We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Provence at it's best. Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Bastide de Boulbon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boulbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We came to the Provence for cycling. We were very happy to come 'home' every day after our long rides. How delicious is pleasure after torment! La Bastide de Boulbon is a magic place in a sublime setting and Marie-Claire, Jan and all the staff are the most wonderful crew.

Oh yes and the food is fingerlickingly gooooood.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanStockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

We recently stayed for seven enjoyable nights at La Bastide de Boulbon and would gladly recommend it to friends. This small hotel is run with the utmost attention to detail. Everything is done very tastefully, from the room decor to the restaurant menu to the small snacks served with a glass of wine in the garden. Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the owners, Jan and Marie-Claire, who were always available if needed. Our room was small(ish) but had everything we needed and the bathroom was lovely with a spa-like feel. The garden is great to come "home" to after a day of sight-seeing and the pool is heated. Our favorite day trip destinitions in the area were St. Remy (go on market day, great fun!), Les Beaux and Arles but the hotel is so well-situated for most any desired Provence destiniation. The town of Boulbon is very small, but there is a bakery and a small grocery store within five minutes of the hotel and so grabbing some fruit, water or a croissant for the road is a cinch. The dinners at the hotel were very fine (really, some of the best we had during our stay in France) and comparably priced to the restaurants elsewhere in Avignon or St. Remy. Also, perhaps we just got lucky, but we felt the dinner menu at the hotel changed quite regularly. We ate there four of seven nights and never had the same thing twice. Perhaps the owners have responded to some of the feedback here on tripadvisor? The breakfasts are very nice (think delicious apricot juice, strawberries and yogurt) although at €15 per person/per day can add up. It is a cold breakfast (with the exception of a soft-boiled egg). Some days, we just waited until we got to our destination to hit up a cafe or street market there. Really, for us, Le Bastide de Boulbon was the perfect place to stay and we would definitely love to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuteReise75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at La Bastide de Boulbon for 5 nights during the Summer of 2010. We chose this place based on the excellent reviews posted on Tripadvisor and still it exceeded our expectations. Jan and Marie-Claire, the owners, are refined people that give careful attention to details. They are also very kind and helpful to their guests. The hotel has beautiful gardens and tastefully decorated rooms. Our room was very quite and the air conditioning worked perfectly. Although this hotel is located in a small village it's very easy to find and convenient as a base for exploring the Provence. The lack of an elevator was a minor inconvenience and Jan helped us to carry our luggage upstairs. There is a restaurant that serves dinner every night except for Sundays. The food is wonderful but the menu is limited and doesn't change often. So, if you plan to spend more than 2 nights at La Bastide ... you should consider booking other restaurants. Jan will certainly be glad to assist you with this. Overall,our stay at this hotel was a delightful experience. I just wish that my husband and I could return very soon to this magical place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cia2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We originally booked for 3 nights and extended to a full week because of the wonderful service, food and location. Jan and Marie-Claire are the perfect hosts and La Bastide is a wonderful place to return to after a day of touring in Provence. We were never more than 45 minutes away from the towns we wanted to see. Jan and Marie-Claire provided guidance on places to see and routes to take that were a tremendous help. Food was outstanding and we can't wait to return to see the improvements that are planned this winter to an already perfect spot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwammy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We booked this hotel for a week being solely quided by the reviews. Jan and Marie Claire could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The food, rooms and service are second to none. To sit in the shade of the trees in such a tranquil setting is heavenly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This was my favourite hotel of this holiday and possibly my favourite of the last ten years. The new(ish) owners, Jan and Marie-Claire are beyond kind and charming, rooms are lovely and the grounds beautiful. The food is also wonderful - we ate there three nights and I just sat and whimpered on the first night at how delicious it all was. I wish I had remembered to pass my compliments to the chef when we left (Jan/Marie-Claire, if you are reading this - please do!). Breakfasts are also excellent.
Like another reviewer, I was tempted not to post this review to keep this place to myself, but they deserve all the success they get.
It's very difficult to think of any negatives - perhaps a chilly pool (unsurprising in late Sep) - but even this is being addressed during the closed season.
The hotel is well positioned for a day out sightseeing - Avignon, Arles, wine country - and perfect to come back to at the end of the day.
We thoroughly plan to go back when we can!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maelwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

A beautiful setting for a lovely hotel. After a day of sightseeing it was a pleasure to go back to La Bastide to relax with a glass of wine in the gardens, enjoy a delicious dinner and wonderful company. The owners go out of there way in every way to make your stay enjoyable. We stayed four nights and found the location to be a very good jumping off point for sightseeing. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddyandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulbon
7.9 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
380 reviews
9.9 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#1 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
488 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Henri
Grand Hotel Henri
#2 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
222 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
632 reviews
11.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Boulbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Boulbon

Address: Rue de l'Hotel de Ville, 13150 Boulbon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Boulbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boulbon
Price Range: £134 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Boulbon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your La Bastide de Boulbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Boulbon Hotel Boulbon
La Bastide De Hotel Boulbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing