We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it here”
Review of Royal Alpage Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val-d'Illiez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Alpage Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Val-d'Illiez B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love it here”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The resort itself is small. Only one small well stocked supermarket which is expensive, we drive so shop in France on the way, Switzerland is expensive anyway.
Underneath reception is a really nice resturant and not too badly priced,
Chez gabi is very expensive 60 francs for 4vin chaud, and the other two restaurants one is top class and you pay for it the other near the nursery slopes and down thexroad we have not tried.
We tend to self cater anyway, if you need supplies ski to avoriaz with a rucksack or two and get it there, half the price!
Not used the ski rental or ski school so cannot comment, not used the pool either .
The skiing gas always been great for us in jan and march being able to ski right back to the apartment door, involves a bit of off piste and voles you're eyes and hope, ok for experiences skiers!!!!
Try the vin chaud blanc, and tartiflete, yum yum
Snow chains or winter tyres are needed as quite a steep road to the resort which gets quite snowy.
Advice, long walk to the lift pass office at the bottom of the poma lift by car park, get your passes on the way up to the resort to safe a walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at Royal Alpage club in Champoussin village. This place is away from all the commercial places like Interlaken and Bern etc. It is away from some of the attractions like Mount Jungfrouch and Mount Titlis. But it has its own charm. It is located in the mountains south of Geneva lake. It is a nice ski resort. If you enjoy hiking, mountain biking you will enjoy this place. It is also closer to Geneva and places in southwest Switzerland.

Even though it is away from popular places like mount Jungfrouch and Mount Titlis, with Swisss rail pass, and swiss rail connections, you can reach these places in few hours and enjoy your trip.

The management their is very helpful. They will guide you, help arrange for your transportation needs to near by station. They arrange their own excursions also. Units are nice. They can be shared by two couples, or a family of four. It has two separate rooms, with two Full size beds, complete kitchen, on site grocery store and three restaurants. View from the room is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Champoussin is not so much a village as a small apartment / chalet development on the alp above Val d'Illiez. It has however in high season a small well stocked shop and 3 restaurants and is chocolate box cute. The site faces E/SE; is beautifully sunny on the morning and although consequently shady in late afternoon has a stunning view straight across to the Dents de Midi.

Access by public transport is possible but for Switzerland it's not very simple and I 'd strongly recommend a car. This also is useful for stocking up in Monthey. We found the Manor supermarket which was terrific. The road up is what you'd expect to a mountain resort but not very busy given the small size of the settlements.

There are about 6 or 7 individual buildings each with circa 15 apartments which are clean and functional. We had a studio with a "Murphy" pull down bed which was surprisingly comfortable. The kitchen was reasonably if sparely equipped. Unusually it had a full oven but this was at the expense of a dishwasher. If you were coming by car I'd suggest bringing pillows - those provided are a bit thin. Linen and bath and kitchen towels are provided and towels were changed twice in the week. There is parking under the building but this is not volunteered by the management - we didn't push it but may be worth investigating. The alternative is parking spaces on the road and a bit of a haul in with luggage. There is a ski room on the lower level. Our unit faced the valley and the mountains - I might be a bit less positive if it had been at the rear of the building.

For skiers the apartments are well located. Champoussin has 2 T-bar tows which lead up to a chairlift. We had a short walk to the road and then were straight on to the piste down to the Champeys tow. We managed to ski back to the door from the Sepaya lift side one day but we did have very good snow! I was surprised by how much I liked Champoussin as a base in the Portes du Soleil. It together with Morgins and Les Crosets have much quieter slopes than Avoriaz even in a busy week. You also have the benefit of shorter queues coming back from Avoriaz/Chatel as there are fewer people coming home! It's pretty quick to get to Les Lindarets but you'd have to be quite determined to get across to Les Gets.

In summary an acceptable, functional base for a winter ski or summer walking holiday where you are spending most of the day out doors. Not a suitable base for exploring Switzerland.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonStravaiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

such a [--] I havent seen in my travel life of 23 years of travel.everything was bad the personel was not polite end the room was too small and the equipment was too old.only the bathroom is good and the water.the parking os to far from the house and the road os very bad
.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsantakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Val-d'Illiez hotels

Show Prices
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

we were at the CH2.
the room was good and the ski site were great!
BUT- the manager attitude to as was VERY BAD!!!
the room was VERY COLD, and when we asked the manager to turn on the heating, he said that the room is warm enough.
THE ROOM WAS COLD!!!

more then that, it was snowing in the weekend, and in the morning, when we open the room door, the snow was so high that we couldn't go out the room!
when we ask the reception to send someone to clear off the snow, they said that there is a digger in the room (we havn't....).
and then when we tolled them that we don't have a digger, they told as that in 16:00 someone will come to clear the snow (we calld them in 09:00...), so at the end we cleared the snow with a buket we had in the room.

THEY MUST IMPROVE THEIR ATTITUDE TO THE GESTS!!!

if you're cmming in the winter, bring A blow heater from home!

Room Tip: JUST THE CHAWET, but bring A blow heater from home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The mountain views in this quiet area of Switzerland are spectacular. After a relaxing train journey from Geneva we were picked up at Aigle and driven to the hotel (more a less a dead end road). The rooms were pleasant and large, but could have been improved with the addition of a kettle (coffee, tea etc) and a fridge. At the basement was a reasonable sized swimming pool with a Sauna and Steam Room (the steam room seemed too hot when we used it). The bar staff were friendly (sadly it did not have Swiss beer on tap) and the room was welcoming. The breakfasts were good and the staff friendly. Nearby were a couple of restaurants and a small shop selling basic provisions. We were happy that their were many good walks that led from the hotel and as travelers without a car the bus could take us back to Val d'Illiez for our onward rail journey to Basle.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val-d'Illiez
2.0 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hostel Le Poussin
#1 of 2 in Val-d'Illiez
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Thermes Parc
Thermes Parc
#1 of 1 in Val-d'Illiez
48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Royal Alpage Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Alpage Club

Property: Royal Alpage Club
Address: | Champoussin, Val-d'Illiez 1873, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Val-d'Illiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Val-d'Illiez
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Royal Alpage Club Switzerland/Portes Du Soleil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing