We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian River Brook B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indian River Brook B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Springdale B&B and Inns
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

You cannot have a bette B & B when it comes to feeling like you are home.

Doreen is a lovely Christian lady who is so down to earth. We spent 2 days at her B & B (going back and forth across Newfoundland) she entertains every guest with the Newfoundland Ugly stick, plays the spoons and her little wooden fellow dances his heart out (Newfoundland traditions) and sings old Newfoundland songs to entertain you at night (only if you wabt to join in. The last evening we spent with Doreen (around the kitchen table) she had guest in and we sat for hours talking and found out they knew someone we knew back in Ontario.

The 4 bedrooms are well appointed and the hearty breakfast in the morning before you go on your way will fill you up untill you reach the supper hour.

We would not hesitate to stay at Indian River Road B & B again.

Wayne and Carole Kemp, Brighton, Ontario

Room Tip: All the rooms at Indian River Brook B & B have Newfoundland and Labrador names.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Unfortunately we only booked this B & B for one night, if I would have known what this B & B was like, I probably would have booked it for a few nights stay. The rooms were spacious and very clean and comfortable. Doreen couldn't have been more accommodating, and went out of her way to get us any little thing we asked for. It was great sitting in her kitchen talking to her while she was preparing things for the next mornings breakfast, which I have to say was one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time. If for no other reason, you must try this B & B for the most fantastic Newfoundland experience, Doreen entertaining us with her Newfoundland songs, the ugly stick, the spoons, her stories and so much more. It was fascinating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaytee4349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Super breakfast and large rooms. Doreen even sang some good old songs. She had her ugly stick out and her little man thing and entertained us through out the evening. Quiet location and short distance to river.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Doreen Canning is the innkeeper at this b and b in the little town of Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador. The house is modern and homey. Our room was beautifully decorated, including a hand-made quilt with squares representing aspects of Newfoundland - moose, Newfie dog, the flag, etc. Our ensuite bathroom was perfect. In addition to providing us with a comfy place to spend (alas) only one night, Doreen sang some traditional Newfoundland songs for us and played some traditional instruments: spoons and the ugly stick as well as the wood-carved "Dancing Man." She is truly an ambassador for her province. She also is a children's book author with stories about Newfoundland. The breakfast she made for us in the morning was delicious and hearty. We were the only guests during our stay, but we can imagine that she would be a terrific hostess for a crowd.
The b and b is about 5-10 minutes off the Trans-Canadian Highway so it's quite convenient. And it is well located for exploring King's Point, about 12 km up the road on a gorgeous bay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Doreen's home is as easy and charming as she is.
Our room was really beautiful (the pictures here do not do it justice) with a big comfy bed, fluffy towels and robes and wonderful soft water. Doreen greeted us with a big pot of tea in the conservatory and then treated us to newfoundland folk songs accompanied on her "ugly stick". Now this may not sound like a typical stay and indeed it isn't but Doreen is a rather magical lady and we were soon singing along and having a rare old time.
Did I mention she make a mean blueberry pancake too? Well she does. She's a real star and bed and breakfast is a gem in central newfoundland. Give her a try if your in the area (sure, make a detour and stay a while).
One last thing...try to experience her answer machine message for I's da B'y as you have never heard it before!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcheeseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

it was a very nice and homey B&B. We stopped there on our way to Gros Mourne and we were glad we did. She prepared us a delicious jiggs Dinner with Roast Moose and a custard dessert with fresh berries, it was AMAZING!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Lovely, peaceful B&B!! Doreen was so welcoming and she made us the most delicious Jigg's Dinner in the evening! She also let us play her organ, and then she sang us Newfoundland folk songs while playing the "Ugly Stick" and told us wonderful stories. The Blueberry pancake breakfast in the morning certainly made it hard to leave! We went away feeling pampered, it was like leaving a weekend at home!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Indian River Brook B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian River Brook B&B

Property: Indian River Brook B&B
Address: #2 Indian River Road | P.O. Box 1629, Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Indian River Brook Bed And Breakfast
Indian River Brook Hotel Springdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing