We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable desert camping experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safari Camp Osian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Safari Camp Osian
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A memorable desert camping experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We spent a whole day and a night at the Safari Camp, and were thrilled with the overall experience. We did a 2-hr long camel ride perfectly timed to end with sunset watched from a dune, and returned to the camp in a jeep, which was fun too. The next day morning we were taken to see two interesting temples in the neighboring towns.

SERVICE: All these activities were great, but what made our stay so special was the hospitality. Mr Bakshi and his team, in several ways, have mastered the art of excellent service delivery without being annoyingly pushy or artificially friendly. We were picked up early in the morning (7am) from the Osian railway station, got complimentary breakfast and could catch up on sleep.

ROOMS: The tents were cosy and provided all necessary facilities, including running hot water, western-style toilet, a very comfortable bed. You can practically forget that you are camping in a desert.

FOOD: We stayed late in the season, so the food was cooked mostly for us. The food was good and not too spicy, flavor palette different from standard north Indian cooking. We also enjoyed chilled beer throughout our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indraneel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. It is very kind of you.

You have to return to experience the 2 Nights mobile safari that we discussed. Me and the team would very much look forward to that.

Warm regards from :
Raj Bakshi and his Team at Safari Camp Osian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
21
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I recently returned from 12 days in India. When we asked each other what was the best India experience we agreed it was certainly our visit to Raj's Safari Camp Osian.

From the moment we arrived Raj and his staff quietly and unobtrusively seemed to attend to our every need (cool drink and cloth, escort the tent, offer of tea/beer and invitation to a spectacular lunch in the lovely dining area). [I knew Raj would be a fine host. He had been so responsive and helpful to me when I had been setting up our visit.]

After an afternoon rest in our comfortable tent listening to the winds rustle the flaps we prepared for our sunset camel ride. We each rode our own camel mine led by an elegant Rajasthanian man and my husband's by his grandson. For an hour and a half they showed us the dunes as we looked down from camels at the town in the distance below and heard the singing at the nearby temple. This was followed by watching the sun set as we slowing returned to camp. Soon it was time for drinks/snacks by a roaring campfire with local musicians who showed us their instruments and let us play them and two lovely Rajasthanian dancers. Dinner followed - outstanding and generous. Sleep came comfortably and easily after our busy day.

We were awakened by hot tea and biscuits being delivered to our tent porch which we enjoyed while watching the sunrise. After our breakfast we needed to continue our travels and It was hard to leave admittedly.

This is a spectacularly well run camp. Raj has an outstanding staff and is himself always quietly in the background making sure all runs smoothly. We congratulate Safari Camp Osian on a job well done. Don't miss the fun of this stay. You will be welcomed very warmly.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hovancsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I must tell you that after reading this positive review, "Raj & his band of Merry Men" are truly honored. You are really very kind.

It was a real pleasure to host the Hovancseks at the Camp. It is such appreciation from our guests that keep us going and trying to improve. It has also brought a big smile to me and the boys... and I assure you that it is going to take a long time to wipe that smile off :)

Warm regards from Raj and the Camp Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

It is miracle of the sand that if u r staying in the arms of it... it will render the love multi folds. In a full moon night after having a camel safari till the sun set. followed by a pro gramme of folk dance and music,..... while u have some drink ...listen the pain of soul mate for his beloved who is not at home and out for some war ..[ song..] .. the drink make u jealous of him for the love he is getting in form of song... [:)] a good dinner as the night gets colder and the moon get amazed at u..... in the arms of the nature .... have a great night in the middle of the sand .. the tents with finest touch and accompanied by great hospitality of the khet singhji. .... A Must visit.... preferably in a full moon night. worth spending one day tour.

Room Tip: if u wants some particular drink than tell them in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam_sankrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Very poetic indeed.
We look forward to showing you a great time once more.

Raj and his team at the Safari Camp Osian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

A desert experience doesnt get better than this. Raj is an absolutely fantastic host!
We chose Osian over the more commercial Jaisalmer, to get a more authentic experience, and we werent disappointed.
We were at the mobile camp - which was superb. Picture an opulent tent pitched (beds, plumbing, lighting), a roaring fire, a laid out bar, yummy hot rajasthani food. All this in the sand dunes with noone else but you (and a few camels).
The day camel ride took us through the desert - where u can see peacocks, deers, antelopes, hares, birds; and also through villages - where the bright colours of rajasthan truly come out. The villagers are friendly with Raj's staff - they offered us tea, showed how they make carpets, atta etc.

You have an option to stay at the base camp or do the mobile camping (i definitely recommend the latter).

i cant write enough of the hospitality of the staff - they are warm, friendly, helpful: and one can sense their genuity throughout. The trip ofcourse was made special with Raj's open warmth and knowledge.
One of my best experiences in Rajasthan definitely

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purnima-Jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Guest Purnima-Jag,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I must tell you that in hosting such splendid guests, the pleasure was entirely ours.

Me and my team at Safari Camp Osian look forward to showing you an even better time in the future. Khet Singh & Shambhu Singh are leaning over while I write this and wish me to send you their "KHAMMA - GHANNI"

Warm regards - Raj Bakshi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Me and my girlfriend are arrive here from Jodhpur by the jeep of Pratap, the owner of the camp. The travel was faunny on this cabriolet jeep, 2 hours in a sweet indian morning. Arrived we take our tend and then we are go in the "desert" by a cammel with a perfect guide!!!
In the night they have arrange a dinner with tipical music and dance, all that in the desert, with a fire like light and the other guest was local buisness man. All that was wonderful and real!!! It was a magic night!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marco f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to take the time to review us, and for giving us an excellent review.
We look forward to your return visit in the future...

The team at Safari Camp Osian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We were taken aback by the hospitality offered by the simpleton team members of Camp Safari .. greeted by a innocent young boy .. cheerful. We were taken on the camel safari in the dunes.. later to a village where a parda clad lady with hot tea .. much required and the ambience of a village verandah with a 15 day old goat ,dogs playing together.On our return back to the camp, the folk music and folk dance with a camp fire was amazing. Dining in the dunes .... we were served freshly made authentic rajasthani food.. hot bajri rotl,sangri, chicken ,paneer, kadi chawal was the best food we had in the entire 6 day trip from udaipur, ranakpur, kumbalgadh and jodhpur. None of the 4 stars cud give us the hospitality and the food which we really cherished.. Anyone to Jodhpur must visit (Even if your TOUR OPERATOR has told not to ..) ..They also have tent houses for overnight stay in the camp ...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaAmazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to showing you an over night experience at the camp in the near future.

Warm regards,
Raj Bakshi ; Safari camp Osian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I booked this one night camp as a proxy to the camps in Jaisalmer. Though there are not too many san dunes around, but this place offers a very similar expereince to what I have heard about Jaisalmer.

Reaching there - you need to hire a cab from Jodhpur to come to this place. the cabs can be expensive and they quoted me Rs. 4,000 for taking me from Jodhpur to Osian and then bringing me back the next day morning. RAJ (the owner) was quite helpful and agreed to give us a ride back to Jodhpur, so we took a one way cab only. THANKS Raj.

Food - Is not excellent, but decent. They offer Lunch, Dinner and Breakfast in the onw night package.

Service - is really good. People are helpful

The key highlight was the Camel Rides on the near by sand dunes. Sunset view is excellent.

The rajasthani folk dance and music in the evening was really good!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlokAgarwal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
safaricamposian, Owner at Safari Camp Osian, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Dear Guest Alok,

Thank you for your positive review. It is such feed backs from our guests that keep us going and charged up to do more.
Driving you and your family back to Jodhpur was my pleasure, so please do not bother to thank me for that... Like I always say... Apart from making money I also believe in making friends!!!

Wishing you, your family and your lovely kids a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Safari Camp Osian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Camp Osian

Property: Safari Camp Osian
Address: Village Osian, Osian 342303, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Osian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Osian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Safari Camp Osian" is a desert tented camp situated at Osian about 62 kilometers from Johpur. We provide overnight camping, Camel Safari, Jeep Safari to surrounding areas, and vision to the tribal's houses. Safari Camp Osian is a deluxe permanant camp dining, bar with tent having all modern amenities. All tents have en-suite toilets, with hot and cold showers. We organize camel polo game and camel race. And you could enjoy the view of Siberian birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Safari Camp Osian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing