We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a lovely hotel but watch out they'll chase you for the beach towels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May 2011. This is a boutique hotel and it is very comfortable, even if the beds are quite small. There are lovely sea views and a nice pool. The staff are on the whole very welcoming, especially the staff who serve you breakfast which is lovely. There is a restaurant which serves typical french cuisine which seems to be very highly rates, it's pretty pricey, we didn't try it.

The only thing which left a very bad taste in our mouth was that about 10 minutes after we'd checked out we received a call on the mobile from a lady who i think was one of the Managers to ask/ demand if we'd taken the beach towels with us (all rooms have two beach/pool towels in them for guests to use). I really couldn't believe it, we had in fact left our towels in the room with the others but the maid had speedly gathered them all up in a big bundle and then couldn't find them again. She made us wait on the phone whilst they double checked that they did indeed have the beach towels from our room and we hadn't stolen them!! I was really cross that they hadn't double checked this before calling us. It really makes you wonder just how they see their customers and how quick they were to call us, we had infact just spent several hundred euros with them following our 5 night stay. Because of this i wouldn't recommend them it made me realise that their attitude is actually very snooty.

Room Tip: the rooms downstairs don't have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

From the moment you walk into the lobby, you know you are going to love this small boutique hotel. It’s beautifully decorated and service is efficient, friendly and discrete. The rooms are set alongside a small pool over looking the sea and each room has a little terrace and two chairs and a table overlooking the pool but somehow you still get a lot of privacy. The guest are also well healed so you won’t get people talking loudly or making noise.

My room (no. 9) was small but tastefully decorated with red tile floors, a queen bed and white walls with various plants painted in green and a painting (art from local artists graces the hotel and is for sale). Curtains and bedspread were white giving a cool Mediterranean feel to the place. There was a small, flat screen TV with some English satellite news channels in addition to some French channels. WIFI is free but you need to ask for a password at reception. I got a very weak signal from my room, and a service outage meant I was unable to connect during my two day stay. They let me use their office computer in the "business center" (i.e. office) for ten minutes max as they needed to check reservations. Not Door was hard to lock so most of the time I didn't bother.

Bathroom had two sinks and a bathtub/ shower combo with very elegant fittings. Toiletries were also quality and they give you a packet of Vanilla pot pourri as a welcome gift. Rooms had a minibar but no coffee or tea making facilities. They have a 24 hour laundry service but were kind enough to deliver my laundry the same day when I had an early morning departure.

The pride of the hotel is its gourmet food. It’s not cheap but worth it for the quality. Vegetarians are expertly catered for. Dinners are served around the pool which is lit up by candles. Tables are also lit by candlelight so it is all very romantic and posh. Service is excellent (if a bit formal)and there is no bill to sign, so it feels almost like you are at home with your own personal cook and staff waiting on you! The breakfast is very good too. The hot chocolate is too die for! You get a lovely plate of fruit and baguettes with loads of home made jams and can serve yourself yoghurt, cheese, cold cuts, pain au chocolat and hard boiled eggs. Service is so good that if one waiter has a day off, he will inform his colleague as to your likes!

St. Leu is the adrenaline capital of Reunion, and the hotel can line up diving, surfing, paragliding, etc. for you. But be sure to leave yourself time to just chill in this lovely place. It’s just a shame that the St. Leu beach is not that nice.

The one inconvenience to the hotel if you don’t have a car is that it is on the outskirts of St. Leu driving in the direction of St. Pierre on a hill. The main bus lines don’t go there so if you have luggage, your best bet is to get off in the center of St. Leu at the Mairie (Mayor’s Office) stop and from there take bus 43 or 43 b to the front of the hotel. Note that bus 43/b has a very limited service. So if it's going to be a long wait, try and flag down a minibus taxi going by the bus stop (prices for tourists are steep—10 Euro or more!) or walk a few meters to the tourist office and ask them to call you a taxi. (Note that taxis are hard to come by in Reunion as most taxis just do transfers to and from the airport or other set locations arranged in advance through hotels). It’s a 25 minute walk from the Mairie to the hotel, so manageable if you don’t have luggage.

All in all, a fantastically relaxing and delicious experience!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Wonderful, very small, charming, creole hotel. Excellent french kitchen. This is NOT a family hotel or resort. You feel the cosiness and silence when you enter the classic creole building. I never stay twice at the same place but this one will be very hard to resist.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank TomGemoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Boutique hotel located in the residential area above the tourist town. Highly recommend getting a rental car for your stay.

They have two suites on the lower level and 8 rooms on the higher levels. Rooms are small but nicely decorated and very clean. Each with small veranda.

The pool was small but nice. Sea Views but NO beach access. 15 min walk down street to reach beach (steep up and down hill)

The food was French Gourmet with limited choices. Dinners were artfully prepared and succulent. Without a car you will dine here every meal and considering the lunch menu has the same six choices as dinner you will soon tire of the menu. If you like Foie-Gras you will be in heaven. Four course meals with large wine selection.

Staff was very friendly, professional and most spoke some English.

The hotel is located about 45-1hr taxi ride from airport. Most taxi drivers speak NO English so be prepared.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at Blue Margouillat for 3 nights in December 2008.

We were worried that the regular double room (20sq.m) would be too small, so we booked a suite (50 sq.m).
The manager who took our reservation sounded friendly yet professional (he speaks good English, too).

We drove from St. Denis airport. The driving directions the hotel gave us were clear and straightforward.
It is only a 5-minute-drive from St. Leu center, but you definitely need a car (unless you want to spend the whole time in the hotel), because the hotel is on the top of the hill and there is nothing in the walking distance.

We arrived rather early (11:30) and our suite was not yet ready. But they have a small room to wash up w/toilettes and a shower, if you want.

While waiting, we had a lunch in their "gastronomic" restaurant by the pool. Their food was not bad, but nothing exceptional, nothing to write home about. The waitress was not very friendly, either, she seemd a little pretentious, leaving us a feeling that she was just doing her job, that's all. No extra care/attention to the customers.
Of course, it is a matter of taste, and maybe we just made a wrong choice (roasted lamb with risotto) but we found the price rather expensive for the quality of the food/service. For the rest of our stay (except for breakfast), we decided to eat out.

The breakfast was fine, but again, nothing special. We are used to continental breakfast, but If you are expecting a full American breakfast with los of choices, you will be dissapointed.
Unlike the waitress at lunch, we were greeted by a warm smile by a nice, polite lady every morning.

The suite itself is of a good size, with 1 double bed, and a sitting area with 2 chairs, 1 couch and 1 sofa-like furniture (which can probably be used as bed for 3rd person), all with natural, nice taste. There is no compelete seperation nor door between the bed and the sitting area. It is more like a large open-plan studio with a partial wall (and closet) in the middle.

The bathroom had 1 bathtub and 2 sinks, but one of the sinks had some cracks and was out of use. We were told that the previous guests had an "incident" and that they would have it repaired as soon as possible, which I doubted (it was during the Christmas vacation period). As I had thought, it was never repaired during our stay, but it did not bother us anyway.

What bothered me more was the location and the surroundings of our suite.
Their 2 suites (individual bungalows) are located in the lower level behind the pool (all the other 12 rooms are in the main building) and while they have more privacy, they are closer to the nearby farms(or houses? I could not tell). From our terrasse, we could see beautiful sunset, but we could also see some parts of the neighbor's backyard/pool (not the greatest view, although not very noticeable) , and could hear "cluck-cluck","cock-a-doodle-doo"s and "bow-wow"s from early in the morning.
I have to say that it did not bother my husband at all, but to me, it was not very romantic. It was not noisy, noisy, but I had expected more silence.
Too bad, because the rest of the hotel was quite nice.

Also, the main door of our suite was not easy to lock from inside. But we found the solution. Before going to sleep, we locked it from outside and entered the room by the 2nd door (French window). Once we figured this out, it was not a big problem, but it could annoy some people.

Overall, the hotel was good for a short stay, but there are areas to improve.
I would stay there again, but would book one of the double rooms on the upper floor of the main building.
They are smaller than suites, but have a better view overlooking the pool and the sea, quieter, and better value for money in my opinion (a suite costs 50-60+ euros more per night).

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank orion_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We had the luck to stay one night in the litlle hotel Le Blue Margouillat in St. Leu, La Réunion. The hotel only has 14 rooms. Everything about the hotel is just wonderfull. It is truly a piece of heaven.
All staff members are very welcoming. The rooms are spacious, with a gleaming bathroom and a seperate toilette. And the views from the balcony of our room could not have been better. We had a superb view over the ocean. Order a bottle of champagne and some "petites bouchées" to watch the sunset. Perfect. The dinner is also worth a recommendation. Very fine cuisine. Same goes for breakfast.
There is also a pool and free wifi. Plus two suites for special occasions.
Staying at Le Blue Margouillat is not cheap, on the contrary. However, it is worth the spill for a taste of paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Nell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

The Blue Margouillat is a very cosy small hotel de charme,
The rooms are small but with a great view over the Lagoon from the private Balcony.
It is very calm.
The staff is professional and helpfull.
And we appreciate the fine dinning restaurant.

I will recommend this hotel for a couple but not fr a famlly.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Leu
2.7 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
760 reviews
7.7 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,659 reviews
21.0 mi away
PALM Hotel & Spa
PALM Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Petite-Ile
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
417 reviews
6.5 mi away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
498 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lodge Roche Tamarin - Village nature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel

Address: Impasse Jean Albany, Saint-Leu 97436, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Leu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Price Range: £177 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a cosy and peaceful Creole mansion, over the Indian Ocean’s immensity and under its refreshing “Alizés”, entirely organised for rest, serenity and pleasure of the five senses.It is also a modern art gallery, presenting abstract painting, sculptures and potteries from local and European artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Margouillat Saint Leu
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel Reunion Island/Saint-Leu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing