person but was converted. The peace and quiet combined with the beautiful underwater world is just too good to be true.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Harriet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at Makunudu. We have travelled to a lot of all inclusive resorts in the Maldives and the Carribean and this is by far the very best we have been to. As soon as we stepped onto the island we were instantly relaxed. The genuineness of this island is plain to see. It's the Maldives at its very best, this resort offers stunning beaches, privacy and relaxation as well as fantastic bar facilities and exquisite food. We were lucky enough to have excellent weather and coupled with the fact the island was only a quarter full we often felt we were on a desert island. It was perfect. We were in room 17 which is in our opinion the best room as the beach area to the front is absolute bliss and very private. We have never experienced customer service like at this resort. Everyone is so friendly, it's like everyone is best friends, including other guests. The main reason for doing this review is that we want the staff to know how special they are, so we hope they all see this! From Raffeu to Mohamed, the bar staff, Jasmeen and the reservation manager, everyone was so welcoming. The chefs are just plain excellent, 4 course a la carte and fillet steak on offer is the stuff of dreams! Often beautiful fish is on offer and Raffeu told us he had caught the fish only the night before! That in itself is what you come to the Maldives for!!! And the red wine is also very good, Habib and Sha (who are excellent) know my husband can vouch for the quality of wine!!! The bar in an evening is quiet but gives you the opportunity to chat to other guests and on a friday the staff do a traditional performance which is well worth seeing!!! I would say that if you like plush room facilities and marble flooring etc etc then this is not the resort for you. You will be disappointed as polished is not what this resort is about. This resorts unique selling point is its rustic charm and relaxed armosphere. The only downside we experienced was some flies in our rooms of an evening, the uncomfortableness of this can easily be avoided with some installation of netting around beds, although the mosfly spray provided is adequate. That would be our only complaint. Other than that we highly recommend this very friendly, private, relaxing resort and we really hope to return very soon. Nat and Neil.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie858585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews