We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming personal experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Bastide de Boulbon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boulbon
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
“A charming personal experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel is set on beautiful park like grounds in the small village of Boulbon which offers a convenient location in the Provence region. Hotel staff are very friendly and keen to accommodate and the hotel service is personalised.
Room 3 was a good sized superior room with a modern decor. The bed was comfy and the room functional although the air con was not particularly effective leaving the room stuffy in the warmer weather. Wi-fi worked easily. Sound proofing was okay but you will hear noise from the corridor.
The bathroom was small but workable although the bath itself was impractical. It was too short to stretch out in. The shower head was too low and the glass screen was fixed and got in the way.
Breakfast is in a nice dining area and opens onto the patio in the warmer weather. It is not a buffet rather a to your table personalised service. This included a hard boiled egg, a basket of breads, meat and cheese, yoghurt, stewed apple and good coffee.
Overall a charming hotel and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Aim for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    29
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
305
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

What a wonderful hotel. Located in a quaint town 15 mins outside Avignon, this small hotel is operated like the best luxury hotels, but with the benefits of personal attention and refinement. Captured in an old, French home/chateau, the hotel has been updated throughout with finer accommodations. The food is as good as any in Paris--they offer a dinner that promotes the local, fresh ingredients and was simply magnificent. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and would (will) return. If you go to Avignon, do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bit smaller in floor space/sq ft -- but have windows on two walls; if you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skeltoec
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a week trip through the South of France and everything all of the other reviewers have written rings true. Upon arrival to the stunning grounds we were offered a welcome drink along with nuts and the best olives I've ever. The setting is quite charming with soft music always playing in the background and candles lit everywhere (it was a bit too cold for us to enjoy the beautiful terrace).

I do agree with other reviewers that the meals are a bit expensive. We had a fabulous dinner at the hotel and enjoyed meeting the chef but it is true that the price is steep compared with meals you can get in nearby Avignon with the same or better quality. Breakfast for 15 euro is too much in my opinion. (But, it was very good - everything was fresh and delicious. I think we are just accustomed to hot food for this price tag).

The owners of this hotel could not be more accommodating. They spend their days trying to make sure every need of the guests are taken care of.

The best aspect to the hotel is the location - Boulbon is a beautiful small town with great proximity to Avignon, Arles, Pont du Gard, Les Baux and the Cotes du Rhone region. You could spend a week here and still not see everything. (Obviously, a car is a must). Marie-Claire told us to check out Uzes on our day trip to Pont du Gard and it turned out to be our favorite small town in Provence. (Although the spectacular grounds of this place are a close second for the best aspect of this place).

Overall - this is probably one of my favorite chateau experiences in France (and we have stayed at several - Loire Valley, Champagne etc..).

Room Tip: The owners were nice enough to let us choose between two rooms upon arrival, both were spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeltoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Staying at La Bastide really made my 10 days in Provence great. The village Boulbon was a great choice, it's in the absolute center of Provence, and from there we could easily get to Avignon, Arles, St Remy, Beaux de Provence, etc. But in difference to those, Boulbon is spared from the buss-loads of tourists and over-priced plate de jours. The village dates from the 12th century, and is crowned by a castle ruin. The only shame is that the ruin is closed for visits.

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous, and the garden even better. Right from the day we arrived the lovely couple Jan and Marie-Claire took fantastic care of us. Even though I had never met them before, they treated me like family in every way. None of us had visited Provence before, and their helpful advice elevated our stay a lot. I can't thank them enough. The chef even showed us how to prepare Foie Gras, while reciting german poetry.

Prepare for amazing food, vine, and fantastic days to remember. My girlfriend and already decided to return later this year again, hopefully during the bull runs.

10 out of 10, with compliments.

Arvid Lithander, Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the garden and the castle ruin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Run by a friendly couple, this beautiful boutique hotel acts as a great base for trips to Provence (Luberon, Cotes du Rhone Villages, Arles, Avignon, Aix) and even the Cote d'Azur. I do not have one complaint and I hope to return soon.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank P0ntNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a lovely hotel - great setting and decor. Boulbon is lovely and some good walks around, its also great for visiting other places. Staff were lovely and friendly. However the food was only ok and seemed a bit expensive for the quality. We had nicer and better value meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campbell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent Easter weekend here and had a wonderfully relaxing break. There's not a lot more to add that hasn't already been said - the grounds are immaculate, and as well as being pretty in the daytime, are tastefully lit at night too. The rooms are modern, spacious and cleverly designed to make maximum use of space. Bathrooms have a small bath and a handheld shower but are again cleverly designed with enough room to place toiletries. My tip would be to ask for a room overlooking the front of the house/garden/pool - they are light filled and it's a joy to wake up and look out the window at the trees. There's also free wifi throughout the property. Beds were firm and very comfortable. The hosts are super friendly, knowledgable and charming, and are always around if you need to ask a question. We also really liked the restaurant staff who were smiling and welcoming. We ate at the restaurant both nights and especially liked our Easter Sunday meal of slow cooked lamb with white beans - a recipe the chef told us was typically Provencale. I'm currently searching for a similar recipe on the internet to replicate the flavours! We toured the countryside on Sunday and went wine tasting in Chateauneuf-du-Pape and Vacqueyras on one day, and climbed the hill opposite to the windmill the day we arrived, which was pleasant exercise and gave lovely views of the surrounding countryside.

All in all we couldn't recommend La Bastide de Boulbon more highly. We certainly hope to return during the summer months to enjoy a dinner outside in the gardens. Excellent value for money, relaxing, and unpretentious.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and garden have better views and marginally more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josefa68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulbon
9.9 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#3 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
18.4 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#3 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & S...
#2 of 22 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
11.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide de Boulbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Boulbon

Property: La Bastide de Boulbon
Address: Rue de l'Hotel de Ville, 13150 Boulbon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Boulbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boulbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide de Boulbon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your La Bastide de Boulbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Boulbon Hotel Boulbon
La Bastide De Hotel Boulbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing