We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ski Trip Ever!”
Review of Haus Wasserbauer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Wasserbauer
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I have never experienced such great hospitality and Haus Wasserbauer is really in the perfect location for both winter and summer breaks. The owners have every need catered for and are so friendly. I went with a group of friends for a week skiing and the local restaurants and ski shops and bakery meant we had everything right where we needed it. Would definitely reccomend this as a holiday destination to anybody and thankyou for a great trip! I'm looking forward to making this a regular holiday destination.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Haus Wasserbauer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week skiing holiday in Muhlbach. Duncan & Vicky (& Diesel) could not have been better hosts for the week - helping us with organising ski hire, printing bus times, recommending restaurants and of course, the best bars on the slopes! Nothing was too much trouble and they are constantly on hand to recommend places to visit. Such a friendly couple who go above and beyond to make your stay relaxed and stress-free.

The accommodation itself is beautiful with a really homely feel. As there were 10 of us we split across both the top floor apartment and the lower apartment. All rooms have en-suites, the COMFIEST duck feather duvets and are spacious enough to not feel cramped when jumping around attempting to squeeze into salopettes. There's a games room complete with ping pong table, books, board games and in the top floor apartment a Wii. Not to mention an extensive list of DVD's ready to borrow; no-one was bored!

The location itself is less than a 3minute walk to town where there is a free ski-bus to the slopes (another 3minute ride away!) The slopes are a mix of blues/reds/blacks but the beginners we travelled with were braving it down the harder runs by the end of the week; a good mix for everyone. The food and alcohol was also reasonable even at the top of the slopes, pizzas were around 5/6 euro and a beer 3.60!

We travelled direct to Salzburg where a short 45min taxi ride had us arriving straight at Haus Wasserbauer's door. All in all - perfect location, people and holiday! I cannot reccomend this place enough - we will DEFINITELY be coming back for a visit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Wow! Having just returned from Haus Wasserbauer I feel like I've somehow stumbled across one of the best undiscovered gems in Europe! Where to begin...

The area...
Absolutely stunning. We were lucky with epic weather for our mixed bunch of skiers and boarders, but it was clear that it wasn't need with the hundreds of snow machines dotted around on standby just in case. It was the first time for a couple of our skiers but by day two, they were having a blast on the ample amount of blues and reds. The more experienced of us were spoilt for choice with runs and had A LOT of fun in the amazing park pretty much on our doorstep.
The trip up to the slopes is < 10mins door to slope with a free ski bus coming regularly.
I'd love to see the beautiful landscape during summer too with a free local loyalty card which helps with things like mountain biking etc...

The Haus...
Lovely! Every room has it's own double bed and en suite and the kitchens are well equipped to cook anything you'd want. Big dining tables and comfy chairs helped our legs ease into some of the cheap locally made spirits and wines too. In terms of facilities, there was table tennis which made for great tournaments and epic games of beer pong. TV's and Wii's and a big choice of dvd's (on request) were available to each apartment too. Duvet's and pillows were of the super soft, fluffy and warm variety!
The Haus is also near a well stocked spa supermarket and a brilliant bakery.

The Owners,
Duncan and Vikki are the perfect accompaniment to this Haus and the area. I organised this holiday for myself and 9 mates which was daunting at first but, from my first email with Duncan and Vikki, I knew we'd be in good hands. They were quick and polite with responses, advising with ski hire/passes and airport transfers. I think their website was pretty decent too.
What was particularly impressive about D&V was that despite the fact they are clearly very busy people, they were always there for a chat when needed. When they recommended a restaurant, they suggested we try the 'Vikki Special'. It turns out the Vikki special is definitely a very real thing and the restaurant owner recognised the names of Duncan and Vikki straight away with beaming smiles! D&V are clearly as friendly with everyone else as they were with us! It has to be said though, the Duncan special was just a little bit better! It may well have been my favourite meal ever!

The value,
I managed to organise this holiday for < £500 each. Inc. flights, transfer, accomm, hire and ski pass! I went out with 300 euros for food and beer and that was plenty! For the amount of fun we all had and the comfort and ease of everything, I think that's absolutely brilliant!


We're already organising our next trip back to 'The Haus'. We've just got to decide if we can wait till next winter or if we want to try our hands at hiking and mountain biking!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This year marks a new beginning. The beginning of being a "MRS'! With all the frenetic activity that comes with celebrating the engagement and organising a wedding, we decided within two months of planning, it was time for a romantic reminder of our FIRST holiday together. A trip to re-visit the slopes of Mulbach, Austria!

Since our last visit Haus Wasserbauer has been given a new lease of life. Step by step each room has been newly refurbished by the owners to give a smart fresh new look, yet homely feel. Vicky and Duncan continue to embrace the traditional Austrian style and with that comes a typically warm and enthusiastic welcome that makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive.

This particular ski resort works perfectly for all levels and ages of skier. For beginners looking to learn to ski this is where to head. A week in Mulbach and you'll feel like you've been skiing for years! Vast wide slopes, no queues, all hosted in a friendly and efficient environment. The easiest way to get to the resort of Mulbach is to fly BA or Easy Jet into Salzburg.

The equipment hire is of a very good standard here compared to some French resorts. You'll find plenty of delicious food up in the mountains too.

Haus Wasserbauer comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmice3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to Haus Wasserbauer and once again we were sorry to be heading for home. Duncan and Vicky always extend the warmest of welcomes (even if you do arrive in the middle of the night) and ensure you have everything you need to ensure a comfortable stay.
The newly refurbished apartments annexed to the main Haus are immaculately finished and yet still retain a cosy feel through the personal touches like the home embroidered cushions, fluffy feather duvets and complimentary milka chocolate!
Duncan is always on hand with tips on where to ski to make the most of different weather conditions and also advise on restaurants and the all important apres scene. There are a few new bars and restaurants cropping up since our first visit which all add to the variety of places to visit which cater for both young and mature skiiers on a range of budgets. There are typical Tiroler huts and also more modern mountain restaurants where you can enjoy a long lunch over a bottle of rose (or two)!
Vicki and Duncan are also well located close to a ski hire shop which stocks only high quality kit. The skis are well looked after and the boots are all modern and reasonably priced.
We found everyone in Muhlbach to be friendly, helpful and welcoming. The town is steeped in history and has a tradtional feel although it seems there is a younger vibe starting to emerge with the new board park and very cool silver caravan at the top of the king cab serving snacks and drinks to dudes in baggy pants.
All in all another great trip and we will be back for another visit soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wookie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Haus Wasserbauer in the larger apartment sleeping 8. This is the second time we have enjoyed the friendly atmosphere that is skiing in Austria, along with the warm welcome that greeted us from Vikki & Duncan. They helped us with where to ski, evenings out and places to go, plus a little translation when required! We will certainly be returning again in 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Haus Wasserbauer is an excellent destination, and a great way to be introduced to the friendly Austrian way of life. Duncan, Vikki and Diesel the dog are the perfect hosts and introduced us to great restaurants and après ski. The rooms are perfect with en-suite showers and toasty warm. Will certainly be making the trip again next year. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andybeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muhlbach am Hochkonig hotels
1.0 mi away
Bergheimat Hotel
Bergheimat Hotel
#1 of 4 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Grunholz
Hotel Gasthof Grunholz
#4 of 4 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpenhof Schwaiger
Alpenhof Schwaiger
#8 of 16 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luxusferienwohnungen Bauer
Luxusferienwohnungen Bauer
#9 of 16 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
7 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gasthof Alpenrose
Gasthof Alpenrose
#5 of 16 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
9 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kopphutte
Kopphutte
#1 of 16 in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Wasserbauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Wasserbauer

Address: Haus-Nr 319 | Mühlbach am Hochkönig, Muhlbach am Hochkonig 5505, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Muhlbach am Hochkonig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Muhlbach am Hochkonig
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus Wasserbauer is a family friendly traditional Austrian guest Haus offering self-catering and B&B accommodation in the village of Mühlbach am Hochkönig. Situated in the Salzburgerland Alps, Haus Wasserbauer offers numerous activities in Winter and Summer. In the winter we have 150km of tree lined pistes located less than a 2 minute free bus ride from Haus Wasserbauer, in summer there are numerous activities including mountain biking, 140km of hiking trails, swimming in Mühlbach's heated outdoor pool (less than 200m from Haus Wasserbauer), archery, tennis or just relaxing on the terrace in the sun, the opportunities are endless. Located less than 45 minutes from Salzburg (well worth a day trip when your staying!). Haus Wasserbauer is a picturesque Austrian retreat, allowing you to step away from the stress of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Haus Wasserbauer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Wasserbauer Austria/Muhlbach Am Hochkonig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing