We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible night...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Koustenis Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koustenis Village
Ranked #8 of 19 Dimitsana B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible night...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Late in the evening, me and my boyfriend were looking for a room for just one night. We didn't have Internet, so we couldn't know how awful this hotel was. At first, it looked nice, but quicky, it turned very bad.
First, it was quite expensive while we were off-season (February).
Then, the room was so cold when we entered and the heating didn't really changed anything.
We were dying for having a hot shower... Well, the water wasn't really warm and there wasn't enough pressure/water coming, it took so long to just get wet...
They told us the WI-FI was excellent, well, it was excellent during 2 minutes, then we lost it forever.
During the night, people knocked at our door and called the phone in our room, just for annoying us ...seriously?
Finally, when we decided to go to sleep, we turned the light off and there was this huge, annoying, EXIT sign glowing in the dark. We could hide it with a blanket, but still, we thought "what's wrong again... ?".
The morning after, when we spoke about these problems to the reception, the women got offensed and was very impolite with us...
To conclude, it was one of the worst hotel i've ever been.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mica2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    22
    17
    8
    16
See reviews for
19
42
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Koustenis village is located right outside the village within walking distance. The rooms are located in a number of outdoor stone buildings. Rooms themselves were ok. The lighting needs some work and the TV located accross the room was tiny. I would recommend they talk to a decorator and re-do the decor. Again the locations and building were beautiful but it seemed like they bought a lot of stuff second hand due to the eclectic nature of the furniture. Otherwise - breakfast was fine and the room was OK. I would stay here for the location and views primarily.

Room Tip: Choose a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel was new, however the guest experience was horrible. My wife, toddler and me stayed for three nights. While the room is spacious and there is a fireplace (which is common for rooms in alpine regions of Greece), the room in general was cold. They turned on the heat as soon as we walked into the frigid room and an outside temperature of close to freezing. After expressing our concern for our little one and ourselves (who wanted to take a shower after working all day and traveling hours to get there) , the staff took offense and told us to wait so that the room would warm up. After 2 hours the room was still cold so we lit up the three logs in the fireplace to help heat up the room, but they had burned out within the hour and were not long burning wood types. We complained again and they finally turned up the furnace so that the temperature control actually worked and the room slowly started to heat up. The staff were not friendly and didn't even greet us in the mornings at breakfast or any other time, except when we were leaving; where we were told to have a good trip back. The breakfast was mediocre and the eggs from their onsite "farm" were a few days old. Their farm consisted of chickens running around the hotel and farm area, ducks, an ostrich, two pigmy ponies, horse, some goats, rabbits and three dogs, two of which were chained to a short leash and surrounded in their feces. It was truly a sad sight and a poor excuse for a "farm". A couple which we had met and was also staying there showed us a picture of a dead black scorpion they had found in their bathroom. To be fair however, the site of the hotel is splendid, on the edge of the village and with a nice view of the gorge. It is also right next tot the water powered museum which is truly worth visiting and very interesting.
Unfortunately, the family that owns the hotel lacks experience in hospitality and much like the ignored animals in their small, confined spaces; the guests' concerns also go unnoticed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dimitsana hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Peshtigo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

A secluded and private place, VERY quiet. Quaint and comfortable. Fridge in room, RIGHT next to Air and Water power museum, HOT shower, a quarter mile walk to town on the road. GREAT view of the gorge, and the hotel is on the road where the gorge starts. AMAZING breakfast-including little cheese pies. Entertaining goats, donkey and deer nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel:
We have stayed with my family for two nights at this hotel.
Hotel stuff was friendly, our room was large with a fireplace. There is an animal farm near the hotel, where everyone can go and take pictures. Breakfast was good and we were told that the fried eggs were from the chickens of the animals farm ... During the days we were staying there was a baptism party at the restaurant of the hotel.

Location:
Dimitsana is a historic place and one can visit make interesting places there from the historic library, the home of Patriarch Gregory E', the Open Air Water-Power Museum and the monasteries Aimialon, Filosofou (where you can access the "secret school"), Prodromos. After the Prodromos monastery you can go to the river Lousios ("Ancient Tefthis" area).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thanassis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

i made reservation for me and my girlfriend for a weekend and we had a wondeful time. the room was clean and the staff very friendly. Dimitsana is marvellous during spring! they have a restaurant with tranditional dishes (you shoud try cock with hilopites).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antoneo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We were a couple travelling with a 15 month child. We made part of a group of 45 people. We faced a very rude and disrespectful behavior.

1. On the phone, when making the reservation, we asked for a room with a kitchenette in order to cook/ warm food/ prepare milk for our child. On the telephone they said they had rooms with a kitchenette, it's even on their site, but when we arrived we saw that: there was no ventilation over the kitchenette. There were not any pots in order to cook, or even to warm up the portion already cooked that we had carried over there. In the cupboard we found one (really, only one) plate and a small pot to warm milk, still dirty (and not even a sponge to clean it).
We asked from an employee for a small pot to warm the child's food. We did not have any news for about an hour. When we called again the reception we were notified that WE COULD NOT COOK IN THE ROOM. I am still wondering why we asked for a room with a kitchenette anyway..... Then we were informed that we could cook in the hotel's kitchen or warm the food there (needless to say it was in another building). In the end, after a long negotiation they gave us a boiler, so as to warm water in order to prepare milk . Our poor 15 month toddler had to drink only milk / eat in tavernas during our stay....

2. We stayed at the hotel for approx. 48 hours. We only had warmth for totally 10 hours.
On the first afternoon we realised that there was something wrong with the thermostat (the measuring kit of the heater). We informed the reception but once again no interest whatsoever. I had to go to the building of the reception myself and ask for a technician to come and take a look. Luckily they fixed it and we had heat for a couple of hours. Then, on the following morning nothing again. I informed the reception and they answered that they don't open the heater before 9 a.m. I laughed at them, then left for an excursion. In the afternoon we realized, once again, that there was no heat. This time our child had become very nervous, it was obviously cold in the room. I had to go again and shout at the direction of the hotel. The technician came once again and he found out that the wires of the kit were disconnected. He was the only one to seem sorry and apologizing.

3. The fire extinguisher in our room was 2-3 years out of date, against the relevant legislation.

4. Our room was in the ground floor of a building and there was a bad odour, most probably from the draining system.

Really, if it was for more than 2 days we would have changed hotel right away, but us we we were in a group with 40 people we didn't want to create a fuss.

We 've travelled in so many cities abroad and never, I mean never, were dealt with so much disrespect. I don't know who owns -runs the hotel, but it is a real shame, as the rooms were really nice .

Needless to say I will file a complaint at the relevant Authorities.
I would never go back even if it was the only hotel available.

No one from the group was satisfied, many incidents happened to others as well.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank nemesis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dimitsana
6.0 mi away
Kentrikon Hotel
Kentrikon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langadhia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amanites Guesthouse
Amanites Guesthouse
#2 of 19 in Dimitsana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
En Dimitsani Guesthouse
En Dimitsani Guesthouse
#1 of 19 in Dimitsana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arcadia Resort Hotel
Arcadia Resort Hotel
#3 of 11 in Vytina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aen Vytina
Aen Vytina
#7 of 11 in Vytina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiora Luxury Suites
Aiora Luxury Suites
#1 of 11 in Vytina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koustenis Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koustenis Village

Property: Koustenis Village
Address: Dimitsana, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Arkadia Region > Dimitsana
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dimitsana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koustenis Village 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Koustenis Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing