We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Boulbon, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Haphol201...
Brisbane Region, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a beautiful home we could not fault this house everything was just perfect. Everything provided for a great holiday. We loved walking down to the boulangerie each morning for fresh croissants and have a leisurely breakfast on the terrace. We had no difficulty in finding plenty of beautiful little towns and places of interest to visit in the area all within easy driving distance. Paola the caretaker is just lovely, so helpful and friendly. Thankyou Les and Margaret for sharing this perfect holiday home. We hope to return next year and bring our daughter and her family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Hello Carol
I thought I had replied to your review but can find no record. We just wished to thank you for your kind words and to let you know we offer a 15% reduction to all our returning guests.
Kind regards Les and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The antiquity of the property.
Liked least: Beds are hard.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & House architecture
Liked least: To take the garbage back with us
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
homerbird...
Cumberland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Provencal Gem”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Maison du Puits at the end of October, as the final leg of a trip to Paris and Avignon Les Villeneuves. After more than a week on the road/in hotel rooms, the house in Boulbon was a completely welcome respite. It's a comfortably appointed and refurbished stone home in a tiny, ancient town in Provence where some of the streets are too narrow for cars, but dotted with townsfolk heading to the boulangerie at 7am for a piping hot croissant or crisp baguette. Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are new and clean, water is piping hot. Kitchen was well appointed and had everything we needed to prepare wonderful meals. Boulbon is centrally located with easy access to Avignon, Les Baux, Chateauneuf du Pape, St. Remy, Gordes, Arles, and further away, Aix. We left early each morning to find markets, vineyards, and old ruins and historic sites, and returned each afternoon to chat with the local butcher who prepared delectable daily specials (veal, chicken, beef, and Daube, the local beef stew not to be missed). Paola, the friendly caretaker, is a door away. We happily conversed in French, Italian and English. Parking is easy - right in the town square, a short five minute walk to the house. It's not easy to find parking in city rentals, but Boulbon provided us a perfect jumping off spot to start our week of exploration in Provence. You will want to take a bottle of wine and fresh fromage to the top of the hill behind La Maison du Puits. Half hour hike. Do this at sunrise or sunset, and see the mountain goats grazing above, or watch the valley unfold before you in a Van Gogh palette of lavender, ochre, and moss. Stunning views at either end of the day. It's easy to fall back into the 14th century in Boulbon, dining on the daily harvest and falling asleep to the chapel bells pealing on the hour. In the space of four days we witnessed a wedding and a funeral procession, met friendly townsfolk, and explored hillsides and cobblestones on foot in 65 degree sunshine. I'd consider renting La Maison du Puits for a month or more, to write, to paint, to relax into the historic surroundings. We loved the sunset patio. We didn't want city night life…we'd done that in Paris. Boulbon is a home. A final destination for rejuvenation and exploration. It was a perfect 30th anniversary. Thank you, Les and Margaret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and location. The home itself.
Liked least: The washing machine was a little tricky. We wound up washing our clothes for 1.5 hours.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie201...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect base for a perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We just loved our stay at Maison du Puits. The house itself is tucked away in the quiet village of Boulbon and the peace and quiet is fantastic. The accommodation is well laid out and very spacious, and the terrace affords the opportunity for Al fresco dining or reclining on a lounger with a good book. Boulbon has a fine little bakery where we picked up fresh croissants each morning, a small, but well stocked shop, butcher and a friendly bar in the square. Larger supermarkets are only 7-8 kilometres away. We found the house in a very clean and tidy condition, and the manageress Paola was so helpful, giving us tips for days out and things to do, backed up by real local knowledge.

The roads around the village, and the region in general are perfect for cycling and there are numerous walks out of Boulbon which afford fantastic views of the Rhone valley.

The village is perfectly located to allow days out in all directions to be easily accessed,. We loved the varied terrain of the region and enjoyed visits to the coast (about 50 minutes drive), to the iconic Tour de France alpine climb of Mont Ventoux (really wished I'd had my bike with me), to the cities of Avignon, Nimes, Montpellier and our personal favourite Arles. A trip to the Roman aqueduct at Pont du Gard should be at the top of anyone's list for a fantastic day out.

We will definitely be back. A truly excellent holiday. Thank you.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nhl88hk
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfect visit for beautiful Provence”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We just returned from our 1st trip to Provence. La Maison du Puits was centrally located to the sites we visited: Arles, Nimes, Gorde, Roussillon, St. Remy de Provence, Avignon, Les Baux, and Aix-en-Provence. The house was just as depicted in the listing; quiet , serene, lots of room for 5 adults, historical, in the beautiful setting of a medieval Provencal village. The house was well-equipped with all the essentials, and much love has been put in by the owners.We were fortunate to participate in the Festival of St. Eloi, a day of colorful fun-filled event with the locals, and sampling a delicious meal and wines. The Mayor of Boulbon, the organizer (Patricia), and the locals who shared our table with us were accommodating and helpful, and friendly gestures were also extended by others.
Paola, the local caretaker, was available to facilitate a smooth check-in. The owners were especially helpful throughout with prompt and detailed responses to our questions, including making useful recommendations to our itinerary. You cannot ask for a better stay and feel restfully assured before you embark on your journey.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing House, Great Village, Super Location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Set in a very charming village in Provence, tucked behind a castle wall, is this gem of a house. We were all so excited upon arrival that we had chosen such a unique and wonderful place to spend our time and we quickly felt right at home. Maison du Puit is full of charm, character, and history. We really enjoyed the terrace on the warmer days, and when it was colder it was nice to use the lounge fireplace. There was lots of room for our family of 6 to spread out, with a lovely open kitchen/dining/living space to congregate in. The house has a great collection of area maps & tour guides, as well as a handy owner's instruction manual. Paola, the neighbouring caretaker, was a wonderful host, full of great information on what to see and do. We loved the small village of Boulbon... exploring the narrow streets was fun and everyone was very friendly. You can get yummy take out homemade meals from the village charcuterie just down the street. The 4 bikes were very much appreciated for short rides around town and into the countryside, and the boule set was fun to use in the town square. If you like to hike, the hills behind the house and castle are rewarding with their views... lots of trails to explore, especially up to the windmill and beyond. You can even hike one hour over the hills to an abbey. The castle perched on the hill above the house is really spectacular to see from around the village and at night is all lit up... very impressive! There is so much to see and do in the area (Avignon, Arles, Les Baux, St. Remy, Tarascon, Rousignon, markets...) plenty to fill our 10 day stay. Lastly, the owners were quick to communicate and very kind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is amazing, the village is quaint, location is great
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Hello again Kristin
Many thanks for such a tremendous review. It is so satisfying to know that visitors to La Maison du Puits have enjoyed their stay. Also many thanks for your custom.
Kind regards
Les and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing